Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flipside

by gingerBill - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The aim of the game is to travel through and place portals which will flip the player to the other side of the map in order to collect portal potions to create portals and keys to unlock doors, to complete the level's end which is marked by a red flag.

!!__Windows Version Coming Soon__!!
If someone could compile this to work with windows, I would be so grateful as I am having some problems compiling on Windows (dll hell).

Youtube Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTIjh4kolp0

Controls

[W] Forward
[A] Left
[S] Back
[D] Right
[E] Use Portal or Use Door (with key)
[Space] Place Portal
[Esc] Pause

Requirements

OS: Mac OS X (Windows Coming Soon)
OpenGL 2.1
Keyboard
Mouse

Tools Used:

- Programming Language: C++11
- Libraries: SFML 2.1, OpenGL 2.1, glm, glew
- Image Editor/Creator: Photoshop CS5
- Music Editor/Creator: Garageband
- Text Edito/Creator: Sublime Text 3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2202Coolness0%

Comments

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:37pm

ah man, the art looks cool, I wanna play this, but I'm on windows :(

wolfmother says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Had a crack at compiling it, and have these notes:
- code also depends on GLM and GLEW (win binaries readily available thankfully)
- code uses C++11 features, which VS2010 doesn't support - haven't got 2013 around to try building it on

togie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:05am

port to windows after you catch up on sleep lol

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:51am

Agree, port would be advised :) for web I suggest

gingerBill says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:28am

@wolfmother I should have said what the dependencies were but I was really tired last night and I had to go to bed. I'm going to trying port it again.

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:55pm

@gingerBill I have compiled it with QtCreator, but the game crashes inside of StateStack::createState when creating game state.

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:02pm

@gignerBill reach me at <denis.karabaza at gmail.com>, we will try something out.

Phobos001 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Wait, did we end up making the same game with the same title? Either way, I can't wait to play it when you guys work out a Windows port. I'd help, but I've never worked with code compilers before. Best of luck! ^^

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Sorry, no OS/X.

bluekirby0 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:28am

Porting is a hobby of mine. I got a windows port figured out in about half an hour once I got all the dependencies in place.

It might not compile on OSX anymore with the source changes but I tried to be careful not to do anything seriously detrimental to the original source (except where I had to work around a compiler bug). Built with TDM-GCC 4.8.1 MinGW via CMake. Might be possible to build with msvc 2012 or 2013, but I did not try.

Anyway, gdrive folder contains Win32 build, debug build (need gdb to debug properly) and source code with cmake project file, CLion IDE project files, external dependencies, and changes.

Linux builds with gcc should be pretty effortless as well at this point. Just use cmake to generate a Makefile from the modified source.

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B56DTBLvAbE0aFVILTZBVHJMQ28&usp=sharing

bluekirby0 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:39am

On that note...now that I have seen how the game is SUPPOSED to work on the youtube video, it seems there is a camera issue (probably from where I changed where the code was using a private _invert function from one of the libs to use a public invert function) as well as the mouse being WAY too sensitive on the windows port.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]