Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Far, far away

by 4KbShort - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Far, far away puts you in the place of an A.I. set to handle large scale decisions on board the generation starship I.S.C. Columbus. Every 10 years something happens that will require your attention and it's up to you to make the right decisions to ensure moral, food, water, oxygen, and ship maintenance all stay high enough to survive to your final destination.

Instructions: Click the buttons on the right or use A, B, C keys to select the option you want to choose. Press R to reset at any time. Monitor your resources and try to make the decision that will best benefit your colonists for the next ten years!

Known bugs: NONE! (First time for everything)
Source Code: Located at the bottom of the ITCH.IO page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Overall3.83
#87Mood3.69
#118Humor3.29
#171Innovation3.71
#172Fun3.56
#176Audio3.41
#218Graphics3.67
#828Theme2.83
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35am

Really nice concept. Kinda fun to play, also love that music :)

Sharkxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08am

i dont quite understand how to balanced it out but its a fun game

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08am

Here's a nice innovative game, I had fun playing it but I don't seem to reach the relation between the theme and the game!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15am

Liked it! Clever idea and smart use of time. The overal atmosphere is good and it's easy to play. Especially liked the EXTERMINATE option. Yes I'm evil. >:D

Nanocentury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

This is an epic reinvention of the Oregon Trail and one I enjoyed the the most to try out.

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51am

It's not bad. I'm nitpicking here, but you could have change the font to an more appropriate one..

Otherwise it's quite fun on a whole.

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Great on innovation. Really liked the music. Only downside, probably a little too easy.

dix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Nice game! I really liked it :D
I did not understandd what those things above the text were, but I really felt like I was on that ship :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Is the game beatable? Anyway, it is very good. The connection to the theme is missing to me, but other than that, I like it.

Kate Kligman says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:46am

Loved the game, music was great too. I know it's a LD (so limited content), but I wanted to play more after the game ended. :)

Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I love it! Brilliant, although my colonists resorted to cannibalism in year 40.. guess I'm not a very good AI, I keep going back for more and more!

Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:27pm

oh man! I reached year 200, but just can't decide on what I should do... a good AI would exterminate right?? :D

jcsirron says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:56pm

I really liked the music and the humorous choices!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]