Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Stitcher

by christopf - Jam Entry

update 15.9__

playable :)

so finally i finished a playable version that hasn't been tested more than twice. But i hope it is running smoothly on your system.

I highly recommend using a standalone flashplayer otherwise the fullscreen won't work (sadly :/ )

This is my first game and i heavily underestimated the short time you have on a gamejam. i participated once in a jam as painter but that was an easy job since i'm a little more used to it. but this time i tried myself in programming and i hardly finished a sometimes workable mechanic right to the jam finishing time. but it was just a mechanic and so it wasn't a real game yet.

i then tried to finish it to the end of the voting period so people who already saw my entry and wished to play have the chance too. but it was a stressful time since i have obviously no working time managment. today i smashed everything together so it kind of works (i would say its playable) but in my head there are a thousand things to do if this should be more enjoyable. but i guess you can say that about nearly every game.

and i have no clue in how far this is interesting and if i should keep working on it. so if you play it maybe you could give me some critic. would make me glad.

so thanks a lot for all this reading and i hope you can enjoy this game.


controls is wasd or arrows, the rest is told ingame.
F2 for fullscreen, F3 for mute (actually gamemusic i will add next days)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1767Coolness32%

Comments

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Too bad I really would've liked to try it out.

christopf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:32pm

i'm working on a post-compo version, maybe you'll get later the chance :))

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

when do we get to play it? :)

01F0 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I want to try it too! :)

christopf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Oh guys! I will try to speed up but give me some time (its my first game)

schizokoa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Each and every time I click on this game while browsing the Play+Rate page, the deception is here. Good luck, since you are not time pressured anymore, take some time to polish it!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Just get it out in whatever state it is. Trust me, it will feel better.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:32am

I wish I could play it...

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:49pm

good luck in finishing :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Why submit it if it's not finished? Isn't the point of LD to submit it regardless of it's state? Just wonderin, from that picture the game does look neat.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Good luck. When available I will play =]

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Lucky and fun!! I hope can play it soon.

christopf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:34am

@MunkeeBacon you definitly right. but i pushed the game as far as i could to 3am in the morning (was ddeadline here) and then thought i upload what i got. but it wasnt really game until then and i dont think anyone would have enjoyable time. but you cant delete your entry (or i couldnt figure out)

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:31am

Too shame :( The picture art looks great.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:40am

Picture and name look good!

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I'm pretty sure you can not do this. The whole point of the compo/jam is to have a time limit to create a game. You have already went through your 72 hours + 1 week extra. Participating in this competition with 1 week extra makes the competition unfair for the rest of us. Anyways, I wish you good luck on your next ludum dare so you can actually finish in time.

christopf says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:51am

:D
that's fore sure hamster. i did not imagine to participate anymore as i removed the file off this site.
but i read on past LDs that people drop a post-competition version when they took some time after the jam to make their game better (or in my part playable). nevermind i wont think anybody will vote based on an image, a title and a lot of comments :P

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:50pm

17 people already voted while the game is not even playable...

Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Presumably it's mostly comments, not actual ratings :]

Anyway, I concur! The pic looks cool and I'm really curious to see what the gameplay will be like.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:57am

It took me like three tries to get a game for Ludum Dare, you don't need to submit something if you don't have anything. Just try again next time.

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Also you shouldn't really be voting on other games without anything submitted yourself.

Buttsteam says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Honestly, why post if you don't even have anything?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]