Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Virtuoso

by Doubstract - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Virtuoso is game about programming. You must participate in two worlds, virtual and real one.

Play it on 'Fantastic' windowed mode with 1024 x 768 screen resolution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#95Humor3.37
#554Audio2.72
#645Fun2.94
#657Mood2.87
#677Innovation3.00
#751Overall3.00
#827Graphics2.67
#1090Theme2.22

Comments

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17am

Your english is not very good and that's really annoying in a typing game, your graphics looked decent though.

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

I like the nice blend of the typing mechanic alongside the meta-game options of 'feed the dog'..etc. Music didn't seem fitting but otherwise good job!

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Really liked it! I don't know if you made those typos on purpose, but I would get rid of them.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

I laughed a lot at some of the texts you had to write :)
It's funny in some ways but not very enjoyable to just mash buttons.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

I couldn't get it working, it started but was unable to type using the web interface :-(

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Why does it remind me of papers please a little

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:47pm

This is epic! I love every single aspect of it, exept I don't see how the theme applies to it.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Nice game, got me hooked! Couldnt sell my apartment.

Kalor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

It was a good match for the theme but I found that it was to easy to get money with you could just use two letters instead of five.

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

man you love "papers please" don't you :) I really like it tho, concept, music and graphics are in a very nice harmony. also I like dark humor in the game. good job!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice and simple. I like it!

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50pm

In the link, there is no linux o macos version, only the windows one

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:51pm

i did something and then the mafia did something. Should have sold my cat earlier.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:01pm

I kept on laughing as I was reading briefing ;DD

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45pm

An amusing little game!
I forgot about the mafia halfway through so I didn't have enough money (but had a gun...)

Nice music and funny events! For some reason I think the broken English added to the charm.

As to "type this" games, they're not too sophisticated and I'm not too fond of this mechanic.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46pm

I bought a gun but then went crazy after not sleeping! You should call this "ludum dare simulator" haha.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55am

I thought this game was hilarious. By far the funniest thing that I've seen so far (although i suspect most games are not really attempting humor). Very novel and fun. Great job.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:30am

By the time I got to the end, I had completely forgotten about the mafia and was quite happy about having something like 8000 in the bank, having spent loads of money on trivial things :)
Really funny game, especially because of you always writing humorously and without caps and punctuation, and with the occasional charmingly misspelled word. Super take on the conecpt - the connection between the working world and the non-working world, and between the mafia life and the everyday life. Well done!

Rehacked says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:22am

nice game but didnt understand the theme in it

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

Nice idea and a funny story :-)

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Funny !

01F0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:02pm

hey! great game, I enjoyed it. played it for about 30 minutes. accidentally killed both the dog and the cat on my first round ;( I liked the "typing" sound.

nice amount of humor and a good concept! :)

btw, for the web version, the game played perfect for me when I right-clicked and selected "Full screen", maybe you should include that in the instructions?

cheers!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:43am

I love typing game! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/NXgeb3Jk3nI

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]