Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

H.L.3t (Homeless Zet)

by raincoven - Jam Entry

This is tower defence game.

There is two planet Hot one and Cold one. To keep temperature balance the space heating main was build. This heating main connecting to world and help them to survive.
Unfortunately a great swarm of space homeless zergs decided to conquer this space magistral and you should make this newer happen!

HOW TO PLAY:
You able to build tourels and reabilitation Centers.
Tourel make 40 shots and coust 100 space credits. Every destroyed enemy brings you 2 space credits and 5 points. For boss you will get 10 credits and 20 points.

Rehabilitation Center can't harm big funny bears but able to socialise 5 homeless and brings 10 credits for each one and 20 score points. It costs 20 credits.

You goal is to survive as long as you can and collect maximum number of points.
The game ends then you lose 80% of heating main segments.

Good Luck,

Monochrome Bears team.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#510Audio(Jam)2.68
#566Graphics(Jam)2.92
#566Mood(Jam)2.75
#587Fun(Jam)2.66
#650Theme(Jam)2.34
#653Innovation(Jam)2.44
#710Overall(Jam)2.61

Comments

technocf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39am

Overall good game, not too sure how to play though.

raincoven says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

@technocf, thanks for reply) I agree that it not clear what to do by first time but, second time things should go better)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Graphics are very diferent, in a good way.

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Took me a while to understand that I have to drag to position units. Nice graphics.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Why did you choose Enter key to create that things? You could just create it by clicking at the position. I'm not sure if I played correctly, just put a line of that things and reput when they are destroyed.

raincoven says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:18pm

@renatopp you could create items in to clicks. First by the icon on the shop and second on the area there you want to place it.

LeoZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

A bit chaotic, but nice soundtrack.

Dimir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Great idea and grafics! Funny music! Good game! :)))

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Took a bit to get the hang of it. But its pretty fun once it gets going. Trying to fight back to the point of them not landing on the floor anymore.

Nice job =)

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Weird graphics, weird gameplay, but fun. I didn't really like the music though.

Nelly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43pm

GOODJOBBRO OLD MUST LIVE

ColdBrain says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Another awesome game from Omsk!

Check this out, I've recorded a bit of your game playing in the tiny OLD games showcase:
http://instagram.com/p/sFGOQGPw8p/?modal=true

raincoven says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25am

Thank you guys for replies)
@ColdBrain, thats a awesome! Why newer done OLD games gameplay video compilation before?

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Wierd but fun game! c:

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Not sure how the game works. I didn't quite understand your how to play instructions. I understood that you had to build towers to defend the pipes on the bottom of the screen but I didn't know what the domes did, I had no idea what was destroying my towers and what all the different enemies did. The only way I knew how to build towers was by dragging and dropping so it took me awhile to build especially when the tower icons are located on the top right of the screen. Rather interesting story though, with the hot and cold worlds supporting each other to survive.

I don't mean to be rude, just hoping to provide some constructive feedback!

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Lol.. That comrades in menu :D Anyway, interesting game.

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Nice but a bit confusing ,however, good job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10pm

@hundredhundred, thanks for suggestions. We totally need to learn some thing in game design and try to create game with more clear gameplay. Hope to achieve better result in next LD =)

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36pm

I am not the owner of the game but for whoever tried to play and doesn't know the controls. Use your mouse to build turrets (100$ sprite on the top right of screen) and place it at the bottom of the screen.

I have to say it took me some time to understand what am I supposed to do. The instructions in the How to play aren't clear.

Anyway the first time I tried the game. I clicked a lot on random areas around the screen and nothing happened -- no tutorial no controls, nothing. So I wasn't sure what to do until the game almost lagged my entire PC (it seems you throw sprites down from the top screen and you don't destroy them so they pile up and lag the game).

I closed the game and ran it again and then noticed the tiny two icons on the top right. Turns out they are used to build stuff. The turret is the 100$ one and the other thing which I don't know what it is is for 20$. I played twice and both time died while not sure why I am dead.
There is no health bar or anything that indicates my death.

It is definitely an awkward game.

insane66 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:58pm

FUN

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:54pm

This was very strange but had some good elements. The graphics were very nice. I think better instructions at start would help.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]