Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Abstrakt

by ViliX - 48 Hour Compo Entry

* This is sort of experimental game, it's not focused on the gameplay as much as on the meaning.

* Please do not rate this game unless you finish it. This game is pointless without reaching the end. Also please read the instructions, if something seems to be unclear. Thanks for understanding.
* This game requires latest Java.
* Fullscreen/resolutions option is located in settings.
* In every second round, you will be spawning the black minions. They will be spawned on the map border. I mention it here, because that's where most people are lost.
* If the game doesn't work, please try the second version (can be found on the link provided).

* Instructions *
Minions are sent automatically every 4 seconds.
You can set their direction by pressing arrow keys.
You can move camera by WSAD keys and zoom by Q and E.
Mute music by M and sound by N.
Press ESC to go back to menu. Pressing ESC while in menu exits the game.
Press P to pause.

In round one, you are spawning minions at the cactus and you are DEFENDING it. You will be spawning white minions.
In the second round, you are spawning minions AT THE BORDERS and you want to DESTROY the cactus. YOU WILL BE SPAWNING THE BLACK MINIONS (that's where most people are lost).
If choosen spawn spot is blocked by another being, the minion will spawn at the oposite side.

* Story *
One day, you were traveling to your cactus home, but something terrible has happened. Someone casted diarrhoeaccus spell on you. It means, that you've caught schizephrenia. Your WORLD has divided into two parts, but they remain CONNECTED. You just don't know it yet.
Through the day, you are fighting off nasty goblins from POTATO SALAD kingdom, but during the night, you are a powerful warlord who wants to destroy the Cactus kingdom.
Just another abstract day in Abstrakt Land..

* Technical info *
This game is written in Java and uses LibGDX and Box2D. Setting the resolution should work for all targeted platforms. Release for Android was also planned, but the game got a different direction from that point.

* Sorry if the abstract (LSD/acid) graphics hurts your eyes, but it fits to the main point.
* If I'd put the number of times I've played/tested this game into an integer, I'd get a stack overflow. I've removed every bug I've found, but that doesn't mean that there aren't any. This means, that I am not aware of any bugs, but I am able to respond to your comments and fix them as soon as possible. So, if you see a bug, let me know.
* If you understand the point of this game, I'll be so happy that I'll tweet about you on Twitter. ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#331Mood3.26
#374Innovation3.40
#374Humor2.64
#430Theme3.42
#596Overall3.17
#653Audio2.54
#819Graphics2.69
#918Fun2.62

Comments

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

The arrows won't work sometimes.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58am

Could you specify when exactly? They should be working only in the actuall game to set the direction and in the story text to go back & forth.

seurimas says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:59am

Ending was indeed enlightening on the theme of the game. Nice.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:59am

Great job on your game everything worked great and the idea of fighting yourself was very unique.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:59am

This is a really cool entry. It makes me happy. Its quite unique.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

@seurimas @belowzerogames @cobracommander thank you guys, I'll check your games ASAP :)

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02am

Cool idea, the game worked for me just fine. As a suggestion, a bit of polish would have been nice because the high contrast was a little hard on the eyes. But still, it's a fun entry. Great job!

remmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

the whole idea and the text were really nice, i enjoyed playing this one :)
but i have to say that - eventhough it was the concept behind it - playing against yourself isn't that much fun ^^
at one point i just did nothing and waited until one dies…

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10am

@sharpcoder Thanks man :)
@remmy Some people don't figure out that they are playing against themselves. If you've noticed that before the final text, you are a mindful gamer.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14am

Very hard on the eyes! But the "twist" at the end caught me by surprised, and I realized I didn't even notice what was going on. Very clever!

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51am

Very good! I figured out what was going on almost 3/4ths of the way in - that was a great idea that fit very well with the theme.

I'm not the biggest fan of the psychodelic mood, and the game could be a little bit faster, but I really liked what you tried to pull here overall.

Thanks for the game!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01am

@C_Walden Thanks. I'll check out your game.
@caranha I was in a strange mood when thinking about the idea. But thanks for informing me about what should be improved :)

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

Seriously cool use of the theme, and very engaging art style. The game is a little bit slow - less waiting would be good.

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18am

Great looking game. Cool art style. Good job!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22am

Wow, that was an interesting game! :D

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23am

@Zigfi Thanks for the tip. I might do a bit more polished post-compo version.
@CryoGenesis @ENDESGA Thanks guys. I'll check your games soon.

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18am

Love the art, so unique! Yeah its been said before that the gameplay was a little slow but otherwise it was interesting! Well Done!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44am

Not bad. The twist was evident pretty early, but it was fun trying to get both the cactus and the potato to 0% at the same time.
Also, the audio didn't work for me. Not sure why.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50am

@MrTedders Thanks :)
@kirbytails7 Are you sure you haven't accidentaly pressed M/N? Or that you just muted it somewhere? There hasn't been any audio issues reported so far, but thanks for informing me.

