Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Orion Trial

by jcsirron - Jam Entry

Journey to the stars in this re imagining of a classic!

To Download:
Click the link and select the download all from the menu.

To Play:
Unzip all the files and run main.exe.

Controls:
Click on the buttons.

It's not quite what we expected to make; Some features didn't make it into the game in time. It was still a blast to participate in this awesome jam. Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Humor(Jam)4.15
#295Mood(Jam)3.25
#344Fun(Jam)3.10
#441Overall(Jam)3.14
#496Theme(Jam)2.90
#568Innovation(Jam)2.71
#612Graphics(Jam)2.80
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

BluMist says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30am

Great game. The random encounters are hilarious.

4KbShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

Very fun to play. A bit of interactive adventure and a lot of comedy. I very much enjoyed the end. XD Excellent work!

frosty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:09am

Cool entry. =) Would have been nice if the decisions had more effect on the outcome, but I found myself sticking with it to the end.

Ramiel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Quite something different.
And some of the encounters were really fun. They had some nice references.

fisholith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:12am

Cool concept, I love the encounters. :)
On one mission I recruited no fewer than 4 LRRRs. They all died.
On my next mission, my ship had been built on top of an ancient space burial ground. One which also seemed to travel with the ship, because wow, was that ship ever haunted. Actually ... now that I think of it ... there were more ghosts on that ship then crew. Oh my various space gods! *WE* WERE THE GHOSTS!

But also we died later.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:53am

Pretty funny, but I would've liked to see some more encounters that give you choices and less encounters that instantly kill you.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Nice entry.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:48pm

ETC (from Creative Sectors):
It's like Orion Trail in Space, it took me a couple of tries to evade the cursed 'randomly encountered random encounter' that kills the space travel at a randomly chosen interval. Anyway I found it funny, but the lack of interaction wasn't countervailed by the jokes.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:28pm

"You have randomly encountered random encounter!"
"-100 CREW!"
That's a pure win(Although, I instantly lost :( )!
Game over screen is great too :)
Space button is a cheat? :D
Top game for Humor :D

teamawesome says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:22pm

"You watched someone die of dysentry - you gained 1 supply". Amazing

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]