Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yond

by (Not) Ivano - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yond is a
dying world

Last hope is Yondb
a tiny mech planet

bots are guarding
the gate to yondb

and now...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#56Graphics4.19
#79Mood3.73
#266Innovation3.54
#349Humor2.68
#353Audio3.05
#454Overall3.30
#485Theme3.35
#918Fun2.62

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52am

Interesting take on the theme. Personally, I have issues reading that font. I included it in my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/CHUuhEZvNWU

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10am

ohh, lovely minimalist aesthetic :)

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09am

O-o-oh, I love minimalistic graphics of this. Good job!

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

I didn't quite get it :/

d__adee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33am

Seems like almost all my choice are rage inducing. LOL! xD
Is there a logic behind the choices? How does the rage meter work? It always adds up, some much... some not too much :P

And yeah, the font is kinda hard to read. Was happy when I saw a zero on the rage meter... apparently, it's an eight xD

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41am

Yup, that's an eight my friend!
There's a logic. Try not to make 'unpopular choices'. ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:51am

Interesting and dark game, I only managed to make riots :( The text was hard to read, otherwise good job :)

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06am

The minimalist pixel art is awesome and sets up the mood. I played a few times and started a riot everytime, people weren't convincing enough for me to let them pass.

Kind of based on the moral decisions from "Papers, Please"

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:00am

3/3 riots for me... Those peeps are hard to please! Are you gonna flesh it out further on get it on mobile?

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07am

@Ludipe - Thanks for your kind words, friend. :D
@dickpoelen - I'm working on the Android version right now!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40am

Love the art but did get confused with what I was doing.

Slooowpoke says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Font was a bit hard to read but I got around it fine. Reminds me of Papers please a bit. At the start I wasn't sure what I was doing and may or may not have killed someone who was talking about their kids... (I'm not a monster I swear!). Great game, love the minimalism, love the sound and I felt pretty engaged. I think more gameplay elements would be nice, but its a lovely foundation for a game! I'd like to see more of it. :)

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:32pm

So cool! Like a cyberpunk Papers, Please. Really love the style, colours and character pixel portraits.

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I didn't get it :/

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:05pm

It took a while before I got that (hopefully) there was one point of interaction and the other three things happening when people were comming were helps to make a good decision.

It would have been nice if the speed at which poeple were arriving increased with the rage.

Else a nice game. Didn't get to win though. Maybe my morals are different than Yond's...

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Minimalistic, yet powerful!

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Great graphics and use of theme! Wish there was a third option. Also it was really difficult. 5/5 riots even though I used different strategy. Also really liked the audio!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:33pm

I really like the minimalistic look! Too me a moment to figure out what's going on.

I wonder what kind of logic the choices wants the player to follow because my game keeps ending into riots. How does the rage meter work?

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I like aesthetics!

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54pm

I loved the ultra lofi aesthetic and the colors were rad, also the lowpass music was really cool!

igoramendola says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Nice minimalistic graphics Although the font is hard to read, it fits with the concept.
I still couldn't complete my duty haha. Cool idea :)

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

I like the style and graphics, the font not quite clear.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14am

Took me a moment to understand what was going on but I really dig that style. Good work!

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15am

Interesting game with lovely art. The mechanics remind me of Papers, Please! :) This unique game is worth playing!

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Very atmospheric. I love the style. The minimalist approach also feeds nicely into the gameplay - you're being asked to judge people based only on a rough 'portrait' allowing a guess at age and gender and a three word sentence. As I played I found myself agonising over lines like 'I'm not ill.' Does that mean she is ill and she's trying to hide it? Might she be contagious? How would the crowd respond if I shot her? Essentially, you allow the player to fill in all the gaps for themselves and try to read between the lines which makes for a very thought-provoking game. It wouldn't have been so effective if you'd made the mechanics more transparent. I had two riots before I worked out what would most rile the crowd.

Anyway, I loved it. Great work!

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Love the design, art and gameplay. Incredible entry!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Love the visuals! Seriously, I would buy a poster of that title screen. Had a papers, please-lite feel to it, but it seemed like no matter what I did, I did the wrong thing.

Jyrkface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Wow, really love the cerebral approach to the theme. Graphics are minimalistic awesome, as always ;)

jdavidson091 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:12am

Woah, loooooooved this concept. Looooooved this art/aesthetic. Very very cool. Interesting take on the theme as well. Was confused at first, but reading the description helped. Like a minimalist Papers Please! I'd love to see this expand out to a full game

ploogle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:27am

I had a hard time figuring out what to do, but once I did it's pretty fun!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:03am

Sweet job dude.
~funkeh

caranha says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:55am

Very interesting concept - TSA simulator 2200 :) Loved the art style. However, the logic behibd the game system was hard to grasp, which didnt make it very fun. I felt like it was impossible to understand what was required with the information available.

sekaru says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Graphics and art direction were great but I wasn't really too sure what I was doing throughout the game.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Really liked the art style. Great concept. Consequences of choices didn't make much sense. Other then that, great game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:16am

Liked the setup and sfx/art etc. Failed once and next time I just passed everyone and won. Can't say I understood the consequences/decisions much, but the idea's solid, so you should spend a little time on gameplay and further experiment with it? Has potential.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:57pm

It took me a while to figure out what was going on but I finally did :) Nice! Kind of a minimalistic Papers Please! in a robot world. I'm rubbish at it though :P

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

Very interesting mechanic. Extremely cool graphics. Great work!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:24am

Great idea and I love the retro pixel style!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Pretty confusing game at first - I thought all the text were 3 options that you had to choose from :) Nice aesthetic and sfx though

Linusson says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:08pm

It was quite confusing so some more instruction might have been nice. Other than that well done. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]