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58am

I like the funky aesthetics of it, the ending was interesting, glad I played it!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24am

Really nice game.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50am

Very innovative!

64Mega says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:18am

I really wasn't expecting such a good meaning behind the game at first, going in. But I started to suspect it once I noticed the minion patterns!
Love it!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:24am

@Ryan Melmoth @Tanner @ChuiGum @64Mega Thank you guys, your comments are very uplifting :)

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47am

Nice idea and cool ending! I realized what was going on quite early on which made it feel pointless to resist.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51am

@jsmars some people realize after the first minute and others after the game ends. But thanks :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11am

Love your art style

uprightpath says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:15am

Tried out your game. The visuals were too strong for me when I started (of course the whopping headache doesn't help right now).


You mentioned Box2D with respect to mine? Nope. Hand written physics engine. I don't even think I included Box2D in the project.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19am

@Techblogogy Thanks, I'll check your game soon.
@uprightpath I though it was Box2D. Sorry for my mistake :/

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51am

Great story indeed.

Easimer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56am

Great game!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

Not sure if the eye piercing colors were really necessary for the menus, but the game has a cool twist worth playing it to the end.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

@Easimer @AdventureIslands Your games were rated.

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:24pm

The game idea is quite unique, I really liked it, if I would improve something it would be the graphics, but anyways it's good its own style. I like that.

x1212 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Interesting interpretation of the theme, and the graphics and sound work together nicely.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

@midgard @x1212 Thanks guys, I'll take a look at your games shortly.

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I love the music, it fills the defects in design. It's a relaxing game, good job !

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Unique, certainly abstract. The "attacking" mechanic did confuse me at first, but I just had to read the instructions again. Nice work.

Cruion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Excellent Game! Excellent Message!

sam1373 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Great message. Also loved the artstyle.
I started thinking that they're the same patterns, but then I though that I saw a deviation. Are they really exactly the same?

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14pm

@S0rax @sftrabbit @Cruion Thank you guys.
@sam1373 Yes, they are, only if the line is full, the minions will spawn in the opposite line.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32pm

love the fact that you are playing against yourself

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Intrsting tower defence mechannics, please recheck my game I have fixed some bugs!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57pm

@modbox It's not a tower defense. Will do.

igoramendola says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Wow! Amazing end and the music fits very well with the game idea. Also, I liked the story. I used to write stories like this a few years ago. That makes me think that I should write once again. Good work! ;)

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27pm

@igoramendola Inform me when you make one :)

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Interesting game. Very unique, liked the feel of it.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12pm

It's always cool to play these unique games, I didn't even notice I was playing against myself. Good job!

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Unique graphic, looks interesting

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Really nice theme interpretation ! I win against myself o/

Aomeas says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28pm

The end of the game makes it a good game, but the game mechanic didn't inspire me quite a lot. That's some particular art you've got there :3

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32pm

@Anshzinc @Linux123xbb @Tomker @Goutye Thanks :)
@Aomeas I've focused on the meaning more than I should. I should have devoted some of my time to the game mechanics. Thanks for the creative criticism, though :)

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Unfortunately couldn't get it to run on OS X. Console says this: 8/25/14 12:45:48.570 PM gkbisd[142]: Unable to collect cdhash for /System/Library/CoreServices/Jar Launcher.app (error code 100024)

I'm guessing it's an issue on my end, but I hope that helps!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57pm

@kadybat As discussed on Twitter, some Apple variations of Java might not work (don't ask me why). Sorry about that.

arhpositive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Simple game with a good twist that fits really well for the theme. Thank you for your efforts. Keep up the good work. :)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16pm

this is kinda fun actually :)

leondryaso says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Cool entry, interesting art!
(byl jsi to ty na tom polarkacově streamu, že jo? :-) )

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02am

Wow! You really got me on that one. Very good use of the theme.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32am

Cool concept, nice interpretation of the theme, but it moves so slow. With no real changes in gameplay over time, it just feels like the game is dragging on. That may have been intentional based on the story, but it wasn't enjoyable.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44am

The main menu/tutorials blinded me a bit. Was really hard to read the light blue text on the white background. Interesting concept, the twist at the end was pretty cool.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:13am

Love the idea, but text almost unreadable.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07am

Very nice story :DDD the ending suprised me, I didn't even realised that

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:58am

@arhpositive @capsizedmoose @leondryaso @Noah Ratcliff @MyougaHiroshi Thank you guys :)
@Empyrelhell @Rage Paint @Nuclear Napalm I know about these flaws, but now it's too late to change them :/

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10am

VERY experimental and trippin'. I understood and appreciated your idea, the gameplay is a bit slow tho.

