Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Road Truckers

by Zambini - 48 Hour Compo Entry

README/Source available on Github page
https://github.com/randonia/ld30

ld30
====


http://randonia.com/ld30/SpaceRoadTruckers.html
@zambini845

Repository for Ludum Dare 30 - August 22-24, 2014

Project Source Code Information:
+ Unity 4.5
+ NGUI 3.6.8 (NOT included in source code, you must purchase it to build)



Controls:
+ W - Move ship up
+ S - Move ship down
+ A - Move ship left
+ D - Move ship right
+ T - Toggle TVC (Thrust Vector Control)
+ G - Toggle Docking procedures
+ F - Launch Drone (30 second lifespan)


Objective:
The objective of this game is to make the most money. You're a space trucker,
that's what you do. You earn money by making deliveries of various goods to
different stations throughout the galaxy, but watch out, space can be a
dangerous place full of debris and worse, pirates!


How to Play:
First thing's first, you need some goods to ship. No one is going to care if
an empty hauler pulls into their station. Space is a mean place though,
everything's on the escrow system. You're going to have to buy the goods up
front (albeit at a steep discount) to take them places to sell (back in my day,
people trusted one another!). Go ahead and approach your target station
(indicated by the blue triangle and distance marker from your nav system) and
when you're slow and close enough, press 'G' to start docking. If it helps, use
your Thrust Vectoring Control 'T' (city-talk for brakes). Careful though,
sometimes that thing chews through fuel like it's a bottle of Pink Label Scotch.

Now that you're good and docked you will notice a few things. There are a bunch
of goods that people want delivered. You get to pick which one, but try to
maximize it. The price you see is the total price you pay to ship, and upon
receipt you'll get some much higher value. Seems like these days people just put
random prices on things, so watch for fluxuations. 'taters today might be gold
tomorrow, ya know?

Once you make your selection, leave the station and you'll get the nav cursor
again. It shows you a distance and direction, that's really all you need. Oh, and
watch out for asteroids. They might look squishy like potatoes but they'll beat you
up real nice. If you do take a few dings coming into the station, they'll
automatically repair you for a fee. Last I reckoned it were 'bout 1 per
percent. If you don't spend 'em all you get credits or somethin. I don't trust 'em
too much.

Oh, and one last thing. Don't run out of fuel. This isn't some candy-apple ice-road
we're working on. This here is space. I don't want this to be the last time I hear
from ya.

That just about cover's it. I felt like I had somethin to tell ya about them drones
there but it seems I dang ran outta time again.

Welp. Fly safe, cowpoke.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#514Overall3.25
#534Graphics3.13
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18am

I really like this kind of space-trading games :D I was wondering: are the asteroids generated on level creation or while you go to and fro in the galaxy (or both)?

Great job!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Real good look to this game. Liked it :)

Zambini says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

@LostTrainDude - For the jam, they're just set up in the scene. I wanted to write debris field generation but that's way outside the scope of LD48 :P

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:07pm

This sort of reminds me of Planets:TEOS, which was a great old space trading game. I had a hard time docking with other stations. I like the HUD with the various meters and controls, and TVC indicator. Nice work :)

mechabit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Not bad for 48 hrs and I do like space games that let you build up so much speed you shoot right past your destination. Kept ramming into asteroids though as there's no warning or radar.

fleegle2000 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:35pm

I like the UI and the controls are decent. Trading system is simple, which is good because I find sometimes these games make the trading complicated and I lose interest. Could do with some sound, though. Some kind of minimap would also be extremely helpful for navigating.
I like it - I hope you continue working on it!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:26am

It seems obvious you ran out of time haha, it is little more than just moving from station to station right now, following the arrow! But its a good start, obviously.
I'm curious about what you were going to do with those drones and things... Protection against enemies, perhaps?

Where were you going with this? Any plans to keep going?

Zambini says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:55pm

@FrankieSmileShow : I implemented enemies and drones (you can see them in the code) as well as combat but it wasn't 100% so I stripped them out at the last second.

I'd like to make this into a real game, I'm actually doing some design work now to get it into a solid design pre-implementation :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]