Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Odyssey

by voidqk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Live-blog: https://smashware.com/articles/2014/08/22/ludum-dare-30-live-blog

Journey your crew across habitable planets to reach your final destination!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#13Fun4.11
#24Theme4.16
#36Overall4.00
#60Innovation4.00
#200Mood3.45
#269Audio3.22
#337Humor2.71
#484Graphics3.19

Comments

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I love what you did with the hook mechanic! Very neat game.

Fernando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I enjoyed this game a lot! Very fun to play! Congrats!

miotatsu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59pm

This is a really fun little game. My only complaint is that it needlessly assumes a qwerty keyboard layout.

JPatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Good game :) Good use of the theme and it is really fun.

technocf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51pm

What an awesome game, keep up the good work! I really like the way that you go from planet to planet.

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55pm

+This gameplay mechanics are fun.
+Hilarious sound effects.

-Sfx are too load, Musics volume are too low.


Overall: I like it!

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Wauw what a super cool game man! I really had a good time playing it :)

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56pm

The ship control is a very cool mechanic. Quite a fun game, well done!

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12pm

That is a really fun game.

I really liked the hook part and I liked the ways you introduced new mechanics to the hook mechanic. Really cool game.

The music was nice. If a bit monotonous after a while (but I guess that is a limitation of time). I liked the idea.

Good work! :D

voidqk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:39am

thanks for the feedback, everyone :-)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:06am

Good idea, nice iteration on the mecanics. Some levels are too frustrating though.

juakob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:29am

Greate game! I really like it, I think it would be better if you remove the mouse part and just leave the space bar to reach other places

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:08am

Enjoyed the game's simple mechanic and how you scaled the difficulty!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:12am

Awesome game! Really fun!

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:14am

I love it! So innovative and really fun and addicting. Nice graphics presentation. The gameplay hook mechanic is what really stands out and makes your game one of a kind. I think you should take this further and make it into a full game. Really awesome game dude! Now this is a connected Worlds themed game. This game deserves to be noticed :) Good luck!

crneumre says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:22am

Very fun game,the mechanic felt good and overall the game feels great.
Great job i enjoyed it.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Awesome little game. The controls are abit weird with the keyboard and mouse, but I liked this little timing/puzzle game. Good Job!

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:13am

Love the mechanics and the feel of the graphics. I really liked this game.

jpcote says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Great game, nice twist on planet landing game ! lost of different hazard and worlds. Really great game !

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Really solid mechanics and surprisingly fun for how simple they are, I felt being able to cancel a jump and return to the surface would have helped pick the pace up a bit but other than that no complaints, great work!

voidqk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:45pm

@Almax27 - you can cancel a jump by hitting space while in the air :-)

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:38am

Awesome game, good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:55am

I made it, but at what cost? Innovative, and the camera works surprisingly well!

cobrajs says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:41am

Excellent game! Great variation in levels and introduction of level mechanics. Nice job!

pansapiens says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:20am

Cool mechanic - and just as I thought you'd milked it .. a new thing ! Great work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]