Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ConnectBot vs Time-Pirates!

by Ixeno - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD, super happy I did it! I was very ambitious with the game, and had to cut
half of it, but I am really proud of what I managed to create! Have a go! (:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Play as ConnectBot to save the World! Top-down action packed game!

- Recommended: 1 player (Keyboard or Xbox Controller)
- Coop 2 players for an easier challenge

Source contain the whole project. Feel free to make your own map, or to modify the game! (:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Innovation3.78
#153Overall3.67
#155Audio3.46
#156Humor3.15
#204Mood3.44
#246Fun3.44
#262Graphics3.59
#436Theme3.41
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00am

This was a kick ass game! Good shit dude! Got stuck at level 3 because I clearly cant control two players at once very well, but it was wicked cool! GJ GJ GJ!

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

Nice job! Controlling two characters at once was a cool mental workout that you don't often get. I liked the plot and overall think this is pretty polished. Congrats.

orukinawa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48am

Awesome game! I like the co-op elements of the gameplay

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49am

Nice job, very interesting controls, though a little hard to remember which is which on the fly :)

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49am

Awesome game! I love how you control both the players, and it's nice that it is explained in French and English! Nice work!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59am

Good job.

Awesome game for two players cooperative mode!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:31am

Feels like a winner here. Great concept wedded to a great presentation. Slight problem here, have a Logitech 3D Extreme which seems to be interfering and making one of the robots walk constantly to the right. Disconnected it, game plays fine. :)

cleitoneldorn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41am

Awesome game. I loved the one-player co-op, remind me of "Brothers: A tale of Two Sons", but with the added innovation of the link.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17pm

That was cool! It would have been more fun with 2 people because I was not mentally coordinated enough haha.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Impressive work!

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48pm

I enjoyed this game! My left and right hand were confused. Music is also nice.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17am

would you mind making a linux build?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35am

Mind blowing game! Serious challenge for your brain! Great job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Good mecanics, good challenge. The third (or 4th) level is hard i can't finish it i have to try again. Very good job for your first LD!

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Good idea, graphically makes me remember a shmup from the late 90's, can't find its name.

Simon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

Very nice entry! And it's your first LD! Well done.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:33am

Really difficult to play the game by myself, but definitely could see this being an interesting 2 player game. Wish each player had its own hp bars though.

Ixeno says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:15am

Good idea Rage! thanks for the feedback! (:

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]