Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

S**p Random Story

by KiAn - Jam Entry

Programmer: KiAnXineki
Music: Dennis Channels
Art: MayaCT

Code: python (pyinstaller, pyopengl and box2d!)
Music: Fruity Loops, Audacity, project_sfxr
Art: Gimp



Manual:

Menu:
W to Start

Ingame:
accelerate: W
rotate: mouse
fire: mouse 1
hook: mouse 2
zoom: wheel

Best gif: http://desmadrestudio.com/static/ld30/72.gif

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#538Audio(Jam)2.56
#619Fun(Jam)2.59
#646Overall(Jam)2.79
#647Theme(Jam)2.35
#679Mood(Jam)2.31
#713Graphics(Jam)2.31
#722Innovation(Jam)2.13
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Solid mechanics, could use a bit more sense of progression

Ogniok says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Very nice flying system(especially using the hook). The music is really nice too. But this game is hard for me :D

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20pm

There are some bugs like planets spawning next to you all of a sudden or the arm (that looks like tongue) gets stuck at somewhere but gravity centers work very well. It looks like our game's arcade version :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:30am

Could use some more work, but it's nice for what it is :)

KiAn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Yes, the truth is it's not much, in the end we do not give errors and to work, little time to make a game without an engine :(

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Very funny game but crazy ship

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Thanks for the good feedback :) I'm sure that with a little more time (the team was working and studying during compo) there would be a better and more focused version.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:06am

The gravity wells made for some tricky flying, some enemies and this could be a pretty cool space dogfighting game!

I liked going on a crazy spiral with the hook spinning around the ship and increasing in speed. Reminded me a bit of Solar Jetman...

popcorn897 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Man, those are some smokin' hot jams.

This was okay. I was a bit confused in the beginning on what to do ( and still am to be honest ). However, I did find it extremely fun to see how fast I could go and dodge things. The graphics do their job, the audio is pretty smooth, and so are the controls. Not bad at all.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]