Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Generation Ship

by Shide - Jam Entry

We made a game about managing different functions of the ship in order to fix it and eventually reach your final destination.
We came up with an idea to make a game about mixing eco-systems of different spaceships' of a giant forsaken fleet by connecting them, which is a bit more related with LDs theme this year. It should've been a rather simple puzzle-game, but than we decided to make it more complex and smaller at the same time. So we ended up with this kind of decision-adventure about Engineer#34 and a bit crazy AI. And rabbits.
~20 endings, only 2 of them are positive

Controls:
Movement: WASD / arrows
Activate terminal: E
Select option in terminal: 1 / 2 / 3

Post Mortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/28/generation-ship-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#47Overall(Jam)3.94
#55Humor(Jam)3.69
#56Mood(Jam)3.90
#103Audio(Jam)3.72
#115Fun(Jam)3.56
#115Graphics(Jam)4.12
#151Innovation(Jam)3.50
#615Theme(Jam)2.50

Comments

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:19am

The link is empty now?

Hairein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Sadly, clicking on the web link produced the following error in the browser:
Not Found
The resource could not be found.

Shide says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Sadly Dropbox doesn't work correctly, we'll fix it.

Shide says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Everything works fine now, still to add voice-over

kibertoad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:44am

Well thought-out and with a great sense of exploration. Good job with the voice-over, it's no GLaDOS, but it has it's moments. Cool sci-fi thriller, kinda reminded me of Leviathan Wakes. I wonder why.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Good game! Nice graphics and interesting gameplay.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Really nice entry! Love voice acting!

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Nice AI voice, amazing amount of content you did manage to do but as you say, not much connection to the theme.

jthistle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:56pm

The only game I have rated so far that I gave more than 4 5-star ratings :)
Amazing sound, ambience, graphics and gameplay. One of the best games I've played so far :)

Hairein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I liked this very much. The graphics and audio fit very well and there is lots of potential in this idea. I enjoyed the playthrough and the controls were easy to learn. The dialogue and ingame choices seemed to fit the environment. Good job!

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:30am

The amount of work and craftsmanship that went into this is absolutely amazing. The only thing "missing" would be a graphical ending, as opposed to just scrolling text. But otherwise, this is damn near perfect.

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:30am

Great game with interesting gameplay! Keep it up!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

great visuals and tight gameplay, I love it!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I liked the AI voice and that player is free to choose when he is able to.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Awesome entry. I epecially like the personality of the computers voice. Very much to like in here, indeed. The 3D environments looks great, and so does the character model and animations. Looks like a lot of work was put into this. Great job!

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Good entry. I really liked the game mechanic and the interpretation of the Connected Worlds theme. What I wasn't really keen on was the AI voice. I can see that you tried to make it like Portal with the robotic voice effect with human-like personality, making puns and using sarcasm, but that requires considerably more work to get right, and I'd recommend that you try and find your own unique AI personality, rather than mimic an existing one.
Nevertheless, great gameplay and original idea. Best of luck!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:52am

Amazing. The voice is just great. It took me a while to figure out, with each playthrough I could get a little farther. Great dialogue.

MJ Mantis says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

The "Groundhog Day"-like mechanics is where the game shines best as it offers a lot of replayability. However, the execution a bit rough due to being rushed (AI is more rude than SS2's SHODAN let alone GLaDOS)... it could use more work, but I feel that the concept has a lot of potential.
Good job on the entry!

paps says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:33am

Good game. After many tries the AI makes me want to shut it down. It doesn't do anything to help. Good graphics, and sfx.
Are you sure there are 2 way to win this? I think there is only one :o

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Not a bad ending though, for a negative one, but damn she was annoying! XD

Dohan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Very good entry! I was unable to find a way to increase the power, but I get a good ammount of bad endings. Having voice acting for the AI was really good to set the mood.

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Really well crafted experience. The mood is nice and the voice overs are really cool. I managed to die in a wide array of ways which was also nice :D

Xanjos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:35pm

I actually like how you've managed to put in 20 endings based on the actions you do (encouraging replayability) and I really love how there's so much to explore in the spaceship. The voice acting seems pretty top notch too.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:39am

wow, what a deep and polished game for the jam, congrats on the awesome entry!

kaarefc says ...
Aug 1, 2017 @ 6:29am

I wanted to try this oldie, but the download links are dead (and my system doesn't support the Unity plugin).
Any chance of a re-upload of the data?
Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]