Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WE MUST EXPLORE

by goosetickler - Jam Entry

Overview:
Travel around the solar system while you collect resources to create your own galaxy. This is currently an endless experience that cannot be failed or completed. Headphones and a controller are also recommended.

Controls [Keyboard & Controller]
Movement = WASD or Left Thumbstick
Create Planet = Spacebar or A Button

Objectives:
Collect fragments of comets to increase your power level, as your level increases so does your ability to collect larger comets.

Collisions between attached comets and those in the environment will reduce your tether strength and destroy your comet.

Create new planets once you have collected enough resources, each new planet will generate a randomized comet field.

Credits:
Boom Sci-Fi Sound FX Package - http://www.boomlibrary.com/
Nasa Audio Recordings & Images - http://nasa3d.arc.nasa.gov/
Hayate 2.0 Particle FX - http://u3d.as/content/max-proud/hayate-2-0-particle-turbulence/4d4
Planet Textures -http://planetpixelemporium.com/planets.html

Contact:
@mattkrystek

Post Compo Changelist 8/27/14
-Massive performance improvements, 3 additional audio clips, FX tweaks, gradually increased the resource cost to generate a planet with each new one you create and added an intro logo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#27Mood(Jam)4.06
#85Audio(Jam)3.76
#156Graphics(Jam)3.97
#210Overall(Jam)3.45
#270Innovation(Jam)3.22
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#452Theme(Jam)3.03
#457Humor(Jam)2.24

Comments

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Amazing! I am missing the story a bit, the graphics are unbelievable! The audio great. The gameplay reminded me Osmos (not the same, but similar). Great job!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Very good atmo. Game crashes after 4 planets though. I didn't rate gfx and sound because these where pre-made assets.

goosetickler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48am

@yodamaster thanks for the feedback, I found the issue with the game crash and updated the build.

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:51am

Web version says: "unity: Failed to download data file"

goosetickler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:13am

@avh4 should be fixed now

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07pm

simple yet challenging. cool graphics also :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52pm

That was quit relaxing :) nice atmospshere

Fernando says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:07am

Very beautiful and relaxing. Congrats!

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:15am

I don't know why but creating planets was very satisfying.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:15am

A nice way to pass some time. Just fly through space and see whats there.

I didn't really care for gameplay of building planets , just got too repetitive. So I went back to flying around :)

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:12am

Really good audio and fx. The sun, the mood. Great!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Very atmospheric! The audio was perfect and really fit what was going on.
Lovely space background also, looked nice in addition with the nice trails and other effects.

insane66 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:22pm

very fun well not bad.(doctor who)

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

There is an incredible sense of atmosphere and loneliness in this game, very impressive visuals too. I loved exploring around looking for extra rocks - really therapeutic gameplay, would be really cool to explore procedurally generated environments!

DarkUser says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

Great art

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:22am

Cool game :)

Hippolyta says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:22am

Very nice space game with very good graphics and sfx. Had fun with it!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Really amazing graphics. I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/5xO0Ucfr9co

hoyt hoy says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:18pm

intriguing game.
I made 4 planets, one was giant!
I didn't understand the purpose of this game, but it was well made.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:50am

A nice little sandbox. Enjoyable to play.

villhest says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Awesome! I didn't quite get why I was making planets, but I did anyway!

t4u says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Interesting game idea.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:12pm

love the mood of this game and love the overall mechanic. wish there were more fragments to collect at the beginning to get a feel for it

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]