Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interstellar, Inc.

by JavadocMD - 48 Hour Compo Entry

===!!!=== There are no instructions in game! ===!!!===
===!!!=== See explanatory images and text below. ===!!!===

"Interstellar, Inc." puts you at the center of a galactic trade war! Compete against the computer to become the undisputed Trade Baron and leader of the Trade Council.

Build trade routes between worlds, mine them for their precious resources, manage your tax income, and expand your administrative capabilities to build up the warchest you'll need to claim leadership of the Council before your rival can do the same.

====================
BUG FIX VERSION NOW AVAILABLE!

Bugs fixed:
-AI froze after a couple moves
-Win/lose message could be overwritten by button hover text

Hopefully these bug fixes count as "small enough" for the rule purposes. In the interest of full transparency, here is the commit with the bug fixes: https://github.com/JavadocMD/interstellar-gdx/commit/7c05ec383eb51c7f674ae54cb1167f1039d8e01c

It's still not *very* challenging, but at least it's *possible* to lose now! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#215Theme3.72
#394Overall3.36
#477Fun3.13
#680Mood2.85
#704Innovation2.97
#863Humor1.83
#922Graphics2.50

Comments

Tempeth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14pm

I played through to victory as expected, because I have the heart of a champion.

Was a little uncertain of what was what to start, but quickly caught on.

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

I like the concept and gameplay. It's really hard to do something strategic but with really easy rules. Althrough it's sad that AI freezes.

I'd love to see version with working AI!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:54am

Hi, not rated yet. Crashed Chrome on W8.1

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Haha, this is a great lot of fun! Especially well done was how it's pretty intuitively obvious how to play after just a few minutes of trying things out. Great job!

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03pm

@mrexcessive: Thanks for the note! Unfortunately I wasn't able to replicate the crash on my W8.1 Chrome. Let me know if you have any pointers on getting it straightened out.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05pm

good game

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Nice game, congrats!

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:11pm

This was surprisingly entertaining even though the other guy stopped doing anything.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Of course the game would be much more fun with a working AI. I think with more balancing and more diverse actions it could be a really challenging and fun game.

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Yay I won. It was confusing at first but you quickly get the hang of it. Then it gets addictive quickly.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Didn't have any real instructions, but that's ok because this was pretty intuitive anyways. I did have the issue you mentioned where the AI just stopped doing anything mid game. But just building up my empire managed to be fun even without opposition.

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Well I liked the game really. This had potential as a time management game. While the sim part was really cool.
I liked the game mechanics although I thought it might have wanted a bit of danger/lose condition (not sure what was that condition).
It is also really easy to pick up (was confused at the beginning at what is CR and the other stuff but with time I learned what each one meant).

Good work and good game.

Serena says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:46am

I liked it! I think the AI may have given up part way through because I didn't see the rival connections change. But I liked the resource balancing, it's really addicting accumulating credits and resources and building connections!

Fanttum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:41am

Could not play. says my browser does not support WebGL. I am using safari.
Maybe I could have downloaded it, but i would rather just do a web player :P

Beard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Takes a few minutes to get the hang of what is going one. Once I did, I enjoyed the game even after I noticed the AI stop. :P Fun.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:31pm

interesting

Njord says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:28am

Without AI the game isn't very challenging but I like the simple yet efficient rules. I didn't understand very well at the beginning then I bought my 1st administrator and i went "aaaah" :D

slowfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very good simulation for such a short timeframe.
At first I did not understand the importance of the "admin" type of upgrade, but it's a important one!
With more time, this could be extended to a more complete resource management game.

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Yeaaa... I won! :D Neat game!

Glaydur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Really fun! I didn't even read the instructions and I got the mechanic.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:10pm

The mecanics are well designed, But without IA it's not very challenging, too bad.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:47pm

---- DEVELOPER NOTE ----
If you played the game before this comment, you probably played the old, buggy version. You're welcome to try the new, less buggy version! :)

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:39am

Some waiting, it is a good concept.

J-d-H says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:05am

Didn't realize it was realtime on my first play

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:28am

Hi there. Shame no sound. Liked the ambition, liked the UI adjacent to planets - though it lagged/missed clicks and hovers sometimes (Web version, Chrome/W8.1). Good to have turn-based control methods for a realtime game, get fedup with Arcade ;) Good job!
:Thanks for reviewing my game btw, very good points you made, I added a comment back.

whalebot says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Took me a bit, but I finally figured out the strategy. Nice work!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:11am

The new version cannot be won, as it knows about the critical path to victory and executes with no mercy just like a terminator. Good job!

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:12am

Nice little strategy game here. Amazing to see a working AI built in 48 hours. Of course sound, music and better graphics are missing but even then, good job.

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:44am

@jukimv1986: I assure you it is possible to beat it! :) There is at least one definite improvement on the AI's path. A bit of unpredictability would have been nice, though.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:13pm

interesting concept. it was a little tedious to click one option at a time

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:45am

It took me a bit to figure out that this is not a turn-based game - I *was* wondering why it took so long until a turn finishes, haha. I like the concept! It was fun, but it felt a bit lonesome - apart from the connections, I had no idea what (and how well) the computer was doing.

I think what could really improve the game:
- Show what the computer is doing.
- Be able to queue actions.

...and obviously balancing, more actions and something for my ears, but I guess that's self-explanatory.

PS: Oooh, now that I've clicked at the lower screenshots, there's text on them! It's so tiny that you can barely see it in the thumbnail. And I was wondering what you meant by "explanatory images" when you didn't link any, haha. Well, in the end I figured everything out myself!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]