Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds

by CoderMusgrove - 48 Hour Compo Entry

REQUIRES JAVA 8.
This could be thought as a demo, if I ever decide to continue working on the game. I hope that you will enjoy!

This is a 2D-Platformer/Sidescroller. You (and yourself) need to exit the level. You can accomplish this by solving a simplistic puzzle to pass onto the next level.

BUILT WITH LIBGDX.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1948Coolness22%

Comments

4KbShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57am

Seems very much inspired by Thomas Was Alone and does the game justice by being easy to play and mechanically sound. Graphics are simple, but that's not a bad thing. Excellent work!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01am

Requiring Java 8 may discourage lots of user. Are you sure there isn't any way to make this game compatible with Java 7?

CoderMusgrove says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:14pm

The reason why I am using Java 8 is because that's the newest version, with the newest features, and best security and performance enhancements. I would have to rewrite probably 10% of my code just to switch it over to Java 7.

goffmog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Really like this kind of thing and thought of something similar for my entry but avoided it because I find level design too daunting :) Fun gameplay!

jmf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:45pm

This was fun! Controls were nice and fluid and the concept worked well.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:24am

Sorry, no Java.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:24am

I would go with what others have said, I would of gone with an earlier version of Java.
Overall plays well, clean interface too

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:46am

The player is just too slow. Everything else looks nice, good job.

Mapboy says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:46am

It was overall a fun game - but if at all possible, try to make your games more backwards compatible for people who may not be using the newest version of java.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]