Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The curse of the Pharaoh

by Peni6 - Jam Entry

A classic Ludum Dare case of needing "Just a few more hours!"

Play as a loveable bandit exploring the cursed tomb of the Pharoah!

Left mouse click: Shoot
Right Mouse click: Use whip
WASD: Move about

Theme: Connected worlds between you and everyone else who plays this game. The Ghost guides that show you the path are actually recordings from other players who have played the game. Also spooky ghosts & mummies & the afterlife and whatnot. But we think the A-Synchronous element is quite cool.

Art: Made using Gimp by Olly Smith
Code: Made using Phaser.io framework, & written in javascript by Ollie Armstrong
Music: Made by Brian Parker, who's a lovely chap.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2075Coolness14%

Comments

prophile says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44am

The music just stops after a while. I'm glad there are lots of checkpoints because this game is incredibly difficult.

Interesting idea with the ghosts!

Peni6 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03am

Hi Prophile,

Our music guy actually made three songs, as well as a couple of riffs, but we ran out of time to implement them all.

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:05am

It's sad that you are using such an abusive words in the menu. Otherwise nice art and music. Nice game!

Peni6 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Unfortunately that was a placeholder that I completely forgot to remove, I'll change it and upload a new build in a minute though!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I got to the end--I think. I like your art and the general idea of exploring a tomb with the souls of other adventurers visiting from their afterlife, having died there, is pretty neat. Good music, too, from what I heard of it. Also, there's an awful lot of good level design for a Ludum Dare game! Thanks for the checkpoints and the fun!

The main thing I'd change is very slightly modifying the timing/programming on the platform drops, because I'd often brush my head against one and then have it drop, making the second-to-last puzzle impossible to complete (that's where I spent the most time by far, and felt like I was fighting the game, not struggling with it), or similar areas. I also got confused in the difference between checkpoint-torches and regular-torches... might be helpful to distinguish them visually.

Thank you for the game!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:52pm

-so loud @_@-

Peni6 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Thanks for the great feedback, Victory Garden!

There were issues with the platforms dissolving too quickly and when hit from beneath instead of just from above, we just ran out of time to fix everything! The checkpoints weren't actually done by the torches, I guess it was just coincidence on some of them though. It's a pretty neat idea though and we didn't think of that, I'd love to change it such that the checkpoints could be distinguished by larger or different torches.

Sorry about the volume, DaanVanYperen. My PC volume was really low when I calibrated it so I whacked it up to 11 within the game! I might put a little warning above so you can turn your volume down in advance.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Hmm, I think it's being buggy for me? I can't go through it up to the boulder and then the boulder will stop rolling after it passes the second hole, sometimes after the first. I also haven't seen any recordings of other people's ghosts. Otherwise enjoyable and I really like the art style.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Why make the controls so complicated? Especially if you use a trackpad, there's no right-button.

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:36am

I ran into a number of bugs:

- Using the whip would sometimes throw me much farther than intended
- The whip didn't disappear after I had let go of the right mouse button, but I was able to get out of that one.
- Music stopped all together
- If I jumped, and my head hit under a platform, I didn't fall back down.
- When hitting a platform hovering right above spikes, the game would sometimes register it as a death.

That last one actually stopped me from playing because I tried about 5 times, and every time I landed on one specific platform, I died. Fortunately, I'm guessing it was pretty far into the level.

Aside from the bugs, the controls felt a bit clunky, and the game could use some overall polish. I did find it entertaining though. The music was a bit loud, but I thought it set the mood well. It's a shame the music didn't repeat. My favorite part was when the rock came rolling after me, it gave me a real sense of urgency and adventure.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:45pm

RIP headphone users.

The main menu made me laugh. You know, punctuation saves lives.

As zatyka already said, I encountered many bugs that were annoying and decreased the fun of the game.
But thank you for so many checkpoints, I really needed them.

psychonull says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Made it to the last chamber. Good job despite of running out of time, I guess that happens to most of us.

slumber says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Good platform game! The sound is intense, but it works for the game. It crashed a few times, and fell through the level a bunch, but it was a lot of fun.

Seriously, the sound is awesome. It is hard to pull of a game of that magnitude in such short a time.

Keep it up!

Larzan says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Nice idea with the 'ghosts', thumbs up. The music was a bit anoying after a while, but the gameplay was captivating, well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]