Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Trader

by Random Abductions - Jam Entry

In this Ludum dare we wanted to connect the real world with the digital world. We designed and used a new technology to connect multiple devices easily. We used QR codes and Ip addresses to connect mobile and non-mobile devices. Therefor making it possible to enhance the experience by using mobile-specific features as tilting and gestures to control the game. You can setup form every device: a client or a server, so enjoy everywhere you like! (Doge-comment: "wow, such marketing, much boast, very amaze.")

Multiplayer space collection game about harvesting sun fusion elements. Fly around in your spaceship by using WASD or by tilting your android phone. Use the on-screen buttons to:
- Boost (Space)
- Shoot a rocket (arrows for aiming)
- Fire lasers (Shift)

Shoot the other players to steal their cargo and try to fly back to your planet (same color as your spaceship). Once there you can buy upgrades and save up for the end condition, buying the universe!

You can join someones game by scanning the QR code or by entering the IP address noted on the server screen. Enjoy together!

Game Created by Random Abductions (Siewart van Wingerden && Peter Verzijl)
Music by: Jens East https://soundcloud.com/jenseast

Disclaimer: Everything made from scratch, all code, art, music and sfx made within the 72 hour time frame. (not including buying or building a nexus testing device)

!!!!!Make sure you are able to connect to your server with your client (same network preferable, not tested in the wild as one might say!!!!!


--------
Update (2014/08/26):
1. Added a debug version of the game to help us support more devices. (might increase ping, but it would be great if you could help us out :D)
2. Fixed potential bug in Android-Windows communication (added Application.platform == checks)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#160Innovation(Jam)3.47
#175Theme(Jam)3.60
#387Overall(Jam)3.22
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#455Graphics(Jam)3.20
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51am

There doesn't seem to be a link!

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24am

Could you paste a download link?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49am

Something went wrong I see. That often happens when I'm tired. Should be up now.

Sorry for the inconvenience. :(

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:36am

It installs and connects fine but I can't seem to get anything moving on either desktop or phone. WASD and tilting the phone do nothing. Not sure what's up with that... ping is great and all seems well...

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37am

(Tested on windows 7 and samsung galaxy s3 mini, btw)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Hi,

Thanks for (attempting to) playing our game. I have added a debug version, which drops a debug.log file next to windows.exe. It would be great if you could mail that to me siewart&randomabductions.com if you have any trouble with the game, so we can support more devices.

I added instructions to:
www.randomabductions.com/space-trader

If interested you can use ctrl + shift + alt + c for realtime messages. (Not to convenient yet i'm afraid, still a WIP project of mine.)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Oh, and please also post devices that did work :)

Oana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:50am

Your latest update actually made it work! Tested on the same windows 7 and samsung galaxy s3 mini. This is sooo cool! It would make an awesome party game!

I am very impressed from a technological standpoint. While it could do with some more polish and effects, it is already a pretty fun game, so good job. I'll try to get some friends over and play it with multiple devices!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Wow, sounds pretty sweet. Any chance for a web version?

Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:26pm

The tests we did with the web version did not work. Maybe after the compo (:

Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:17pm

tested on Windows Vista and Nexus 7, and though it may not work perfectly (the tilt-controls are hard, the game is a little bit confusing) it's really cool and innovative! great take on the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]