Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worldly Traveler

by MrTedders - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*DOWNLOAD ON PAGE IS SOURCE CODE*

Oh no! Your a long ways from home without the proper coordinates to get home. Maybe some of the locals on near by planets can show you the way!?

##CONTROLS##: left mouse button to move. X to interact. Play with the computer panel to make stuff happen (hint: screws).

Tools:
Unity, Gimp, jfxr,audacity, mouse, keyboard, microphone, two monitors, gallons of tea, lack of sleep, rubix cube, orchestral music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#296Mood3.30
#312Humor2.77
#534Graphics3.13
#676Overall3.09
#681Theme3.08
#689Audio2.46
#768Innovation2.87
#830Fun2.72

Comments

Vavassor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06am

Loved this whole thing! It all feels very mysterious and made me wonder

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25am

This looks like a cool game! But that walking sound... Anyway, I couldn't figure out what to do :( I went to the gems and the launch button just kept making explosions and I couldn't seem to interact with the environment. And once I was outside, there was no coming back! I think an instruction page would be a good idea. But I love the style of your game and the eerie, mysterious, otherworldly vibe it has. nice job :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08am

Moody game. Some instructions would have been nice but I guess finding things on your own is part of it's charm. :)

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18am

I like idea it feels little like Neverhood

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28am

Hard to understand what I was supposed to do at first. Loved the way his fit juggle on the floor :D

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39am

Liked a lot the way, how you must activate your ship. And overall very interestiong concept)

From Smiling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47am

Pretty enjoyable!! Lots of mystery to discover and it feels good too ' u '

chartinboy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28am

Game is really interesting...but oh god the walking noise.

FerrenReve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29am

Fantastic game, but a bit hard to figure out.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41am

Walking sound is great :)

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52am

Interesting art. I don't get the computer controls though.. It's like my first Win8 experience all over again.
Please explain better how to control computer - or is it part of a puzzle.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52am

This was fantastic. Loved every bit (minus the walking noise :P )

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:20am

Took a while to figure out the computer and still not sure...
Love the animation though.

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31am

Cool :)

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:35am

As the others, too hard to understand but pretty, nice stuff overall

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

Really cool, i really like these mysterious games. took me a while to figure out the travelling.

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42am

I like a lot the graphics. I've been playing for a while but i don't know what to do (i've pulled out the screws but nothing else...).

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02am

I like the aesthetics! Would be nice if in-game it tells you to press X to interact, and maybe about the screws, other than that I really enjoyed the mystery and discovery!

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41am

Nice style, it reminds me to The Neverhood, do you know it?

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05am

Took me a while to find out what I need to do. (maybe is just me). Nice game tho.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Liked the interactivity and mood but not sure what I was meant to do.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:42pm

very funny, i really enjoyed walking animations, whole game is very stylish and amazing.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I wasn't really sure what to do in the beginning, everything was very cryptic, but I think that works in favor of the game. When I finally managed to launch to another planet, I felt proud for figuring something out! A very cool and mysterious game.

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:21pm

What happened? Am I dead? Game screen went black when I entered building in the last (?) planet... Is this it?

Hint for people, who are looking how to play: unscrew the "computer" panel, move white pieces to it, then toggle buttons with particular symbols & launch your ship to planets they direct to. Or something like that. Loved the game!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22pm

the hint was helpful, so thanks for that!
otherwise, the game was fun, though I think the sounds need some work (or at least a lower volume).

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46pm

it was hard. hard and buggy xD

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Very charming! Took me a while to figure out what to do, but I liked exploring the planets once I did. I actually liked trying to figure out what to do, although the screws could stand out a bit more. Good job!

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28pm

That was quite strange, and once I got the control panel figured out, the rest was just really repetitive until I got the world with all the gems selected, went into a building, and then black screen. Is this the end? I really don't know.

Hozar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Love the running animation!

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Loved the walkcycle! I was only able to make it to one planet though :<

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Think I managed to finish it finally! Nice concept.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41am

I had fun with this after I figured out how to work the computer.
Note: the game bugs out if I press launch while I'm landing.
I liked the touch with the water world after you take the gem ;)
Wish you could've added more interesting things to the other planets.
Oh yeah, and the walk sound is annoying ;)

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49am

I had fun with this after I figured out how to work the computer.
Note: the game bugs out if I press launch while I'm landing.
I liked the touch with the water world after you take the gem ;)
Wish you could've added more interesting things to the other planets.
Oh yeah, and the walk sound is annoying ;)

btw, what was the gun for?
and hint to everyone else: the crossed out planets are ones that don't have gems on them; I had thought they were ones that I had been to.
I made it to his house, pretty depressing planet :)

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32am

Interesting take on the theme. I like the ridiculous graphics, audio was good. I like puzzle games like this. Popping off control panels and such! Old school bread and butter!

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33am

So far, this has been my favourite LD30 entry! Love the art style and mood. Reminded me a little of The Neverhood which is a total win. Really can stress enough how much I love the mood of this!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:27am

Mysterious! I did not manage to figure out the computer once I got the cover off, though.

arttut02 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:35am

Too clever for me. Didn't know what to do. I loved that really weird graphics and animations, and the audio.. well it suited the graphics. Very interesting... and odd ;).

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03am

Some in game hinds would be nice.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Neat game, though the walking sound gives me the creeps :D

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:26pm

I really liked the way the character was walking but I simply did not understand what to do / how to navigate the ship.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Highly moody atmospheric. Graphics are A+. I felt a but lost and being an impatient person this isn't what I would normally elect to play, but I see the charm and it is very well-made :D Good luck!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Wow, fantastic! It was a blast to just mess around with for quite some time, and the graphics are seriously triply and awesome. Excellent!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Couldn't figure it out. Maybe make it easier in the beginning, and getting harder later.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Awesome walk animation, could look at it for hours! shame the game is so short. would like to have seen more :D

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Loved it. I almost missed how to move the ship, though. And that black screen is really the end?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Love the graphics! I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/KmqpyEAAVGM

John Drury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Really confused on what to do. I took out the panel on my control system and picked up the stone and clicked on the buttons but didn't know what to do after.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:51am

character design is amazing authentic but i dont cant activate the ship! thats make me feel sad.. and very idiot :(

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Hi there. Really like your game. The crazy graphics, the machine, the circuits, the galactic map - or whatever it is. Bookmarked for another look later. Good job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:08am

Intriguing idea and interesting world travel mechanic. But too laggy. At some moment computer interface not closed and staying on creen overlaying backgounds. So the character walked on the computer interface, HAH!

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:56am

Impressive the atmosphere that this game creates with so little. Bizarre worlds with bizarre things, you can't even figure out what you are! Immersion is helped (maybe inadvertently) with the time spent inside "ship" trying to make the computer work.

Amazing game.

Pavel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Great pixel art.

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:00am

Didn't get idea what to do, but liked mood and animation of moving %)

pjchardt says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Great entry! I had some trouble at first understanding what to do, I feel like the visual language is muddled and it is hard as a player to read the computer. However, I really enjoy the idea, execution (outside of visual language) and mood of this game. Really great concept. Nice work!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Magnific atmosphere. I had a lot of fun figuring out how the traveling system works.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]