Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beyond The Horizon

by Lazdo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A very simple puzzle game which involves controlling two characters simultaneously, using the same controls. The player must manipulate their way around the map to position each character with their respective exit.

Controls:
Use the arrow keys and enter button to select a level.

Space -> Jump
Arrow Keys - > Move
U (On level select screen) -> Makes all levels playable

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#335Overall3.43
#346Audio3.06
#355Fun3.28
#403Theme3.44
#502Graphics3.17
#619Mood2.90
#773Innovation2.86
#871Humor1.81

Comments

MikeTheWayne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Very nice! Would very much like to see a full Post-LD version with a bit more polish and a lot more levels, especially liked the last one, it was unexpected and tricky! Create some more, different types of levels as well! Glad I downloaded!

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:37am

Agreed, this was a pretty nice game. It made you think a little when doing the puzzles, and the music to go with it fit pretty well.

Mapboy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:40am

As mentioned above, it's a great game and a more polished version would be definitely neat to see!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42am

Decently fun. More possibility of failure would be good though. But nothing too challenging.

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:08am

I like the mechanic. I have to agree with other commenters; this would be a lot of fun with some additional polish and some tougher levels. Well done.

Spang says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:37am

Nice Game ^^, I liked the style, i wish it had more levels.

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:50pm

More levels, more polish and you have yourself a winner!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:52pm

I like the visuals but the music completely clash with that style. making the whole game feel kinda weird.
It's was pretty fun while it lasted though.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:06am

Nice execution on a simple idea. Check out the game "Her" made in this same jam - it's kinda similar.

Wesley Ding says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:44am

FACTORS THAT LOWERED YOUR RATING:
Not much innovation – this type of game has been seen many times
Theme – poor incorporation of theme with audio and mood
FACTORS THAT RAISED YOUR RATING:
Good graphical quality

Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Cool game. More levels and more mechanics would make it better though. Awesome graphical style

Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:26am

Finally a game where you control multiple characters and they behave asymmetrically! It is kinda easy, but that way a lot of people see your amazing last level! Keep going!

Tosic says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:27am

REALLY cool puzzle, I really like the fact it is not too easy, neither too hard, congratulations!

kyru says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Not too difficult but a fun game. Have seen this use of the theme a bunch but every one feels a little different. Well done.

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:19am

The music is awesome. Sometimes a little cheesy but still awesome. The graphics are okay, however i realy love the color palette you are using. The game mechanics are great, maybe the levels are a little bit to easy, but the last one is a nice demonstration that you can improve the concept even more.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Nice game with good graphics, music and connected to the theme. I found levels a little too easy.

fleegle2000 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:03pm

I got very excited seeing the title screen - it was very slick, but the main menu lacked the same degree of polish and the use of fonts was a little odd. The puzzles presented a decent challenge for the short length (I can't complain about that, my game was very short as well). While there are many games with a similar mechanic, you've managed to nail it with interesting level designs. Good work!

Sandcrawler says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:55pm

It was an interesting puzzle platformer game, I enjoyed the mechanics from it and could see it developed further. I didn't particularly have trouble solving any of the puzzles.

I recorded my playthough of this, it will be uploaded to my channel on Monday the 15th. http://www.youtube.com/user/Ythmevge

buckslice says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:21am

Quite fun! Last level was tough but doable. Well executed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]