Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Between Worlds

by Ekilibr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play a young witch trying to save the earth from the hellish kingdom of the one they name "Darkness".
The girl has the power to travel between earth and hell, and seems to be the only one who can save the world.
The player will have to be very careful, as Darkness' Kingdom is far more dangerous than earth.

Use your powers with parcimony, travelling from one world to another, and try to defeat evilness to save humanity.


PS : You can access to the controls at any moment in the game by holding CTRL.
Also, there is a PDF file in which you will find all the details about the game.
Hope you will enjoy the game !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#78Graphics4.08
#197Audio3.36
#233Theme3.69
#257Mood3.35
#402Overall3.35
#641Humor2.20
#668Fun2.91
#810Innovation2.82

Comments

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

Great game! Definitely had to read the pdf to figure out that Jump was shift ;) Overall liked that I had to switch worlds in order to complete the levels. The powerups to spreadshot were pretty cool!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Graphics is nice, good use of the theme.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:03pm

The web link goes to the rar file as well..

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Really great art!

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Short but sweet :)
Loved the visuals and music.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05pm

My antivirus deleted the exe... You should scan your PC, and recompile after + the web link is the same as the windows one

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05pm

thanks a lot ! :)

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11pm

The pixel art is fantastic, and I liek the music as well. I didn't like the controls much, feels a bit rough to use b and v and then reach for shift to jump. Other than that, great job! Oh, and bonus creds for the great packing with instructions and a nice icon for the exe - very visually pleasing!

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Oh, sorry for the web link ! Miss clic, though ! I remove it right now

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30pm

For the controls...I thought about a QWERTY version a bit late in the night, and as I'm french, I originally made it for an AZERTY keyboard... u.u Sorry for that (dunno if I can update the game with a QWERTY version or if that's forbidden ?)

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Thanks Robinerd!

Eli says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37pm

It's a great game. The best part was when I teleported and got stuck in a cliff (level 2?) :))

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Hahaha ! Had not enough time to deal with that level of collision :p
But as a powerful witch, you're able to switch to the earth world and unlock yourself ! ;)

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20am

The graphics is increadible.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Really nice graphics!
Maybe lacks a bit of feedbacks I was a bit lost and sure what I had to do everytime, after taking time I really enjoyed it!

Really good work, see you next time =)

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Thanks a lot Louis :) See ya!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

You obviously put a lot of effort and creativity into this game in 48 hours! Stunning graphics, just wish the game was longerrrrrr :)good luck!

local minimum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Good game.

I was about to quit because jumping was so silly when I discovered that it is doable on the other mode. Some in-game assistance to that would have been nice.

The controls were very counter-intuitive on my keyboard. I've never heard of shooting on shift niether using B and V. I would opt for allowing people to set the controls themselves and use standard keys for English keyboards (note: I don't even have English keyboard myself, but still think it is the right thing to do).

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:59pm

I just have to agree that an integrated tutorial would have been great, since I wanted to make one but...no time, you know these things :) I will definitely do one as soon as I have time for it.

Also, @local minimum, you're absolutely right. As I'm french, my V and B are just over the space bar, so shooting and then using skills were alright to me. I just said "I will put a QWERTY binding as soon as I've finished that featu...what ?! Already 2:30 am ?! heeeeeell...".

And that's how the game was done with a really counter-intuitive binding :( Sorry for that ! I will start in a QWERTY version next time ! Promis ;)

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:00pm

@nerd burglars = thanks a lot ! I really appreciate. I wish the game was longer too ! And may be there will be a better version one day :) I like what I've got here (and that's not so often, in my case, haha !)

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Great graphics, music, game...everything is great, one of my favorite titles so far this ludum dare ;)

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Awesome! Fit to the theme.

DrCicero says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:22am

Arghgrh! After my it felt like my 100th death i give up. Please have save points, or just restart in the same room.
Graphics and Audio were cool. Moving was strange - Sometimes slower, sometimes faster...

Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]