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Nice concept. I realized that something was strange after a few rounds and the ending was as i suspected :).
The game is a bit slow though, but overall, I liked your game. Good job

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:11pm

@(Not) Ivano Thanks. I liked your game.
@Kyoutashan Thanks much :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

That was a surprising ending :) The colors made my eyes bleed a little though :P

Halfbus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Graphics looks strange, but I like it.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Nice social message but gameplay and graphics are not that nice, I'm sorry. Making play fight himself is quite a good concept though.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Nice social message but gameplay and graphics are not that nice, I'm sorry. Making player fight himself is quite a good concept though.

uprightpath says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

@ViliX No worries! I wasn't surprised. Vector styled platformers aren't really most people's cups of tea and Box2D can make it easier. I just never really got into using it. :3

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Pretty nice concept, a good metaphor of the mental disease.I'm not fan of the graphics, but maybe it would be possible to use real-life element in picture to return to this idea of shizophrena.
The end is interesting but it could be also strong to bring the insight to the player during the game and even make him play serioulsy against himself, but it will required more thinking and also a great gamedesign.

I follow your instruction and i was not dissappointed.

More artistic than a game, but that's great.

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:00pm

@commoderKid Thanks :)
@OFF Thanks, I was in a weird state when I came up with this idea.

kadybat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:58am

I really like that the message here can apply to a lot of different people. It's a game about mental illness, and it speaks to a lot of different illnesses in a way that relates to the theme and is interesting to play. I too would have toned down the colors but I like it a lot.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:17am

A simple well thought out mechanic, and nicely executed. Every round made me contemplate what I SHOULD be doing. Make it easy? Make it hard? I didn't know.

ViliX says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:35am

@kadybat @AFlatMinerStudio Thanks, your comments are very uplifting :)

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:48am

I was just about to ask in the comments "why sometimes my guys weren't created where I wanted?" and boom, after I destroyed Kingdom of Potatoes it's explained.
"Sorry if the abstract (LSD/acid) graphics hurts your eyes, but it fits to the main point." Check out my game ^^.

ViliX says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:42am

@fcpfoof Thanks. I've played your game already (you've got lots of stars, don't worry :))

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:04am

Very solid game. Both idea and gameplay are really original and interesting. I wish only graphics wouldn't be that acid :3

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Good story, well made and original. Gameplay felt somehow limited, but finishing the game was rewarding.
Nice work!

ViliX says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:48pm

@43iscoding As I said before, I was in a strange mood :/
@thecolorhacker Thanks, pal! :)

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Hey this game is really cool! The art and sound fit really well into the theme of the game. It was pretty fun to play too! I did encounter a problem that I feel kinda hurt my ability to really experience everything the game had to offer. The resolution options didn't work at all so the thing was too big for my screen. I couldn't see any of the text (just small pieces of the corners of it). Still a very cool concept. Also if you get this fixed, then I'll definitely play through the game again and see hat it says.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Ok I just saw the play-through on your channel to see the full text and WOW! That's not what I was expecting! Brilliant entry... time raise the ratings! :D

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Well... that was weird.....

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:57pm

You know, I didn't think it would be fun. But it was. Graphics makes my eyes bleed, but I laughed at this colors like a mad man, which is plus to Humot on my scale. Idea is cool, theme connected and solid. Interesting work, one to remember

mechabit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

woo trippy

ninjascript says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:47am

Multi-single-player. It's good!

ViliX says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:45am

@CRAZEERUSKEE I hope, that our conversation bellow the the playthrough is enough :D
@Xgor I was in a strange mood.
@Shide Thanks :) I've tried your game.
@mechabit @ninjascript Thanks :)

Meta-link says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:11pm

I really liked your game !
Obviously the end is awesome !
The graphics and the music are cool, the gameplay is maybe a little bit slow but it's ok. I didn't understand how the attack round works before reading.

Nice concept, nice game ;)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:41am

Interesting game :P I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/NXgeb3Jk3nI

MonoS says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:48pm

I hope someone once in a while call you asshole, because you are XD.

Joking apart, very interesting game, and the end destroyed me

tchem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:33am

Awesome!!!!!!,,,,, strange, unique and interesting proposes..... great game!!!

Retr0spectrum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:26pm

The audio didn't work for me on Linux, the gameplay was a bit boring, and I found the graphics a bit painful to look at, but overall I thought that the theme and the message were excellent!

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:27am

Nice work on this game, hard to read the text sometimes.

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:01am

Wow! The combination of color is really awesome! I dont know why but it's hypnotic

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:32am

Ohh this was weird.
But wait that's the name of the game!

ViliX says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:44pm

@Like all of you! Thank you much for your feedback!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:51am

Very original idea. The only complaint is the colors are a bit hard on the eyes...

ruerob says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:43pm

I like your entry. Very good at theme and mood. Thank you for this game.

Sestren says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:18am

Really nice entry. Although I must admit I didn't notice that my own moves were being used against me later until I was explicitly told.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:40pm

I don't like when games or movies, etc. end with an explanation that closes interpretation. You could write your intentios when you made the game but having everything explained like that just spoils the game and makes it a lot less mysterious.
Everything else was a very nice experience.

ViliX says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:10am

As I said, I was in a strange mood while making this game. Anyway, I'll check out your games :)

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Good concept

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]