Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Contraband

by sprawl - Jam Entry

Welcome to Contraband !

You've been tasked to send food to the south by your government. As the situation in the south gets worse, you have the possibility to smuggle illegal goods to help the south residents.

I wanted to have a lot of story in the game, similar to Papers Please!. I managed to do some of it, but not all.
There is still 3 possible endings in the game.


I really like the result I had on this one. Every LD just gets better. Made the music using Figure.


This is my third Ludum Dare entry. This time, I've opted for the jam and got a friend to draw some art for the game.

Enjoy the game and please leave a comment (positive or negative) !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#257Fun(Jam)3.25
#307Humor(Jam)2.58
#345Overall(Jam)3.28
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#443Audio(Jam)2.89
#496Mood(Jam)2.88
#657Theme(Jam)2.30
#683Graphics(Jam)2.50

Comments

mclewis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

Some of the artwork is blurry. Make sure that you have your pixel art imported with the filter mode set to point. Other than that, fun game!

Valon487 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49am

Good game. I could tell you wanted a game like Papers Please, and you did it well without making it too similar

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26am

Nice I like the "idle game" style. Great work!

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09am

I liked it :), it reminded me of some old flash games, had a bunch of fun with it.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Really great concept. I like the ideas behind this a lot.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Simple but very entertaining. I really like this idea, and you've executed it very well. There's not a lot of artwork here, but what exists should have been polished just a little bit more, but it works well enough. All in all, I really enjoyed it, nice work!

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Really good overall. Quite enjoyable, i lost by focusing on profit rather than quota lol

slakhorn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Heisenberg of the early 70's? Sounds great!

JALgames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:18am

Quite a nice game. It's clearly visible that Papers, Please was your main inspiration, but you succeed making it fun and original anyways.

jayhof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:21am

Cool concept, the music is awesome. When I finished an assignment I chose two upgrades (with the checkboxes) there is no way of unchecking a checkbox. Also I could add as many orders as there's items on the list even if I was out of money, the notice "not enought money" worked though.

Still enjoyable overall, thanks for your work!

Tosic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

The game is amazing!!!
Truly amazing, anxious sounds, tasks, story, the style, one of the best on LD#30!

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Pretty good game. There are upgrades and things to unlock that make it stay interesting. The idea is pretty good, and the gameplay is decent. The music is nice, but there are no sound effects. Graphics were a bit blurry at times, but not too terrible.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:15am

I really like this one's concept. Very "Papers, Please!" in a good way!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Hi there. Interesting mundanity simulator... Kept getting stuck on lv2 after making alcohol as requested then if it is (randomly?) confiscated then you can't get money... so can't continue - just sit there waiting for timer. Not sure that's very player friendly. Nice animations and sounds.

sprawl says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:09pm

MrExcessive : Yes. this can unfortunately happen. However, it can only happen if you dont hide the Alcohol with food. That should be better explained, but I lacked time to do so. Thanks for trying it out anyway !

Wesley Ding says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:21am

Sometimes too unforgiving, I had to restart a few times while finding out how to play the game. Doesn't match the theme that well, even though it's pretty fun and slightly innovative. It would be nice if you had a reset button or an option to end early. The audio is nice, but sounds a bit too casual. Overall Rating: 3/5

sprawl says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Wesley Ding : You're totally right about the option to reset ! As for the theme, I don't quite agree with you. Thanks for playing.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Well-made and has the right feeling needed of Papers Please type of game.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Nice work - so happy that Papers, Please is inspiring people to make crazy cool games! I agree with Wesley Ding that the music was good, but didn't quite match the aesthetic of the game. Though, you squeezed a lot in the for the time, hope you polish it up afterwards!

Suvidriel says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:09am

Amazing game! Reminds me a bit of papers please :D

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Lol the Breaking Bad of Ludum Dare

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Great game i was failed while my truck was going and i was 44/45 on food :( Goodjob

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]