Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Petits Bonshommes

by Meta-link - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my entry for my first Ludum Dare, and my first game with GameMaker !

Controls :
Arrow keys to move your squad
Space to fight

I hope you're gonna have fun with my "Petits Bonshommes", thanks for playing (and don't forget to rate/comment) !

See itch.iko page here : http://meta-link.itch.io/petits-bonshommes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#274Innovation3.53
#307Fun3.35
#445Graphics3.24
#486Overall3.28
#1026Theme2.41
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04am

I like the way they regroup :)
You should somehow treat the strategy of "run and don't fight" as it is the easiest way to win.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39pm

The art is pretty cool, despite what you said ! Love the mood, and the "unite" of the group is pretty awesome, though. I killed one guy, just for fun, but as ViliX said, the run and don't fight seems to be the right strategy.
+1 for the "non-violent" message of the game :)

Cheers !

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Haha, such a silly game, very fun :D

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:34pm

I like it. I almost made it through fighting, but evasion / running away is the way to go. I like the graphics, especially on the start screen. The font is a bit hard to read though.

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:34pm

I like graphic things and control a group by this way is a good idea!

kyru says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Cute game, art fits what's going on well, and the game fits the theme nicely.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

A neat concept and I really like the artstyle! I found it a bit hard to consistently damage the enemies, and when one of the dudes got stuck in a corner and once the others died, the camera didn't return to the alive one. Still, very nice!

vogon101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Really nice game, I love the way they act as a group.

Meta-link says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Thanks everyone for your comments :)

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Kind of just ran through to the end. Pressed space a bit but the enemies never died. It wasn't very difficult but it was interesting anyway. The guys were kind of funny to watch wander around and squish up together.

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:29am

i think the game bugged on my after the level 3. I just suddenly got a message from the king.

I like the game very much, but i do not understand how it is connected with the theme.
the entry text is unreadable, don't use white strokes on black background an black fonts.

Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:23pm

After reading the prologue, I chose to avoid the enemy and I delivered the message with 9 remaining bonhommes. I didn't fight, and I like I was discouraged to fight since the beggining. Nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]