Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Orbital

by louis.denizet - Jam Entry

Hello everyone!

Once again I made a game with my girfriend and we are proud to present you Orbital!

The game is about reflex and dexterity in a calm paper looking world!

- Press R to restart a level to gain time!
- Use mouse to select planets to go towards to
- Press Esc if you want to leave the game anytime!

That's all :D

You will have to be quick to be able to get through the levels ;)

We took around 2 days to make the game, we spent first day doing prototypes not finding an interesting idea!

Anyway we really hope you enjoy the game,

If you have any problem let us know so we can fix it or if you just wanna talk... :D

See you next ludum =)

Graphisms : Melissandre Samson, http://melissandres.wordpress.com/

Design and development : Louis Denizet, http://louis-denizet.fr/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#127Fun(Jam)3.54
#151Overall(Jam)3.57
#177Innovation(Jam)3.45
#288Audio(Jam)3.28
#293Mood(Jam)3.26
#317Graphics(Jam)3.54
#333Theme(Jam)3.27
#475Humor(Jam)2.17

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31am

one of my favorites so far!

Rehacked says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

nice work. i liked the idea but doesnt understand the theme in it .anyway this game is good

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Well worlds are connected by death links and the people is also a link between worlds so we technically are in the theme :D

But I totally see what you mean ^^

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Nice shot !
Love the mechanics, and really had fun playing the first two levels :)
I'll finish it ASAP :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:22am

Good work. Some decent levels. The gameplay has potential, but some small things felt off, like the fact that you moved really fast towards planets that were close to you. Although it's more realistic this way, it was just very surprising, and often led to frustrating deaths.

Also, the "You died" was there for far too long. I like hard games, but I need quick restarts in order to enjoy them.

The stop function could have been on the spacebar or right click instead of having to click the planet you were going towards, since the mouse would often be hovering above some other planet.

But pretty nice atmosphere, cool basic idea, really neat interface design.

arazim6 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:33am

pretty fun :)

MSaul says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:36am

Nice game !

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:39am

@ZeppelinCaptain : Hello and thanks for your comment ;)

I'm sorry about the death, the game is currently not optimized and use a lot of PC performance, on my PC is nearly instant but I know it can be a bit slow on some others, sorry about that =)

About the surprise of gravity, you can manage to nearly never be that close of planets, it was really intentional and part of the gameplay ^^

Finally for the space/right clic to stop I thought about it and I don't want it because it breaks the gameplay, in my opinion the fact we can stop isn't a good feature, it breaks the sensation of floating, I let it there because it's easier for a lot of people but when I play I try to never stop to don't break the movement :p

Thanks a lot for playing and for feedbacks =)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43am

I really love the graphics style here! Good job!

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46am

My girlfriend will be so happy with that comment!! thanks :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:10am

Brilliant job!
~funkeh

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:36am

simple and fun idea. and agreewith the idea that the game is more challenging without "stop"...

(just a problem in my config (not 16:9 screen), the planets are distorted, I play in a world of eggs...)

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:42am

Oh damn... Has I made it in 1980*1080 I made it to adapt to the player's screen for the game to be played on every screen, didn't think about the egg effect :p

Thanks for the feedback =)

Maek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:45am

Very good idea. I don't like this triangle design and the restart time is too long for me(I cant wait so long, I want to play...). But all together a great game!

Shide says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02am

Good work, fun to play, but an ability to stop moving towards a planet seems more lie cheating. Intentionally plyed without this feature, much more fun

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:03am

Pretty cool! I Liked the simplicity, the gameplay got a bit frustrating at times but overall it's a fun game.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:06am

@ Maek : you can press R to restart a level to gain time :p

@ Shide : totally agree with you ;)

@ Yoni : what did you find frustrating in the gameplay? ^^

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:15am

Interesting labyrinth, reaction game.
Found no bugs, good job.

ccglp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:26am

Good work here, the gameplay is original and funny, graphics are very good too. Congratulations for you both :)

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:31am

Nice graphics and music, I did feel like the camera and the 'curving speed' was working against me though

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:34am

nice work. especially the art :)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:43am

The graphics here were indeed very pretty, and the death screens too long.

Also, I managed to complete the whole thing, though some levels were rather tricky (and yes, it was sometimes difficult to tell how close I can approach). At later point the concept, while initially interesting, started to wear off; I guess this game needs a bit more variety later. Leaving these aside, it was rather fun, still. ^^"

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Simple and effective, very nice game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:01pm

This is really neat! Plays smoothly and I like the look. Restarting after losing a level could stand to be a little quicker, but it's not a huge problem.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Nice, simple graphics and gameplay. This is definitely one you can just pick up and play for a little bit and put down. Definitely has that draw to it. Very solid entry!

seantheartist says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:25pm

cool game, love the sounds and the strategy!

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Nice game, weirdly relaxing and frantic at the same time. Really interesting game mechanic once you get the hang of it. The visuals and audio set a nice mood overall.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Super cool game!
Smooth controls and nice graphics!

FGM says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Very awesome. The graphics and music work well together.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:45pm

I've played a couple games this LD that are similar in concept , where the worlds are connected literally. Yours has been the most challenging so far, and for me that's a good thing! Good luck! Btw the graphics were cool. The planets kind of reminded me of Epcot in Disney World :)

MentaL13 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:53pm

This was one of the best games I tried so far. The graphics and music are great. The gameplay is solid and when you get the hang of it you can finish a level without stoping.
The game is hard but fair, the only frustrating thing I encountered was that sometimes the starting speed was a little bit to fast, but overall a great game.

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Effective AND beautiful graphics. Original gameplay. Like it.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Simple, clean and fun. Awesome work!

Banderi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Very cool puzzle concept! A bit hard here and there, but very fun to play :)

Raphy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

Nice polish, cool concept and nice music. Good job!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Really nice design!

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:00pm

cool game

H1S2 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:31am

wow. one of my favorites so far. the simplistic graphical design works perfect with the cool animation and sound effects. and everything supports the creative game concept. would like to soo more of this! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]