Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Four Worlds

by MrJavaFrank - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey ;)

So here is my game for the theme "Connected Worlds"!
The controls are explained ingame!

Have fun!
If there is a bug, write a comment, so i can fix the issue :)

~Frank

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#55Theme4.00
#198Innovation3.65
#515Audio2.77
#536Overall3.23
#585Fun3.00
#636Humor2.21
#849Mood2.65
#913Graphics2.52

Comments

gatinmnsok says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Fun game, the waiting for other worlds on checkpoints is really useful.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Interesting idea, quite tricky sometimes but overall good game!

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Very interesting brain teaser. I like it.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Sorry, no Java.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Really challenging, clever puzzles. A found the music a bit loud relative to the sound effects.

Overall, a fun and challenging game - good work!

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Well that is definitely an interesting concept having 4 worlds and all of them working at the same time. It became harder as I progress and I honestly couldn't keep track of the worlds.

I thought I could multi-task but it seems I have a limit with that XD. Pretty cool game and nicely done.

The music was cool too.

Good job! :D

JALgames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I like the game, but it was a bit too difficult and i didn't make it very far. But that's propably my stupidity and not your bad game design (it's actually a really interesting idea and all game design decisions seem to be well-though)

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Quite difficult, at least there's checkpoints :)

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Confusing, but Fun. I did like the concept however I sometimes had to restart the whole level when I got stuck and had to use a pressure plate to open a door.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Thanks for making this game, you've taken this concept further than most. Maybe you should have a gentler learning curve in the beginning? I never found out why there are texts "you can synchronize the worlds here" that don't seem to do anything. Is that where the players are supposed to wait for each other?

MrJavaFrank says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:34am

@bvanschooten Firstly thanks :) ... Secondly, this means that you can go in there und while the other worlds are jumping und going right, this world or other worlds too cannot execute these movements because they are blocked by the dirt blocks (when you go in, above your player is a block and too the right is a block). I hope i could help you :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:56am

Its quite the challenge too keep up with all 4 the characters, nice job.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:13pm

A really cool idea! The graphics were a bit hard to read at times, which felt a bit problematic due to having to follow four windows at the same time. The puzzles were interesting, and the checkpoint system was really neat and fair-feeling. Also nice music!

borgi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:18pm

It is harder than I tought :D
Nice idea, great implementation!

Knowledge says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:19pm

It just exit when I start it.

Joror says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Difficult, but interesting mechanic! A slower difficulty curve and a bigger view (so you can plan ahead) would be nice.

osthekake says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:16pm

In case you wanted to know, this happens when i try to run in Linux:

~/Downloads$ java -jar FourWorlds.jar
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: no uniform with name 'u_projTrans' in shader
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.glutils.ShaderProgram.fetchUniformLocation(ShaderProgram.java:292)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.glutils.ShaderProgram.fetchUniformLocation(ShaderProgram.java:282)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.glutils.ShaderProgram.setUniformMatrix(ShaderProgram.java:548)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.glutils.ShaderProgram.setUniformMatrix(ShaderProgram.java:536)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.g2d.SpriteBatch.setupMatrices(SpriteBatch.java:975)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.g2d.SpriteBatch.setShader(SpriteBatch.java:1005)
at com.frank.ld30.GameContainer.render(GameContainer.java:132)
at com.frank.ld30.Game.render(Game.java:90)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:206)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:114)

I'll try it in windows later. :)

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Great game. I felt it got difficult quite early - I would have liked fewer places to fall off the world in the early stages. Also, the pressure plates were had to spot at first. Good job overall though :)

Tifu says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Woah awesome, really clever things done with this. Managed to beat it, that bit with the 1 bullet, 4 ice cubes thing was tricky :D
One issue is that in some areas, if one world jumps past a pressure pad, hits a checkpoint, then they can screw it up for the world that has the door forcing you to restart from previous. It's not a big issue, I guess it's my fault for not stopping to deal with the pressure pad really :P but I did it without even noticing in the tutorial area :P

MrJavaFrank says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Really nice that you beat it ;) ... Yeah i recognized the problem with the pressure plate checkpoint system 2 or 3 days after the weekend. I think thats one main problem of this game at the moment. I have some ideas how to fix the problem, but i just let the fame like it was submitted because that would be unfair. So that wasn't your fault :) Thanks for your critic, and yeah the 1 bullet 4 ice cube (or glass ;) ) thing is pretty tricky...it's some kind of a "final".

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Well done !!

"Joror says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Difficult, but interesting mechanic! A slower difficulty curve and a bigger view (so you can plan ahead) would be nice."

+1 Maybe 4 views is too much for lisibility

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:16am

Very original! Good job overall!

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Good job, liked the theme linking the worlds. Agree about the loudness of the music, but really liked the music otherwise. If it weren't for the wait in each world I would have a hard time with this, so that really helps offset the difficulty.

Didn't get to the end, but I'm saving this to come back to it.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Good fun, I liked this. I know it's extremely hard to think of original gameplay mechanics, but I would have loved to see this kind of 4-split world w. something else than a platformer.

brokenbeach says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:56am

Super, super confusing. The game play was really good, and the level design seemed good. But visually, it was hard to keep track of what was going on. To improve, I'd recommend changing the layout of the screen and perhaps improving the visuals so things look less cluttered.

Otherwise, cool game. Fun and challenging.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]