Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Homeostasis

by Meganopteryx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two dimensions are connected via portals. One increases your temperature and the other decreases it. Find a portal before you get too hot or cold, as you make your way to the exit.

The direction indicator *mostly* works.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#650Theme3.13
#683Graphics2.91
#773Innovation2.86
#915Mood2.55
#1053Overall2.61
#1116Fun2.17
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:16am

Interesting idea :)

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48pm

It would be need to see what else you can do with it after the comp. It's a concept worth exploring!

Meganopteryx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Thanks! I do plan on adding music to it, finishing it up, fixing the bugs, etc. after the competition. Thanks for playing.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02am

Very odd idea, I think I finished it? :D

hyouko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07am

The direction indicator flew me straight into the ground in the cold zone, and then I froze to death. Reminds me of an experience I had with an early GPS device.

("Exceeded" seems like the wrong word for a minimum temperature. Maybe "passed"? Something that doesn't imply going upward.)

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

The flipping of half the controls does my head in. Neat concept.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:51am

The graphics are very impressive with a nice design/mood, but game isn't very fun. Well done ++

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52am

Moody, yet far from complete. Graphics are pretty neat tho!

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28am

Idea is good. Maybe add more levels?

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:31am

quite good! i didn't like the controls though

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

I like the awkward controls and the idea!
Good concept ;-)

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Nice idea! Little hard controls but still good!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:11am

Great innovation, good job overall.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:11pm

This is a strange game but a brilliant idea. The visuals are really nice and the controls are strange in that other-worldly type way. Brilliant start to a very cool concept!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]