Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 30

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Star LORD - lowcade - Jam Entry

Star LORD is a classic action-plataformer game.

History//

SPACE LORD escaped from the prison of Sector 42 and was rescued by his crew. He
toward north destroying all planets on his way.

Witnesses reported seeing his ship landing and civilians running from Antares planet.

Your mission is neutralize SPACE LORD before he destroys the planet.


Controls//

Arrows -> Control Star LORD
Z -> Jump
X -> Shoot
C -> Dash


Credits//

Programming - Diego Cardoso
Art, animation and game concept - Fernando Perazzoli


Music//

Analogies (Teo Acosta)
Journey Horizon (Skitchstudio)
Shoot Everybody (WarmanSteve)
Space Lord (Teo Acosta)


Tools//

Construct 2
Adobe Suite
Beer
Pizza

Hope you like it! =D

*You can download the poster here:
http://vectorgamedev.com/LD30/starlord-poster.png

View lowcade's journal. | View all entries by lowcade

Ratings

Coolness59%
#75Graphics(Jam)4.26
#125Audio(Jam)3.63
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#217Overall(Jam)3.44
#228Mood(Jam)3.37
#330Fun(Jam)3.12
#494Theme(Jam)2.91
#636Innovation(Jam)2.52

Comments

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Nice :D I recorded a video of me playing it:
http://www.twitch.tv/danielsnd/b/562181733

And this is the video I was recommending:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJdEqssNZ-U

Autonomous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00pm

so old school, good!

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38pm

10/10

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Cool game! The character designs and level art are superb, and I liked the AI of the big eye enemy.

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:32pm

very nice art :) nothing trully innovative but looks VERY COOL.

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:52pm

looks really cool, well done
the collisions need some work though

kibertoad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Devilishly handsome platformer with charm. The only problem I had with it were those tiny floating platforms. Too easy to slide off.

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Nice, very solid entry overral, graphics are very stylish! Though it wasn't really clear for me why was I turning dead, then teleporting back to the beginning; physics was slightly buggy too. Still, good job!

CoolIron says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:03pm

The graphics and concept are nice, but it was very frustrating that first hit made me kill 3 creatures and start over again. First I thought that I was dying all the time, but then I tried to die for real. It was hard :D
Great job!

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:51pm

wow, nice graphics. cool gameplay dude. 8/10

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Really impressive and brutal game :) At first I didn't understand why I suddenly teleported back, but I gathered that was when I returned to the 'living world'. Since you start over completely when that happens anyway, why not just restart the game? I like the idea of playing through a dead world when you die in the first, but if it just restarts when you succeed it's a bit strange. The graphics and the style are awesome, though!

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Really nice graphics! Awesome!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Aw man, now that is a menu screen. To bad I can't play windows games!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:45pm

It was unclear to me why I was teleporting back to the beginning (this is apparently a recurring problem with other users)but I loved the art and style. Great looking game.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:12am

Good game with nice graphics and music but why should i go into other world by 1 attack?? and then start from the start!!!

JonathanG says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Lovely art and sound work, but the gameplay doesn't seem to work - the monsters react too quickly, for example, you fall down and then you're shot by one and there's no way to dodge, but it seems random, like I could keep trying over and over and some times they wouldn't shoot. Weird bugs around collision sometimes stopping me walking or being killed without seeing an enemy/projectile at all.

mechabit says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:38am

nice art but what's the point of the dead zone if you just start back at the start? it's pointless to collect souls when you can just quit and restart instead.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:14am

Love the title screen design and the music is one of my favourites so far. Did find the gameplay quite hard with getting shot while falling though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]