Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Back and forth

by suppi - Jam Entry

My unfinished game.

My initial idea was a game about two world which are a mirror image of each other, one goes forward and one goes backward, and about someone who can move between these two worlds and when he manipulates one world, the other is manipulates as well.

Unfortunately I came unprepared to this jam and was only able to implement some one the core mechanics of the game and it became a random game about chickens or something like that.


I used the following tools to create the game:
my guitar

I hope for a better jam next time :)

more ports tomorrow, maybe.

Downloads and Links




NicePenguins says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Too bad it's unfinished, the idea sounds cool :/
I liked the music much, pretty relaxing.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50pm


jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Interesting, I think you had some good ideas there...

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:03pm

this game puts me in a really calm mood :D

MrJavaFrank says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Good start ... I liked especially the music. When you jump on other chicken then the character bugs around a bit.

Skyfish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I couldn't figure out what to do, and got stuck down on the bottom with many chickens. Would have been funny if the game was about chickens pecking order or something.

tschmitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Nice simple platformer. Audio makes everything better.
I reached the end by glitching through a gate.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Seems like an interesting idea but I didn't know what was going on - Probably due to it being unfinished.
I got stuck between some gates at some point and had to stop.
The nice looking things looked nice, and the sound effects were not bad. Not much in terms of game though.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I liked the mood. Maybe you should try finish it after the jam.

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:06pm

A pity you couldn't finish it , it seemed like a good platformer

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Too bad it's unfinished, but I did enjoy the melancholy life of a chicken :)

suppi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Thank you all for your comments! I really appreciate it.

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50pm

+1 for a game about chickens

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:12pm

+1 for music, and I like chickens! too bad for the game though

micahcowan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:45am

The music's fantastic! :)

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:21am

Meh, took too long to get used to it! A randomd chicken game where space mixes directions and controls. And when I got the hang of it, I fell so far down, to get back up would have been long long and I aint up for that cause it wasnt worth it.

However, I know how you feel about not being able to do things you wanted to, I felt the same with my entry, I still wish you good luck in the finals! :3 What finals! :>

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Great relaxing music, good idea!

waynaul says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Soothing music!

kaa says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Very good music. Relaxing game about walking chicken

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Pretty weird, I guess that happened because you couldn't finish it. Good vibes, it could have been a great game. Good effort!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:04pm

The idea sounds really cool but the game seems too random and unfinished as well as the controls being extremely slippery and physics-based instead of under player control.

Hope the idea keeps getting developed though, once I got on a platform and reversed it was really cool to fly up instead of just fall down!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Music is nice, I dig it.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Movement reversal is interesting, and music is top notch as everyone else mentioned. Hope you'll have better luck and more gameplay next time. :)

Frankus says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I really liked the music, made me feel at ease :). I did not quite understand the goal of the game nor I saw the theme in it. Got stuck in the bottom with a bunch of chickens. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]