Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

HeShe

by Manou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*Edit PM : scaling of the game in browser solved, was too tiny on lower resolutions.
*Edit2 PM : fixed collision mask of the heroes, so the jumping is more responsive now !
*Edit3 PM : fixed the texts not displaying the good fonts.

Timelapse added ! : http://youtu.be/kRxvWs22MmU

HeShe... Can you make them be together again ?

Left and right arrow keys to move and up arrow to jump.

Second LD & first Construct game ! Hope you enjoy as much as I enjoyed creating it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#61Humor3.57
#65Mood3.81
#115Fun3.68
#123Graphics3.94
#182Audio3.40
#195Overall3.60
#367Theme3.50
#552Innovation3.16

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02am

I loved this. I couldn't help but laugh at the music. Nice mood and graphics.

juakob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42am

I love the graphics! so dark an colorful at the same time

anssipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55am

Nice workaround to use just rollin cubes to make use of an physics engine in platformer game. Really good mood and style too. Could use your graphics and art style in my game too O_O

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02am

Pretty fun concept, I like. Also graphics are awesome. :)

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

Yes, excellent game! Nothing I would change actually. The quirky audio really works too. 5/5

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43am

Overall awesome game! Well done!!

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Nice game, congrats!

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Graphics and audio work well to create the mood. Great entry!

cudabear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Very fun little puzzle game! I wasn't able to progress passed the "use your brain" level, though. What a shame, considering I hardly had a chance to use the mechanics that you set up! Loved the audio and graphic design worked very well! I felt the characters got stuck on invisible obstacles occasionally, making it a little hard to control.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Damn killig left wall :D

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Nice entry, I love glitchy style, and the fact it's consistent throughout the graphics, animations and sounds. Great job :)

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Intresting game, however the physics baseed controls make the game unresponsive sometimes :/

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Great graphics, sound, mood and mechanic. A really fun little platformer with a nice quirky vibe.

Nice to see another Construct 2 game too. :)

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

I can't help to give the game all fieve-star! From idea to theme to graphics to audio, it's so perfectly blend together!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46pm

The style is so cool and I love the music. The gameplay is fun, too!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Very cool, but the character controls were frustrating for me. Love the art style & music

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Thanks for the comment, I fixed the collision mask of the characters, animation looks worst but the controls are maybe more responsive now.

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32am

Inspired by Edgar Allen Poe? Enjoyed music, graphics, and clear goal. Already frustrated at level 3, but I'd still come back to try again.

PixelMonkey says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

Pretty good game! The audio was a little buggy, particularly when the landing effect would constantly repeat, but the graphics are nice and the gameplay is quite creative!

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39pm

3rd level is hard. The idea is fresh.

Luin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42pm

The colors are really great ! The sounds of the "water drops" as you are in a tunnel are great and make a good atmosphere :)

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Loved the art style and the mood. Sometimes "SHE" does't jump, and it is a bit annoying considering the puzzle style of the game. Overall is a good compo entry, covers all aspects and has some interesting level design. Good job.

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Yeah, there are some problems with controls, which I'm very mad about, I don't know how to solve this in Construct2. Maybe with custom movements or totally remove the rotating cube mecanic.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Neat little puzzler. In the level "Use your brain" even though they met the level was restarted for me. Great Job :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:51am

This was very nice, love the aesthetics. The character animations were slick too. Some of the levels were designed a bit too tightly for the movement-set of the player, but overall a nice little platformer. Extra points for the music :)

vandriver says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

great style. the spinning squares and their 'walking' noise really make it. the game wouldn't progress past winning 'use your brain'. is that the last level? i'd totally play more

Stepwise says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:34am

Great little entry. Shame about the physics not getting fixed - I think a good solution would be to add a "ghost-jump" timer after detecting a ground collision within a few frames, allowing you to transition into jump state that shuts off a few frames once you're airborne. I'd say keep the rotating cubes!!

Otherwise I loved the death and victory sound/animations. They felt pretty great!

Manou says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:13am

Yes, use your brain is the last level :/ Didn't have time to make more levels; Stepwise thanks for the advice to fix controls, I'll try that asap ! I plan to work on this game more, with levels and a bit of polish.

Manou says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:34am

I just saw fonts are not the good one :/ Do you have arial displayed as well ? fixing this today.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Good entry, managed to reach the "Use your brain" level and even reunited the characters, but I didn't progress to the next one. Does it mean it's the end? ^^"
Still, that was pretty nice experience, though I'd really prefer if the characters wouldn't be able to meet after one of them dying, causing two tracks (losing and winning) playing at the same time. >.<

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

interesting concept and a really nice setting

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:45pm

I found a bug ~ I guess if I get them to touch before the end, then.... the level doesn't end =( was really fun though!! I want to play it again sometime and see more.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:51pm

There's something really satisfying about the way the cubes move, well done! :)

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:35am

nice, well done

Split82 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:36am

The same bug with no ending here. Anyway it is a great game. Stylish visual and fun gameplay.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:16am

Really god entry. Congratulations! I tested the OSX Version - it worked perfectly fine, but is it normal that after a certain level nothing happens after you connect them^^?
great graphics, liked the audio. Good job overall ;)

Erkberg says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:18am

Very nice game. I like the graphics and audio. Jumping did not always work, but you seem to be working on that already. Good job!

Manou says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:22am

Thank you guys for comments, I really appreciate !
Yes, there is no ending, last level is "use your brain". Didn't have enough time to make a proper ending, my next LD will have one !

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Very interesting graphics, but jump felt a little unresponsive (can't jump if slightly off the ground?)

Similar in concept/gameplay to this other one I just played:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=26777

Snoother says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Games like this one, that have clear direction instantly appeal. They feel remarkably complete and polished for something created in 48 hours. The graphics and music are fabulously stylised, and the mechanic is distinctive and unique, tying in perfectly to the premise. Nice work.

But as others have said, the 'use your brain' level is a bit too fiddly, and hard to execute the puzzle solution.

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:15pm

I liked this game. Nice graphics!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:32am

Indeed o enjoyed the game as much as you enjoyed creating it. I had a blast. Wonderful game! :D

dancingmad says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Bon jeu bien qu'un peu chaotique au niveau de la jouabilité (ça ne répond pas toujours au doigt et à l'œil).
En tout cas, belle direction artistique pour enrober le tout :)

sephyka says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Very cool and efficient gameplay mechanic. Good audio and graphics.

Manou says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 8:57am

Thanks for all the comments and playing, was fun. See you in 80 days !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]