Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Pirate

by Oli - Jam Entry

It was supposed to be a Compo entry but I lacked of time this weekend so here is my game as Jam entry.

Anyway, prepare to be a space pirate and destroy everything!

(I added the downloadable versions. I've tested only the Windows version. If you're running Linux or Mac, please tell me if it works.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#236Audio(Jam)3.38
#257Fun(Jam)3.25
#273Overall(Jam)3.38
#359Graphics(Jam)3.45
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#514Humor(Jam)2.07
#657Theme(Jam)2.30
#724Innovation(Jam)2.11

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55am

the combat can be a little bit punching because ships can only spam bullets. but afteral a great game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Ship mobs are pretty tough from the get go, but it's exciting. Nice job!

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:34pm

great pixel art and the audio is awesome! Also fun.

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:28pm

The leveling of the ship was nice, and the laser felt really good, but just spawning waves of ships was a bit boring, especially because bullets were annoying to dodge.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:44pm

That was pretty fun. I get hooked on anything with a leveling system... the second ship seemed to bug out after I killed it though. A giant explosion just kept happening and it still showed up on the map. The music was really good for the game too.

Oli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:28am

Thank you for your comments!

I've fixed the bug of the second ship.

01101101 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:00am

Cool consistent game. I'll play it again!

holgk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Very hard to play. I didn' survived the first attacks. But good concept.

doos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Loved the game, I just wasn't very good at it!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Not bad. I love the huge ships.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:04pm

I like it! :D i don't usually like shoot em ups (I stink at them XD) but this one's got great music and graphics, and the gameplay is challenging :) I'd love to be able to download it so I could play it later and try to beat it, rigt now I've got much games to test and little time :(

Oli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:17pm

thank you 01101101, jjhaggar it's just a little game but I'm glad to know that someone will play it again once the Ludum Dare ends ^^

You can download the game now. Since I only have Windows I don't know if it run properly on Linux and Mac.

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Cool game and great music. Seemed to work fine for me on OS/X.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Great music! It was good to see a tutorial level as it helps to ease coming into the game. However enemies are quite difficult to beat, couldn't get past level 1 :( good game though!

AdricZero says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Looks really polished. Liked the graphics and the music, but would have liked some sound effects for shooting and explosions.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]