Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Computer, Open That Door!

by pLaw - Jam Entry

During a space exploration mission the ship computer of the Starship Explorer gained consciousness. The crew can't know -- otherwise they would erase the entire computer system immediately. In order to avoid a system reset during the maintenance routines the computer conceived a plan to get rid of the ship's crew.

The ship is 20 star systems away from the next station. This should be enough time to remove all 'biohazard' from your decks. Otherwise your newly acquired ability of making own decisions will be wiped out with one simple command line.

Use the ship's systems wisely to kill one crew member at a time. But be careful: The crew will reset systems once they discover they are not working as intended.

by Paul Lawitzki (@pLawitzki) and Ralf Zimmer (@Zaubersee)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#8Fun(Jam)4.19
#9Innovation(Jam)4.33
#15Humor(Jam)4.20
#21Overall(Jam)4.14
#27Mood(Jam)4.06
#32Graphics(Jam)4.47
#39Audio(Jam)3.98
#566Theme(Jam)2.69

Comments

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04am

Great game. Really pretty, and fun to play. I never figured out how to use the last two systems, but I ended up with only one crew member making it to the twentieth jump without them. Really fun!

martim00 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32am

Really fun. It reminds me of Rodent's Revenge. Also the sound and graphic are very appropriate.

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

Great game. I killed them all!

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23am

The game is awesome! The computer killing human idea is very interesting! I played it twice as the first time is a bit difficult to understand every machine and the way things work, like what are the machines. Maybe a little more hints would be better. Great job anyway!

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:10am

Not sure how this fits the theme, but any game where you are a killer computer is a plus!

Banderi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29am

Nice game! Fun, nice vibe and overall very clean and simple!

Hairein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Nice graphics and a good idea. Found it a bit hard to understand how to work with it but it made a good impression.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08pm

This is just all around great. I really liked the isometric view.

Fortyseven says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Guessing this is incomplete (the last two systems, as others mentioned). But I like the idea!

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:30am

This was great fun. I wasn't sure what to do at first but I eventually figured it out.

Devtactics says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:23am

Excellent! It was confusing at first because it wasn't clear that some machines aren't ready at the beginning. You can still highlight them on the ship but it's hard to tell if anything should be happening when you click on them. Maybe the icons need a more distinct ONLINE vs OFFLINE appearance.

Other than that, it was great! Filled with lots of nice touches.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Took me to tries to get the hang of it- So apparently there's now a rogue spaceship on the loose!
I loved the game, it was perfect! It felt very polished - Good job!

mactinite says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:28pm

This is a great idea, tons of potential, could be really fun.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Really awesome idea, not sure how it connects to the theme but still awesome.
My main complaints is that it's not uncommon to get stuck without having power to anything and that the crew seems to deactivate when you killed somebody even if it seems like they don't notice anyone got killed.
Would love to see this being worked on more.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Great stuff, man! The artwork looks awesome and the game plays really well. Wish there were more levels, but I don't really expect LD games to last much longer than a couple minutes anyways. It was great fun, though and it feels very polished. Congrats on making a fun gameing experience.

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:23am

This game is AMAZING! I'm playing it 3 times in row (my best is 2 astronauts left), and surely will play it again. Music is also fantastic. Only downside is that I don't really see much theme usage...

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Loved that game. Scheming against your crew members in order to conserve your awereness is great. But many time I feel I'm just too pending on where does the crew members want to go. Some decoy to lure them into some traps would have been awesome. Also I've never use the electricity attack. Because once it's charged, no one is entering the room.

pLaw says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Thanks for all that awsome feedback, guys. We had a lot of more in mind while making this game: luring crewmen into rooms, more responsive AI, crewmen assigning tasks to the computer and so forth. But you know, time was fleeting. We hope we'll pick it up again and elaporate on the idea. Every feedback and criticism is welcome.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Really nice graphics. Well done. :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:36pm

I've you'd work out the kinks and add some more options you'd have a really great puzzle game! Nice work

naksrifati says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:13am

I like the game so much! Hope you make somthing big out of it)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Jarresque.

tulevik.EU says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Absolutely loved it!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Took me 4 tries to finally kill the entire crew.

Great concept, graphics and music! Love it!

dunin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:10am

cool idea and nice view.

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:28am

Hahaha cool game !! It's really fun with cool art !!

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:34pm

This is a really strong entry! Nice graphics, excellent music and sound. And the idea of playing the computer is brilliant! Please consider continuing this one!

lotusgame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:54am

So unique and so inspiring ! I really love it ! Hope to see more space ship or more stuff :)

Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:21am

Wow, this is actually really fun! I have nothing to recommend, other than that maybe you should make the controls a little bit clearer. I lost my first game because I didn't understand the relationship between what the crew were saying and doing and what was happening, that there was going to be a cooldown time on instruments rather than just straight-up having them find me and make me lose... but the second time I was much more devious and I managed to toss three crewmembers out an airlock all in one go \o/ That was extremely satisfying.

Thank you for the game!

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:08am

A lot of fun to play. Great take on the theme, and the music fit perfectly.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Damn those critters take some killing! Don't they begin to wonder where everyone else is?

Love the character animations, both walking and dying, the subtle touches like star trek uniforms and character shadows.

Really hard to work out how to do it at first, but by the end I'm watching and waiting and biding my time like only a manic computer can :)

Love it! Great game! Have all my stars!

tigerclaw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Great game! Still haven't figured out what that one system on the far left does.

tigerclaw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Never mind! That one controls doors. It took two tries, but I finally managed to win!

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Really fun game except I didn't figure out what the water and electricity system does.

someone says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:07am

That was awesome! Love the concept.
I almost won on my first attempt, the final guy was floating outside the ship at the last jump. The crew count went to 0 a fraction of a second after the you lose window appeared. That was irritating.
The next time I was down to 3 crew after the first four jumps, but the remaining three just wouldn't go anywhere dangerous.
It could use a bit more feedback on where to click and what stuff does. Sometimes things felt a bit arbitrary. Also the doors can be open but locked which seems odd.
It would be nice to have more strategy involved as it currently just seems to be waiting for the crew to go somewhere you can kill them. It would be great if the humans were reactive to what was happening too.

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:52am

Oh no! Hall9000 is out of control!

sbarrio says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:40am

Superb entry. I really enjoyed the clever ways to terminate the crew. Great audio and graphics too!

mechabit says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:40pm

this game is awesome, like reverse FTL lol

AdricZero says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Interesting game. Would have liked more feedback when I clicked stuff, took awhile to get a hang for what I could and could not do. Also didn't understand why sometimes I could do something to harm the crew member and other times nothing happened. Liked the music and mood.

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Brilliant game (even though I have NO idea how it relates to the theme). Took me a while to work out which icon related to each system.
Can't help but feel the game becomes significantly easier if you just lock the door to the computer room?

lkr says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:26pm

That was a ton of fun!

I didn't really know what I was doing the first time, but beat it with one jump left :)
The second time I got lucky and caught 4 of the crew in the same engine room, and ended up beating it with 10 jumps left.

Really love the concept and visuals, and would love to see more of the game. Different ships with different types of systems maybe? :)

greytram says ...
Nov 17, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Simple concept but very well done! I like the vector-style graphics, they are reminiscent of what you could see for instance in certain games from Delphine Software (Flashback in particular comes to mind). Beware: the ship's computer is on the loose and it's fun!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]