Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disconnect the worlds

by DhantonGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a little person. You live happy in your little world with your little trees and your little rocks. But then one day a portal appeared.

They are coming to catch you!!

Defend yourself, pick up the cards, open the doors and beat the bosses!! Disconnect the worlds!!

Controls:

Move: Arrow keys
Shoot: Z
Action: X

*I know there is a bug with water collision. Will be fixed soon. Maybe. I don't know...*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#376Fun3.25
#419Humor2.53
#468Theme3.37
#494Mood3.06
#575Overall3.19
#615Graphics3.00
#761Audio2.28
#978Innovation2.53
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35am

Hmm... I can't seem to open the game. Will try again later.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:43am

I can run the game, that create an error...

DhantonGames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

I'm so sorry. I'm fixing it. Can you tell me what is the exact error you are getting?

DhantonGames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27am

Okay windows executable is fixed now.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:35am

On Linux I get the following error:

william@Helium:~/Downloads/Disconnect the worlds$ ./Disconnect_the_worlds
./x86_64/LD30: error while loading shared libraries: libopenal.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
william@Helium:~/Downloads/Disconnect the worlds$

DhantonGames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49am

Fixed.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:24pm

it is quite hard to hit enemies when you are not completely aligned. would love some more backstory for the little yellow guy, he has potential

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Nice short game, not very close to the theme. I liked the main character animation. I would have liked that he could have moved diagonally too. Boss with mines and last boss were fun.
At first difficult to understand what to do.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Great game, I liked the bossfights! The outside graphics were quite repetitive, undergound tiles were better. :p

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

The "switch to underworld" thing is very well made! :D

Killswitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Nice game! :)

C_Walden says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

Very nifty game. I felt pleased when I realized the connection between keycards and doors, and their positions. Fairly easy boss fights, but the regular enemies were frighteningly deadly due to their high speed. Yikes!
Perfect use of Theme.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:55pm

fun little game EXCEPT:
Diagonal movement please p_p
The mine boss isn't fun, because you can't dodge a mine that is randomly placed.

Nice walking animation by the by.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Very awesome game! Just needs a bit of music. Gameplay was solid! great job!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:39am

I think it would be better if the controls were showed in the main menu :) It says "click action" but not which button action is :)

DhantonGames says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

It's on the gamejolt page, as well as on the ludum dare entry page :D But I agree I should have done that :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:09am

Cool game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/1LqxxVg5Vuk

Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:03am

This was cool! At first I was kind of wandering around for a while, for some reason it took me a long time to find that dark world portal, I kept walking past it??

Just add a tiny bit to the normal world and you got yourself a pretty complete game, there. Also, I would make those purple slimes a tiny bit slower, or keep that speed but make short pauses at regular intervals, so if one of them is chasing you, you have a way of getting some space between you and it before you turn around and shoot.

CluelessGames says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:47am

I was expecting much from this but this turned out to be really Cool And a really complete game Really Good Job quite Enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]