Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel Island

by alastairbreeze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story: Two parallel universes have collided. In the crash, the living creatures became mixed between the two universes.

Task: Get all of the living things to their own universe.

Catch: One of the universes is evil and its members will attack the members of the good universe, including you!

How: Use the switcher item(l-click when selected with r-click) to teleport between universes. Stand beside to an entity to teleport it with you. Repeat till sorted!

Controls:
WASD - Move
Arrows - Change Camera
+- - Change Zoom
E or l-click - Use Item
Q or r-click - Switch Item
Space - Jump
Shift - Run
P - Toggle Pause
M - Toggle Mute

PLEASE NOTE : It works a lot better as an application rather than an applet. If having trouble with the applet, try downloading the application.

Please Enjoy!
Let me know what you think. :)

Developed in Java with LWJGL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#119Graphics3.95
#151Theme3.80
#249Mood3.37
#314Audio3.13
#476Humor2.45
#504Overall3.26
#588Innovation3.12
#682Fun2.90

Comments

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34am

Really awesome! I love the concept, it's a pretty cool take on the theme. The music is quite nice too. Good job! My only suggestion would be for a bit of direction. I wasn't exactly sure what to do and almost died before I realized I was the one teleporting people between worlds!

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

The web version doesn't run, it said error :/ It looked cool though.

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56am

looks pretty cool, but I couldn't test cause the link doesn't work

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

Thanks sharpcoder :) glad you liked it. I have added extra clarity in the description which will hopefully help.

And really sorry to hear it doesn't work on web for you :( I'd recommend trying the jar if you can? Also which is the broken link? Thanks :)

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

Good but expected take on the theme. Voxels are nice, everything runs smooth. Enemies take too long to be killed though.

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

I agree with sharpcoder, I was really confused playing the game at first. I'm still not quite sure how to teleport characters between worlds? Do I need to walk up to them or does it work if I just look at them?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12am

Hi Kyle, you have to be close to them to teleport with them :)

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53am

Oo wow, it's like minecraft and cubeworld put together! :D

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44am

It's really cute. I had a bit of trouble with the controls, it mores more sense to use Q and E since the moving the mouse doesn't move the camera.

breadstix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Loved the concept and the implementation. You did an amazing job for 48 hours!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Very solid game for 48 hours! Great job!

cstudios says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Wonderful graphics and artstyle. Excellent sound and music. Its unbelievable that this game was made for compo!

But it takes to long to figuring it out. Nice job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Thanks for the nice comments, hopefully can learn from some of the feedback for future :)

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Nice entry, well done.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice style, chill music... controls were a little confusing, but great work for a compo entry! Well done!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Very cool idea with the switcher, but you move way too slowly to be able to do anything. Nice graphics and music though :)

An indicator of how close you have to be to people in order to "switch" them would be a big help.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:58pm

A bit odd at first, but I got used to it. Neat job!

radmars says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Cool concept. I wish the creatures had a little more visual indication of whether they were evil or not, I had to rely on the minimap a lot (which kept on going behind the scenery) which was tough. Also it would be good if there was some sort of visual indication of when you could switch, that felt a bit weird. Otherwise, nice work!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:55am

Nice aesthetic. Do be sure to render your UI above everything else. Also, having the camera mapped to arrows proved cumbersome.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:13pm

It is quite hard to teleport everything without dying, and the trees often get in the way of the camera (even when rotating the camera around), but otherwise good!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]