Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Universal Charger

by burgerdare - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Universal Charger is a game about plugging entire planets into a giant power outlet in space.

Controls:
Movement is handled with arrow keys
Follow Onscreen prompts to navigate menus

NOTE: all towers in this game need energy to fire. They'll display a lightning bolt icon if they would be shooting at an enemy if not for their lack of power. This is, admittedly, not very well explained in game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#233Theme3.69
#268Humor2.84
#365Graphics3.41
#429Mood3.14
#446Innovation3.30
#456Fun3.15
#471Overall3.29
#674Audio2.48

Comments

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45am

What a fun game! I loooove what you did with the menu screen. The controls were pretty touchy, but it was fun nonetheless. Good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05am

Looks really good, and while it isn't intuitive it is interesting. It would be nice if the front and back of the ship were more distinctive. I found myself frequently needing to look at one part of the screen while trying to keep moving. Being able to tell how I'm rotated while the ship is in my peripheral vision would have been really handy.

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

Great game. Really innovates on the usual tower defense genre. As others have noted, the controls aren't great but if that detail was fixed then I would really look forward to a game with similar mechanics.

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

One of the more amusingly literal takes on the theme that I've seen so far. Feels like it would play a lot better with a gamepad, though the frantic out-of-controlness is kind of part of the charm.

snade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42pm

That was fun! good job! things seem to move a tad to fast though, hard to control.

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

I liked the presentation, but controls with the arrow keys was clunky. Would have liked gamepad support.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Looks great. Polished. I had a hard time figuring out to play but that is because I am not too sharp :) and I don't play this type of game

simonnaus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Nice game! I really like how everything works and how turrets and such are easy to control. The spaceship was a bit hard to handle in my opinion.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47pm

A very nice game, although slightly complicated.
I like your art style and the cool interpretation of the theme!

Controls felt a bit unintuitive.
I also encountered a crash with the following message:
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Draw Event
for object obj_planet:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -1.turret_pulse(100094, -2147483648)
at gml_Object_obj_planet_Draw_0
############################################################################################

Thanks for making this game!

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Very well done, great polish!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Humorously literal take on the theme. As everyone's said, controls are weird. But the game itself is fun and original.

Gaeel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Fun spin on the good old Tower Defense shtik

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16pm

That was an enjoyable twist on the TD genre :)

It got a bit much when the enemies started coming from 3 directions at once and not all my planets were prepared, but I had a lot of fun playing it.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:37pm

The controls don't have the right feel to me, but a decent game nonetheless.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Neat game :)

Aifryz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Great interpretation of theme. I had fun playing this game. The menu was awesome :). Also like the Graphics style.

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:02pm

great game, I like the art.

Resonious says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:53am

Was fairly complex for 48 hours. Not bad!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]