Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

I.A.N

by Dramentiaras - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're the administrator of the Interdimensional Administration Network (I.A.N). Your job is to make sure that data gets transferred between the worlds connected to the network. A world is represented by a node on your nodemap. Deliver the adressed data packages to the correct node. Keep the worlds connected!

This game was made using dart and pixi.dart. If it doesn't run, check that your browser version supports WebGL and has it enabled. There's no audio, cause dart's implementation of web audio seemed broken in the current version.

HOW TO PLAY:

You are the green circle that's always in the center. Your job is to deliver the data packages to the correct node. To do this you click and hold on a node to begin circling around it. You can then release the mouse to let go. Collide with a package that you find near one of the two starting nodes and deliver it to the node with the same number as the package by tethering (click and hold) to the node. Avoid crashing into nodes. You can use [W] and [S] to change the length of your tether, and also use [ESC] to pause.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#394Innovation3.37
#581Theme3.22
#928Humor1.53
#978Fun2.53
#979Graphics2.40
#1006Audio1.20
#1022Mood2.30
#1084Overall2.56

Comments

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

I had no idea how to play this.

Ysty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Nice. I think the click box around the nodes could have been a little bigger, but otherwise it was very good.

jawm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Interesting idea once I knew what it was. More explanation would be nice

cptnwaffles says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Your game needs much better instructions. Despite spending 5 minutes with it, I never got past the first two nodes.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19pm

I was very confusing playing this.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Cool idea. Simple but effective art style and game mechanic.

sai_aya says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

It took me quite a while to understand how it works, and how to avoid colliding with the nodes.
After 30 min of playing this game, I managed to score 860, with 5 nodes... It's quite hard, actually.

The idea is interesting, but it would require a tutorial or something to explain the rules.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45pm

the swinging physics feel pretty great. Seems like this may have been inspired slightly by floating point?

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Sorry for the unclear instructions, I'm not very good at explaining things, anyone got any tips on how to describe the gameplay?
@burgerdare No, but I realised they were similar during development. I took no inspiration from floating point, since I haven't played it myself.

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Nice! Some sound would really enhance this. I thought the blue orbs were circeling around the green ones at first. My brain was very confused for a while.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37pm

The whole time I thought that the blue ball is rotation around the green one :D confusing :D

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Interesting idea. difficult to get the hang of at first.

dunin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Hard to understand but hard to explain too (and hard to play, 4 nodes is my best).
I try: If a blue node had an orbital, try to collide it with the green circle then you have to release the blue node to click on an other with the same number of the orbital collected...
(Yeah, very hard to explain...)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I'm a bit confused...Can anyone explain what to do? Really want to play this.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I didnt get it :/

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45pm

If those who do not understand could give some more feedback, it would be great. What do you not understand? The controls? How to play? Explain to me, I get very frustrated when I want to explain so badly but don't know how.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:27am

i didn't understand why things were moving on the screen, what i had to do, why things were numbered or why they were swinging around a point when i clicked them

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Pretty difficult to play, I think partly maybe because camera would benefit from being far enough back to see complete orbit at current tether around adjacent worlds not just tethered one. Shame no sound. Good job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:50pm

It's too hard to click the nodes, and it's counter-intuitive that W makes the tether shorter, and S makes it longer, it ought to be the reverse.

And I see some people complaining about instrucions. I've found that the cause of that is usually not actually the instructions, but unclear visual communicaion from the game. Suggestions that could improve that: feedback when you press something, a highlighting of new things to catch, more zoomed out camera (gives a better overview), making the matching packages and nodes the same color. And also an easier beginning, since if people think the beginning is too hard, they'll often complain about the instructions. Just some suggestions that I've found often works. It's awesome that you try to make an original gameplay idea, it's much better than a lot of the uninspired games around.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Instructions weren't very clear, so it took me maybe a minute to understand what to do. After I figured that out though, it was pretty fun despite it getting difficult quickly.

aneeslol says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:55pm

The controls/instructions were pretty clear to me, and I liked the fluid gameplay. However, it seemed like if you mistimed your switch between nodes then you would just crash straight into the node with no hope of recovering, which felt a bit unfair.

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:55pm

@ZeppelinCaptain thank you for the most constructive feedback yet! I really apreciate it and I will remember this if I decide to make a post-compo version.

moi93101 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I don't know how it's work, if you can show how it works ...

klianc09 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Really fun once you get the hang of it. My best was 6 nodes.

I totally agree with ZeppelinCaptain.
I think one of the main problems for new players is, that you don't have any visual indication as to in which direction you are moving. Adding a background (could just be a grid of lines or anything) and maybe even a trail to the player would help immensly.

I would also suggest starting with 3 nodes, as with two nodes you don't have any way to recover from a collision-course with a node.

Also making the clicks snap to the nearest node (or just increasing their hitbox for clicking) would make it more a game of timing and reflexes instead of a game of mouse-aiming skills.

Having said all that, don't think I don't like it. It's just when you see a great game and there are those things that keep it from being an super awesome game, then those things tend to be extra annoying.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Interesting game though I couldnt get a dang package! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mlEPiXm0ehY

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]