Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galilei

by Psoeter - Jam Entry

Galilei turned out to be more of an Art Installation than a game, nonetheless we finished it.

Spend some time and explore what we managed to put in, we wanted there to be a lot more but LD is LD and the artist fell asleep at some bad times due to time-zones.

Picking up the gems adds tracks to the music, pick them all up for a somewhat shitty ending.

"It is meant to soothe and relax, enjoy the spacey soundtrack and my art bullshit" - Nicholas McMahan - Art and Audio
https://twitter.com/nicholasmcmahan


"Wow dude that's realistic" - Cameron Martin - Lead Rock Designer
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/cameron-martin/90/5b6/8ba
https://twitter.com/DeputyCallahan

"I spent over 24 hours looking at a visually complete game, I hope you like how it looks because I've seen too much of it" - Harrison Walton - Programmer/Project Lead
http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=289017836
https://twitter.com/harrisonwaltonD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#27Mood(Jam)4.06
#44Graphics(Jam)4.42
#55Audio(Jam)3.89
#197Overall(Jam)3.49
#505Innovation(Jam)2.81
#525Humor(Jam)2.05
#542Fun(Jam)2.76
#544Theme(Jam)2.76

Comments

Elde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Gorgeous!

TheGeekatory says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:16am

This is a graphically pleasing little game that I'm glad to have stumbled upon. Although the spaceship thing moves very slowly, it remains peaceful and fun if you have the patience.

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21am

Love the low poly art syle! The ship controls could use a bit of work. Also if you exit the ship while its rotated, the player will keep the ships rotation and end up walking awkwardly on the ground.

Psoeter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23am

@Maxium, that shouldn't be the case as the player and the ship have completely separate systems, if you fell onto the crater/ground or onto a specific island/world then it might just be rotated a certain way.

If you can explain a bit more I'd like to look into it (even though I doubt I'l be able to fix it in time)

idovingx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:25am

Very, very pretty. I got 5/6 but fell off my spaceship trying to get the one dangling below the island. Really cool but the spaceship moves much too slowly between islands.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26am

This looks and sounds amazing, it was a very interesting idea and very impressive for the time at hand!

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:28am

nice effect and music
But too slooooow.

Psoeter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:29am

@idovingx

Hold shift to speed up, its not required and would have cluttered the tutorial world so we left it up to people to try it out based on usual game binds.

It doubles your speed.

elliottd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30am

really nice mood, music, colours, and sound effects are really nice together. I flipped the ship sideways when I entered it because of the key input collision on E. you could fix that by having the ship require you to release E once you enter it. I thought it was strange that the ship felt so restricting (restricted view, much slower turning speed, and possibly even slower movement speed), but it definitely felt very cool. I just wish I could go to places faster.

invi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38am

Beautiful art. But the space ship was way too slow and wasn't that fun to fly.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04am

Really cool, I really enjoy atmospheric games and this one was really good! Such a nice artstyle and feel to it. The only snag I would say is that the Restart sounds a little loud. Other than that really nice job!

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03am

A little too easy to lose the ship and have to restart, but that's a minor quibble. Nice landscaping and ambiance. Reeeally nice.

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31pm

The artist did a great job! Lovely visuals. Too bad you couldn't turn it into a full game. The spaceship controls were pretty annoying, and the islands were spread a bit too far to make the trips enjoyable.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:50am

The game is based on exploring and enjoying the scenery, which is very accomplished, is relaxing and good music

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:24am

I fell in love with graphics here <3 Low poly is my love :d

JetL33t says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Love the art and especially the chill music.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:01pm

LD version of no man's sky? Visuals are great, soundtrack adds to the mood of the experience. Pretty neat thing, wish it was developped further.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

I'm a sucker for this style of art!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:21am

I've seen a few with this art style, but I think you pulled it off the best as everything worked really well together
Quite a "zen" experience you created!

Datamosh says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Beautiful game, slow but relaxing.

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:00am

Very beautiful graphics! The game just feels epic. The ship controls are very smooth and gentle, the way I like it. I would enjoy traveling in a more detailed world. Good job!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Very moody atmosphere. I also like the graphical style. Anyway, the movement/controls are, like others said, not intuitive and far too slow. I hope you are working on a post-compo version, because I really enjoy such games!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Beutiful made, but long travel distances make it really slow.

TautNerve says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Great visuals and sound.
I enjoyed exploring even though everything is a little slow
very atmospheric!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Really nice graphics! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/5xO0Ucfr9co

Xanjos says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:48pm

It's a shame you weren't able to add the features you wanted in time but the level design was pretty nice and I really like the audio.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Very nice entry. I'ts very simple but its charming aesthetics make it a very pleasant experience. I just didn't like the ending..

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]