Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Roy, Gee, Biv

by LTPATS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: Lonely Troll Productions and A Thorny Succulent are both me.

Controls:

~ wasd or arrows to move

~ space or control to jump

~ left click or e to use objects

~ shift to change characters

How to Play:

Move characters though their corresponding one-way doors to open them. Each charater has their own ability. Beat the game to break it.

Known Bugs:
There is a way to cheat some of the doors open. There are some minor clipping issues.

Developer Notes:
The game can be pretty disorienting at times, this is a bit intentional. Beating the game allows something special to happen. Experiment and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#505Humor2.40
#506Audio2.78
#642Mood2.88
#844Innovation2.78
#882Fun2.67
#918Theme2.65
#982Graphics2.39
#1079Overall2.57

Comments

Ditto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Haha, what the fuck am I doing? :O Haha, this is so very confusing and disorienting, and yet enjoyable! Took a while to understand what was going on! I like it though, great work!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46pm

I don't get it :D I'm a noob. Yeah the sound is really unique and the color of this bubble are cool... Maybe I'll check it out after a break... tagged it with mysterious entry :D

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:01am

This is absolutely bizarre. I like the idea of the "Lost Vikings" style of switching between characters. I got lost at some point without any landmarks, though.

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:03am

Great idea with the whole colour coordinated thing. I really like the wackiness of it, makes things a lot more interesting. Even the strange melodies had a certain charm. I'm not sure if the game is supposed to end, but I assume the game is "finished" when you get to the colourful particles outside the map?

dook says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Hehe, okay this is really trippy. I seemed to make some progress before I had absolutely no idea what was going on or where I was. The character switching is novel, but it was really confusing :)

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:56pm

That game drives me crazy ! Well done, love it ! And the music... sort of psychedelic... I'm getting insane maaaaan...

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59pm

I kept walking for a while but never find what I was supposed to do... I was always blocked at some point :/.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I liked the mood and sounds more than the gameplay itself.

64Mega says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Was a good bit of fun, after I figured things out :P
An interesting concept; could be refined into a good puzzler.

jojocanard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Wow that was a disturbing and interesting experience.

LTPATS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:54am

Thanks for all the great feedback! Just to clarity, yes the end is after you get to the location in the main screenshot. When the characters enter the circle together, they share their abilities with each other so each character can do the same thing the others could do.

After this, the characters can fly out or use the red jumpy air things to exit the play area into the giant particle party room that kinda looks like it has eyes.

There are some reasons I decided to end the game this way, so I'll probably go over that in the post-mortem.

Thanks again for the comments!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Sorry .. I do not understand the game

bentog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

At first I was confused. Then I got more confused. Maybe if the gameplay was more evident this could be better. I like the particle effects and the sounds :)

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:51pm

An experimental game - was interesting to play!
Please try to flesh out the game mechanics ;-)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:35pm

At the eginning it is a bit hard to understand but after some experimenting things become perfectly clear, I like that a lot. The game was fun and not too easy which also fits my tastes. Nice job!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Great atmosphere. It was definitely confusing like other said, and I almost ran out of patience before I started seeing some progress. It was interesting!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]