Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kosmovalse

by the - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Kosmovalse is a game where you are alone in space.

Play it with MOUSE, LEFT MOUSE KEY, RIGHT MOUSE KEY, ARROWS or WASD and use your head and asteroids around to reach the other world.

Made with python, pygame, numpy, pyopengl, pyinstaller, CCA font http://fontstruct.com/fontstructions/show/619715 and a lot of opengl code samples from the internet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#776Humor2.00
#806Audio2.20
#842Mood2.66
#922Graphics2.50
#943Fun2.59
#990Innovation2.51
#1015Overall2.69
#1073Theme2.28

Comments

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11am

Game closes (crashes?) immediately on title screen when pressing space bar. Windows.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19am

Open game ->"Press spacebar"-> *pressing spacebar* -> game crashed

the says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00am

Looks like your system doesnot supported some opengl stuff i use (in shaders part), so i add new versiob (Windows (Shaders Off)) without some effects (graphic looks still ok). let it a try, please.

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44am

I tried both of your windows installers and both crashed on the main menu when pressing spacebar

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59am

it looks nice, but I didn't manage to get it to run (linux)

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Looks cool .. But controls are a little quirky for me. I think the theme would've been interesting when the world turn inverted colors and things change drastically (i don't know what caused transition, don't quite understand between differences of the worlds ..) otherwise .. well made ..

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I played version without shaders and it ran well. Once I learnt how to move it was fun fo play. Liked character animation, gravity effects and jetpack. I sensed a lack of objective other than scoring. Got 580 points!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Chrome is claiming that your zip file is malicious.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Chrome is reporting that your file is malicious.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54am

The game crashes when I press spacebar

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59am

Also tried both installers, cold crash after pressing space bar in the main menu.

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07am

I kind of liked this, but I found the mouse control really weird. My target kept firing off out of the window and then clicking some other thing that was open on the desktop.

Wasn't sure how the theme fit in.

I also had Chrome complain that the "Windows" link was malicious, but the "Shaders Off" version worked ok.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53am

A decent game: graphics are not bad, but they are not very special either. Audio would be nice, currently the player's weapon seems very weak. With small improvements this game could become a good one.

Simon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:16pm

I really got the feeling of being lost in space, it was even pretty cool to navigate between planets. The art style fits nicely too. Nice job it's a good experience despite the weird sounds and controls :)

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55pm

nice game, not sure what the point of it was. tip: I find it really adds a nice effect if the background on the menuscreen is scrolling, might just be a personal preference

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:18am

Spinning, launching, and jumping between gravitational pentagons while shooting demon heads in the stark depths of space where star light is all black or white evoked my imagination! If you continue to develop this, have you considered a bit more inertia while not a pentagon?

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:26am

Weapon upgrades would me nice. Graphics - simple, but lovely. Physics is pretty weird

jojocanard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:53am

NIce controls. But I did not really understand how to score points. Or what was different in the other world, or event how I got there. :)

braqoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:32am

Can't get it working with set requirements on Linux.

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

The black & white combination looks great :)

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

I LOVE the black and white color scheme. Beautiful.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:04am

Cool game! I like it! :)

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Crashes on start on linux. Could not run from source because some files are missing

Esenti says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:44pm

The Linux version crashes on start with `ImportError: ('Unable to load OpenGL library', '/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libXxf86vm.so.1: undefined symbol: _XGetRequest', 'libGL.so.1', 'libGL.so.1')`, but the Win version with no shaders runs fine under Wine 1.7.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Would have been really great with the bosses/worlds you mentioned in your postmortem.
Also, can't see the ui when next to an asteroid (since black on black).

lkr says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Pretty neat game. I like how the character clings to the surfaces when you land on them and walk around them. Also found it cool that jetpack fuel and ammo were tied to the same resource :)

Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Closes when I hit space too =/
Too bad, I really want to try this.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Cool game! I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Hmt93jxkWGQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]