Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

PitBall

by dcampos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a lonely ball, living in a solitary pit world. Once you were happy, but now you want to search for a better world, in which you will be "connected" to lots of friends. To get there, it's necessary to take a journey through hostile worlds, full of perils. The worlds are connected to each other, so that if you take the wrong way you may have to go back to the previous world.

Controls: use the LEFT and RIGHT arrow keys to control the ball. The UP arrow increases the jumping speed to maximum. Press P to pause/resume.

Coded in Java, powered by the awesome LibGDX library. Graphics made with Inkscape.

Thanks for playing!

BUGS: sometimes, you may get stuck on the corner of a block, specially in the beginning of the second world. I have provided a fixed version, in case this is too annoying for you to continue playing the original game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#641Humor2.20
#863Audio2.06
#971Graphics2.42
#996Mood2.39
#1023Overall2.68
#1042Fun2.42
#1112Innovation2.21
#1151Theme1.97

Comments

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

Rather nice graphics, but it's too difficult to control the ball. I also found a bug : I was once stuck on the corner of a block and had to restart the game...

dcampos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Yes, that bug is quite annoying. The physics engine I made in some 3 to 4 hours isn't very mature, I should learn something like Box2D for the next entry. Anyway, thanks for reporting it and commenting about the graphics!

ponywolf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

I was very happy to reach the top after going the wrong way. Has Bubble Bobble-style puzzle potential. Great work!

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

Not bad! As Quetzakol said, an improvement on the ball movement would have made it seem more polished. You wouldn't need anything as complex as box2d or other physics engine, just something which doesn't jerk you when you hit a key but smoothly moves you, increasing the velocity to the full speed instead of starting out full speed. Good work though!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

Nice little game. Took me awhile to figure out I could press up to jump higher >.< After that I got the hang of it and finished it fairly easily.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:01am

I liked how challenging it was! good luck to you :)

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:26am

Great graphics and innovation. Good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:33am

The levels are cool, but the controls and physics are a bit frustrating. By the way, I've released a Linux version of my game.

dcampos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Thanks for your comments, people! It seems the controls are the main thing to improve in this game, really.

@Dietrich Epp: Thanks for providing it! I'm going to try it as soon as possible.

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:48am

There's potential for this to be something really cool! As is, though, obviously it could have used a few more levels & varied challenges, and it's a shame its "connected world" mechanic didn't really get utilized. But I would love to see what more you could do with this idea, as it can definitely lead to some delicious world-navigation puzzles.

As for the rest of the game: the graphics get the job done, and the little ball guy is so cute! The bouncing sound is appropriate, but gets too loud if you bounce a lot. Controls are a bit wonky; the height gained by pressing "up" feels almost like a double-jump, but not quite, so it's a bit jarring at first. The left/right movement is also a bit weird since you keep moving after letting go of a key, but pressing either key puts you at max speed in that direction right away. If you accelerated to a max speed instead I think it would have felt more consistent & appropriate for the kind of platforming involved in the game.

micahcowan says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:13am

Solid offering. Everything seems to work the way it should. Took me a bit to realize I could "double-jump" with the up arrow. Nice entry!

Not sure it really has much to do with the theme, though... at least, any more than Super Mario does.

dcampos says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:36am

@mrjonhson: Thanks for your comments!

@micahcowan: Thanks! The relation with the theme is not outright obvious, you're right, but the way you can go back and forth between the levels just by jumping through the edges of the screen is something unusual for platform games, I think. Also, the ball is "connected" to its friends in the final level/world.

Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:27pm

It played quite well and it was fun for a while.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:47pm

This was pretty fun. I enjoyed the controls, although it took me a while to figure out how to jump higher. I think horizontal movement was too quick though. Good job!

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:37am

I didn't realize you could press UP when you're ascending your jump to get a boost in the air. While that helped me continue on, it's rather awkward to use.
I wish I wasn't so bouncy when touching the walls; that bothers me. :( There's great potential in this game as long as you address the issues mentioned here. Nice work overall!

popcorn897 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:17am

Honestly, it was kind of frustrating. I couldn't get past the second world and I played for like 20 minutes.
The controls were a bit off, for example: Double jumping only works sometimes? Or it works when you're next to something, but not moving horizontally? And the janky physics caused me to hit the water about 15 times (Thats no fun).
Overall I see a hell of a lot of potential here. At the moment however, I disliked it ):

dcampos says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Thank you all for the comments! It's always good to receive some sensible feedback.

@popcorn897: I'm sorry. Double jumping should work always, but it works only once after you touch the ground, and only if the ball isn't falling. I agree with you with respect to hitting the water happening when it shouldn't.

marvalgames says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Pretty basic and control of course a bit goofy - plus theme connection strange??? but still fun slick and pretty polished.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]