Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Iter Bellum Deus

by Piscythe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the surprisingly colorful future of whatever millennium, the player is a god aiding a space-faring civilization, the Blue Team. They are, as is the case with everyone else, at war with several other space-faring civilizations, sending fleets of ships along hyperspace lanes. While they are often outnumbered, the well-connected Blue Team will win and conquer if your aid is up to the task.

Coded in Starling using FlashDevelop. Graphics are from Inkscape and put into a TexturePacker Atlas. Music made with lmms and sound with BFXR.

Controls:
Mouse + Hotkeys 1-4

Help:
There are in-game tips, but here are some key points:
You win if you control all planets, and lose if you control none, regardless of ships on the field.
Bigger planets produce more ships and are harder to conquer.
Your powers are as follows, though you will usually not have access to all of them:
(1) Wrath: Destroys all ships and weakens planets in an area. Destroyed planets go neutral.
(2) Boon: Give a planet a boost for 15 seconds, doubling power generation. A boosted planet will remain boosted if it changes control, but a plague will cancel the boost immediately.
(3) Plague: Give a planet a plague for 15 seconds, reducing power generation to 40%. A plague planet will remain boosted if it changes control, but a boost will cancel the plague immediately.
(4) Crusade: Give a group of ships you control a permanent boost, doubling their power and increasing their speed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#27Fun3.97
#39Theme4.09
#102Overall3.77
#125Innovation3.82
#375Audio3.00
#379Mood3.20
#494Graphics3.18
#519Humor2.38

Comments

Vulture Tamer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

best so far!

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58am

great. I love me some strategy games, and this one was intense.

cobrajs says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00am

Frustrating at first, but really cool concept once I got the hang of it. Music was a little odd, but odd music is better than no music. Well, most of the time. Nice work!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00am

it's really hard!

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10am

I gotta say I liked your entry a lot. I almost wish that it had an unlocking system so that it felt I accomplished something after beating a mission. It's definitely the best entry I've played so far, with 4 5/5 ratings, including overall.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16am

Really good. Definitely kept my attention for the longest of all that I've played. Also, my game now works without a controller if you want to give it another shot.

AnIronGolem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18am

Whoa, spent a good half an hour on this, love it.

dvdking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:38am

Awesome!
I loved that I had to use different tactics in different situations.
It is well balanced. It is not easy, but it is fun to defeat overwhelming enemies.

Although, I didn't quite like sounds and music. But it didn't really affected gameplay quality.

Healthire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:55am

Very nice game. Good difficulty curve and fun mechanics!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34am

Good beat, interesting mechanic for this kind of games

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I really, really liked this. I was not a big fan of the art style, but after playing the first level a few times to get a hang of the game, I was hooked. This is an excellent game.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06am

Seems almost impossible, but I've played better than this. Good job making something like it in a weekends time though! :D

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13am

Awesome game. One of the bests for me so far.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Very nice!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:14am

Interesting, and surprisingly difficult. Kind of hated the audio, so I'm really glad there was a way to turn it off. Great work overall.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:46am

Very nice strategy game, doesn't leave any room for hesitation.
I wish you had time for more levels, also the level 9 is good bout you really loose or win in like 4 seconds while the level 10 is way too easy. I liked this game a lot and played it until the end.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:06pm

This game is really good. It seems simple at first but there is a lot of strategy involved. Difficulty curve was well designed. Art and sound are a little plain, but overall great job!

whilefun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:10am

This was a lot of fast paced crazy fun to play. On level 3, the 2nd hot key would work to select the powerup but I couldnt deploy it or switch back to the 1st power up, so I kept losing. Overall very solid entry, good work! :)

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Pretty nice entry and a good mechanic, although some of the later levels seemed almost impossible or only reliant on using your abilities exactly right. Also, sound effects were good but the music was too dissonant for me :/ Still great entry!

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Among the best I've seen so far. Gameplay is a lot of fun (I'm a sucker for graph based games), although it scales a bit quickly. The audio is by far the best I've heard, very driving. Another on the list of games that would be a nice quick diversion on mobile.

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:16pm

really cool, I felt the white "stars" were a little distracting, maybe making them smaller would balance out the visuals a little

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:36am

Pretty fun, but I've seen some similar games that have more direct interaction and are, I think, more fun for it. Also, the music grew pretty insufferable after a few levels.

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:03pm

This was a lot of fun. Took a second to figure it out. It's hard, but fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]