Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WorldGate WG-1

by runvs - Jam Entry

WorldGate WG-1

A Ludum Dare 30 Jam Game ("Connected Worlds"). Created in August 2014 by runvs.

WorldGate WG-1 is a tactical strategy game. You lead and train a team of up to three soldiers, scientists or defenders. The team discovers new worlds, alien animals and strange artifacts. Between missions you can train your soldiers with the money you earned, while still taking care of fixed costs.

We offer a two song soundtrack and 5 levels of different gameplay.

The game is played with mouse and is available for Linux, Windows, Mac and Web. For Web you will need the Unity webplayer (get it here http://unity3d.com/webplayer). Since WorldGate WG-1 was created with Unity 4.6 Beta, problems may occur with the Web version. Sorry for the inconvenience, please consider trying the download version.

We use the Mockup font which is released under SIL Open Font License, Version 1.1.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#399Audio(Jam)3.02
#434Humor(Jam)2.31
#533Fun(Jam)2.78
#544Mood(Jam)2.80
#569Graphics(Jam)2.91
#576Overall(Jam)2.93
#624Theme(Jam)2.47
#652Innovation(Jam)2.45

Comments

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49am

interesting but right clik dodnt work for me

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13am

Hi egos,
Thank you for playing WorldGate WG-1!

Did you try the web version? It can be that you browser wants to do some context menu stuff. This is a simple Checkbox in Unity (which I simply forgot). A bugfixed version is now available (which should be ok with the rules I hope).

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19pm

You should have be done a path finding system and not just a "go there in a line" because the walls often blocks your troops

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Quite a lot going on here for an LD game ;) Some proper pathfinding to stop my troops getting stuck on every wall would be nice. Had some issues with GUI not closing in web build, but oh well, you did warn me xD

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Hi there, thank you for playing and rating!

The missing pathfinding is a great drawback of WorldGate. As for LD29 we messed with an external C# Library which was ... well ok when you don't mind glitches. I would have expected Unity to come with an builtin pathfinding and guess what, they do. But only for 3D.
Due to time constraints we were not able to implement a proper pathfinding.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I liked where this was going! I couldn't get past the first level, though - I couldn't figure out how to close the debriefing screen. The X didn't work, and clicking the bottom-left corner seemed to do it but it would just come back up immediately.

Keyboard selection of units would have been very handy - much quicker than trying to click on them.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52pm

I finished the first level but when I tried to start new mission, it aid mission finished /or failed instantly. Not sure how to continue playing. (Web + Chrome)

Based on the first level it was pretty fun except the guys keep on shooting at enemies across the wall. But yea it was a solid entry nonetheless. The graphics and music are nice too!

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Currently only a decent game, but with some polishing this might become something interesting.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Controls with mouse are not really intuitive at first but I got the hang of it. It's pretty cool. Is there any level 2? I tried to click the close button on debriefing screen but it won't work.

KayZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Played on Web and on Windows. Could only close the debriefing screen on my third try. After waiting a while I suddenly was able to click the close button. But then died instantly on the next mission :(. Thought I selected 6 guys for the mission, but apparently it was zero. Couldn't get beyond the debriefing screen afterwards (the close button doesn't get highlighted when moving over it with the cursor)...

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Hi, thank you very much for your feedback! This was not the Unity4.6 Beta but some bug in our GUI. There was an overlaying panel, which prohibited clicks on the button. This is fixed by now.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:15pm

I played the Web version and after it said let's explore this old temple, the game froze and no matter what I clicked on, nothing happened...I'll check back later tho :)

Aglavra says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:55am

I liked the music and the mood of the game... After I finished first mission, I cannot start the second, because debriefing screen with "you didn't succeeded with finishing this mission" appeared right after start.

runvs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:14am

Hm, did your team finish the sarcophagus or did they got killed? This Message should only be shown iff all your three team members got killed, which will instantly set you to the headquarters and the debriefing.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:08am

Very elaborate, and lots of content. I'm impressed.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:58am

Cool game, i really like it! :)

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Walloping start, definitely got my mind going. Love the fact that my little soldier wizards could defend themselves without my help! Not so fond of the fact that they shot at enemies through solid walls... d'oh! Ultimately, I wasn't able to start mission two without the game ending immediately, so I had to quit. But the game concept is strong. Looking forward to a more polished release.

Ofursnati says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:58am

Good job. Played the web version and everything worked well.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:00am

like mentioned. path finding would have been nice. interessting game.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Nice entry! I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Ix-68aPFWAc

torvik88 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Nice work on this game. Loved that you went on to more of a tactical rts. People here say about pathfinding and that...who got time for that! :P Loved the game especially the fuck you tutorial button.

kyru says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice idea, controls felt a little funny in places.

kristof says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Hey there, nice entry! I have only one thing to mention, which annoyed me: At the end of the first level, the Tutorial told me to select the scientist to do something to the altar... But I couldn't figure out a difference between my three units. Appart from that: Congratulations that you managed to do a more complex entry AND include a tutorial! I've played many interesting titles without one - you try for a moment, don't get it and quit.

MaesK says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Nice work, it's not usual to see games in Ludum Dare with RTS controls. Sounds is good, but graphics might need some improvements.

One of the troops got angry with a wall, but I forced it to take the real path to the monster. Its not perfect, but playable :D

runvs says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:05am

Thank you for the feedback. Time was clearly one of our major problems, since we planned way to much to finish. Different Graphics for the soldiers, as well as a tutorial for the headquarters map, pathfinding and so on. We hope it is fun anyway. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]