Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Course Collision

by rRootagea - Jam Entry

You are coordinating the survival of your civilization by launching your people across the flight path of someone else doing the same.

I had a pretty fun time making this with a programmer buddy of mine, and thanks to him for pretty smooth sailing throughout. We used Quintus html5 as our engine, coffeescript, paint.net, gimp, sublime, rubymine, bfxr, dropbox, google image search and a buddy's musical track on soundcloud.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#137Theme(Jam)3.68
#246Audio(Jam)3.36
#284Graphics(Jam)3.60
#303Innovation(Jam)3.17
#312Fun(Jam)3.15
#324Mood(Jam)3.20
#455Humor(Jam)2.25
#464Overall(Jam)3.11

Comments

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

Difficult, but +1 for HTML5 and fancy graphics.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11am

Nice music and graphics. Shame I can't seem to figure out a winning strategy. ^_^;

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Couldn't run it:

Failed to load resource: net::ERR_INSECURE_RESPONSE https://cdn.html5quintus.com/v0.2.0/quintus-all.min.js
Uncaught ReferenceError: Quintus is not defined app.js:68

rRootagea says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29pm

whoops, back to hosting those libs myself

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Looked pleasant, wish it had AI to compete against.

Toubib says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:58pm

nice graphics.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:05am

This is pretty great. The AI was excellent and the game kept me on the edge of my seat(metaphorically) trying to get that last settler ship through before the next section.

Great job :)

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:23am

sweet music and nice look

gnx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:45am

Cool little game! I like the basic idea and playing against just AI was fun. The visual transistions are really nicely done and give a lot of character to the game.

Inateno says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Awesome game love it, it's reaaally frustrating to play against IA, always sending all at the end and destroy all my settlers, I'm mad

superjoe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Simple but intriguing and subtle gameplay. I really like it.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

I love the art!

smizmeal says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

Clever mechanic and fun game -- I wish I was as good as the AI!

Tosic says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:59am

Cool idea, sounds can get annoying but the game is good! :D

Retr0spectrum says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Good audio and graphics, but it seemed unclear whether I had won or lost. The AI was pretty good too.

Patacorow says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:21am

Great concept, and well executed. Love it!

dadman says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Sounds and plays like an arcade game or something

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]