Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Star Turtle 64

by Chikun Dev Team - Jam Entry

WINDOWS MIRROR (.7z / Dropbox): http://j.mp/st64winmirror

Soundtrack available here: http://j.mp/st64ost

Android build runs slow, but exists just because it can. Credits at http://chikun.net/games

ARE YOU THE ONE THE ELDER TURTLES HAVE CHOSEN?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


It is the distant future. The world is engulfed by ocean. The creatures of the sea have gained enough sapience to leave their home planet in search of sandy beaches and rocky outcrops to call home.

You are the last turtle. The spirit of the Elder Turtle stirs you to search for your brethren. You must rejoin your kind and become one with the Elder Turtle. You must search the ends of the galaxy to unite with your turtle kind.

Then, and only then, can you become the Star Turtle.



PRAISE FOR STAR TURTLE
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


"The biological accuracy displayed here is impressive. I learned much from Star Turtle I did not know before...the ways of the Turtle have been lost on me until now."

-Jordan Cross, Herpetologist



"****1/2. Outstanding."

-Playboy Magazine



"I have been working hard to ensure that every American family can have a pet turtle in their home by 2020. Interactive media such as 'Star Turtle 64' brings us one step closer to our goal. For that, I duly must thank them for supporting a most worthy and historically important social cause. History will surely thank us."

-Barack Obama



NOTES
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Compatible with Rumble Pak.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#92Humor(Jam)3.38
#341Audio(Jam)3.17
#435Fun(Jam)2.94
#486Mood(Jam)2.91
#500Overall(Jam)3.04
#521Theme(Jam)2.82
#668Graphics(Jam)2.56
#676Innovation(Jam)2.35

Comments

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29am

love the 64 thing

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Hi, I had problems extracting the windows file. Could you upload it again please?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Windows build fixed!

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Error: src/bindings.lua:27: attempt to call field 'setDefaultFilter' (a nil value)

did sudo apt-get install love . what do I need to do to get it to run?

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56pm

It's good, but enemies just keep respawning and I'm not sure where to go.

skullum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:43pm

I had a lot of fun playing this one, I very much liked the humor, I can tell you had fun making it as well. Nice box art by the way.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:35am

@mess110 You can try the Ubuntu build, which might work. If you want to use the source file, this game requires LÖVE 0.9.1 (the Ubuntu version is out of date), so you'll need to use the PPA version (https://launchpad.net/~bartbes/+archive/ubuntu/love-stable).

@kibertoad You have to find keys in caves to open the temples and fight knights. We didn't make that clear, sorry.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:58am

Who can argue with Obama?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:35am

I downloaded it multiple times, but I can't extract the zip.

Lasty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37am

Fantastic! The tutorial crab was a nice touch :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:20am

@Robot Soul Games We've added a Windows mirror in 7zip format which should work.

@Lasty Thank you!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:47am

I like turtles XD Game is not bad but music and graphics could improve. The gamepad support is appreciated :)

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:27am

The basketball element is too strong.

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:20am

Now it works, thanks for reupload.

Nice game. I like the retro graphics and the gameplay. I wished to see some powerups for the turtle, but otherwise the fighting was not too difficult.

Polona says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:54am

Nice game! Nice final Boss!
But I couldn't select the wind ability.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02am

@Polona The wind ability is activated by pressing the Left Control button instead of Space Bar. Sorry for not making that clearer. Thank you for your praise!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:52am

Nice game! kinda repetitive and ugly, but the texts are well written. I died after the 4th boss :(

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:23pm

I enjoyed the game for a while but then it got very repetitive after 3rd planet. Graphics are kind of disturbing. Still a complete little game. Good luck :)

Jedi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:34pm

You had me at "Star Turtle 64" :D

I'm really impressed with this entry! So much gameplay packed into a Ludum Dare. If anything, a little bit too much - I felt like the cave parts could have been smaller.

Excellent use of subtle player choice: players can choose to run or fight and choose from the weapons they have.

I liked the music and audio. The graphics aren't great but they do work with the game. It took me a while to recognize that my turtle was wearing a space helmet, but I like that he was! :3

Sadly, I was not able to finish it due to a bug - I brought up the menu screen and went to options. When I went back into the game, my turtle had disappeared from the screen :(. He seemed to be stuck at the top between two transitions but I'm not sure.

Still, I feel like overall, this is a solid, fun entry!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I didn't know if I was damaging the final boss at all. Better than a lot of games at LD, and more thematic, but pretty repetitive.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:17am

So glad I bought Turok 2 and the expansion pack so I co I ld play this :)

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:31am

Cute, but man, those enemies are hard!

donfabio says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:25am

Nice idea but i think too many enemies

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:35am

great concept! I loved the art style

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:08am

Gameplay felt quite good. It seemed each room was a bit big though.

hissssssssss says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Once again, a stunning examination of life and the universe, through the eyes of this humble, yet noble creature.

I liked the properties of the different kinds of skills, like how the basketballs made enemies bounce far away from you.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I like mood and story of this little game. Especially tutorial crab %) Want some drop from enemies and lvl uping. Maybe I did not get so far.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

The game is fun and has quite decent music. Loved the tutorial crab!

It got a little bit repetitive after a while but the craziness of the skills kinda made up for it.

Humor and mood are definitely strong in this one!

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:09pm

All hail tutorial crab! :D

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:20pm

The humor was obviously the strongest point along with the audio design. I love how it built on top of eachother.

The wide open spaces kind of felt dead and tedious to find the keys. I ended up just running past everything without using my skill.

The repetition of the world design was actually fairly comforting (locked door, get key, boss).

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Sweet game, got into a cave and started shooting away!

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I did not play long, because the area are too big and empty, and the enemies are just too many.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Cute story! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/5xO0Ucfr9co

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]