Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

R.E.P.O.C.O.S.M.O.S.

by Robber - Jam Entry

R.E.P.O.C.O.S.M.O.S.
'taking back the galaxy'

a planetairy platform game


code & graphics & soundfx: Rob Bothof
music: Anna Mikhailova & Rob Bothof

hope you enjoy this little one level galaxy take-back
and thank you for playing, comments / critiques are very welcome

CONTROLS: WASD + K + L or arrowkeys + Z + X

backstory:

In the post-government corporation dominated future of 2215,
space mining is the next big thing.

"Welcome back Commander Johnson!" shouts a vague familiar
voice out of the speakerbox of your deployment pod. "We hope
you had a pleasant hypersleep. We're sending you back to the
Epsilon System, as part of your corporate punishment, stated
in case file #e3278273."

"The Epsilon System has been taken over by rebel forces of
the Green Universe United Group, a useless attempt to stop
our production of neodymium in this area. Nevertheless they
have tampered with our defence systems and even let a couple
of rogue robots loose on some of the small planets in this
microgalaxy. Right now we can't even connect directly with
this world via any space-time bending principles!"

"Your Mission is to destroy all rogue forces and secure the
wormhole initiation tower so we can resume our mining
activities in this sector."

"Good Luck Commander.."

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#87Innovation(Jam)3.68
#181Audio(Jam)3.48
#195Mood(Jam)3.46
#217Overall(Jam)3.44
#230Fun(Jam)3.30
#324Humor(Jam)2.53
#341Graphics(Jam)3.48
#358Theme(Jam)3.21

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

Really good! I liked the walking sound effects, and the movements was really fun, good work!

Chris_E says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38am

I enjoyed the way you gain velocity going around the planet, but it was difficult to control.

voxel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09am

This was right up my alley. Lots of fun, short and succinct, cool gravity fun. Thought I was stuck in Lagrange a couple of times but I slowly fell back down the well. Love it

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Nice gameplay, the jumping can feel a little delayed and clunky. Nice atmosphere too.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Very original idea! Artwork and gameplay are both outstanding. A little hard to hit the enemies with the laser, but whatever, I like a good challenge. Also when I landed upside down on a planet, I kept walking around upside down until I used the jetpack to flip back. Just nitpicking tho ;)

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28pm

running and jumping between planets felt alien and
great. I culdn't kill anny evil eyes though.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I loved the running and jumping, moving around was just so much fun. The aliens seemed a bit hard though, the only way I could beat them was to hide right on the edge of a planet and snipe from outside their range.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Although I feel like the combat could have been improved, this was a really good entry. Really thought the planet walking and jumping felt good, and enjoyed the art. Well done. :)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

wasn't able to kill any eyes but the jumping between planets was pretty cool :)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20pm

This was fun!

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Love what you did with the gameplay and mood Most certianly worth investing some more time in this to release a full version :)

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Great and good game !
I had some trouble finding controls, but then really liked the space floating sensation

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:47am

Amazing stuff! For the time being it's the best game I play on LD30. Great work!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:50am

Great feeling of motion on this game with the gravity. easy to control, however i didn't know the key for using the laser and jetpack at first

Great work

Robber says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

thanx for all the wonderfull comments, i hope to make time in the coming to weeks to finetune the combat-system en complete the level with some rogue robots, working blackhole initition tower etc, thanx for playing

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Movement and sound were really nice, however I could really figure out what to do with the laser and what exactly I had to do. Still quite nice and the movement has potential.

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Fun gravity game, i did find the controls a little awkward though, other than that, nice job.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:38pm

The movement controls are really cool, gaining momentum and jumping to another little planetoid, I even managed to reach the smaller planet beyond the last giant one with some frantic thrust maneuvering.

Aiming on the other hand could really do with a makeover. I strongly suggest mouse control here. I killed several enemies by just standing off the edge of a planet and shooting over it, moving until the laser lined up. Standing nearby and aiming was kinda useless and got me killed quickly.

For some though, I ran until I gained enough velocity to jump straight up, so I was shooting at the enemy straight ahead, and that worked well and was a fun "discovery" of how to use the mechanics to my advantage.

The sounds are pretty good, but I feel the graphics are a little dull. The minimap and hud are nice, but there's something about the 3d models.. I don't know.

Overall though, this is a great entry and definitely worth expanding on.

I imagine more enemy variety, maybe new weapons (missiles affected by gravity too, perhaps?) and even some kind of jumping puzzles/challenges that take advantage of the planet physics you have going on.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:42am

Like the ambiance of the game and graphics. Good concept but a bit hard though. Good job overall.

harko12 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:34am

Great work. The controls are a little odd, but it's very well done

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:11am

Sweet! I'm a sucker for anything involving planets and gravity, so you've got my vote :) I loved the whole 'build up velocity by running round the planet' thing. Nice work dude!

the says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:14am

O no, another game that looks like my own.

goffmog says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Great presentation and gameplay but I thought the controls slightly let down the amount of fun available. Overall a top entry though! Happy you posted a port-mortem or I wouldn't have found it.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Cool mechanics, enemies are really hard to kill though.

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:52pm

That was fun!

Would have wanted to see enemies... or at least have better view/knowledge where exactly they are and how much I gotta shoot em.

I think mouse aiming would have been perhaps good to have? Throttle system was bit tricky.

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Very cool graphics and idea, but a little glitchy. When on a planet and run into a asteroid that is close to planet, I get stuck running and can't move. Also, jumped off into space and ended up trapped floating in space - no gravity pulled me back. Otherwise, the game felt and played really cool.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]