Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Double Take

by mrjohnson22 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Created in some percentage of 28 hours, this is really just a very bad demo. Sorry :(

Added some things last-minute to at least somewhat demonstrate the game's intended concept.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#781Theme2.90
#798Audio2.21
#800Fun2.77
#979Graphics2.40
#983Innovation2.52
#1141Overall2.42

Comments

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57am

I like how unforgiving this game is. It's pretty intense and I think it has a lot of potential. Too bad you didn't get the time to add more levels. Nice job!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:51am

It's a good idea, keep developing it!

ajopart says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:11am

There is a start, a middle and an end. That's quite enough for a 48h game. I have trouble to see the link with the theme but otherwise, keep going on.

miwuc says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:34am

Good demo, could have been a really nice entry if you'd had more time.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Proud of you for doing this in 28 hours and I hope you keep working on it. But please change the background. Hurt my eyes while moving haha.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Please make more levels! :D

I think there's something "addictive" in the tension you experience once you've reached the exit with one character and you switch to the other, because if you screw that up, it's game over for both of them!

It would be nice to see the gameplay expanded. perhaps you could add mid-level "landmarks" that appear on both worlds and need to be reached by both characters before the game allows them to move further (a switch that opens a barrier in both levels or something). That would be neat!

Despite being a short "demo" (as you call it) and "lacking" animated graphics it was really fun, please develop this further!

havana24 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:38pm

This could have potential... Try to expand the demo! Good job! :)

Troy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:39pm

It's a shame you never got time to build some more levels, you should keep going with this as you've got the core mechanics down.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Awesome puzzle game. I would love to see more levels as well.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Not much, but it works and doesn't make me want to kill myself so good job! The transition between the "worlds" was pretty confusing at first, and I forgot that the X-key is used for jumping and wondered how I'm supposed to clear it without jumping. Why not just use the up arrow for that too?

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:06pm

There's something engaging about this little demo... really quite sincere, I think. Liked it. :)

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:01am

Thank you all so much for the kind comments! They've encouraged me to make something more out of this, but time has a different way of flowing without a 48 hour limit :P

Spending time doing that has made it easy for me to neglect reviewing more games...I better get back work on that soon!

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:03am

*back TO work on that soon (ugh)

racarate says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:25am

i like the windows 95 aesthetic!

fisholith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:56am

Neat concept. I'm not sure why, but I kind of like the fact that you're half a Tetris piece. And I know what you mean about the Windows 95 aesthetic, racarate. Something in me misses the beveled grey blocks of old. :)

I like that the blue switch in the red level creates the trampoline in the blue level. It would be neat to see that kind of interaction feature more prominently if you get a chance to make more levels.

I also like that each world has its own switch sound effect and jump sound. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]