Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Survival

by Dronedary Games - Jam Entry

Our first finished game, a little incomplete but we expect a lot of new features for a future upgraded version :)

The goal is survive 150 seconds and save the ecosystem.
For that you need to launch resources on the planets to restore the energy.


Controls:

Space - launch resources
Left, right and up keys - control the spaceship
Esc - Pause

Tools used:

Game Maker Studio
Photoshop
Logic Pro X
Paper & Pen
Two Brains & Four Hands

Enjoy!

Dronedary Games Team

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#327Theme(Jam)3.28
#367Mood(Jam)3.11
#370Audio(Jam)3.10
#382Graphics(Jam)3.38
#435Fun(Jam)2.94
#453Overall(Jam)3.12
#493Innovation(Jam)2.84
#502Humor(Jam)2.10

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53am

Difficult but fun. I like your take on the theme - having a solar ecosystem whose balance relies on the stability of all planets is a nice concept. Good game!

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54am

I like it. Graphics nice, Sound nice everything nice. Except the game idea, because it was kinda boring always flying to the left and flying to the right in a constant speed. But it looked good :D

Polona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I totally dig the sound! Sweet tunes. The graphics are nice, but the contrast between the super nova and the rest is a little too much. The gameplay lacked a bit but I enjoyed it. (by Alvar)

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:12pm

It's fun. Good art and concept. For gameplay some balance features will definitely help the game being more fun and fresh. Because it is a bit static. For example a speed boost that will bounce off the edges of the screen. Think about it. Well done!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Great graphics! Not too difficult, but still challenging! GJ

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Game is pretty difficult. Nice audio. And I very like how planets are made. Can you give any tips about drawing them? :3

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Couldn't beat it, only got to 130s each time before running out of resources. Frustrating gameplay, that bottom left planet is really greedy, and I feel like there was a lot of room for more fun and depth by using realistic gravity and momentum, perhaps a little backstory so I have something to think about during the n^th try. The graphics were well done though.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:34am

Short but nice game. Great take on the theme too. Good job!

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:25pm

This was pretty fun :)

Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:17am

The core idea is cool, a game where you just have to keep some things alive for as long as you can with limited resources.
Its kind of simplistic here, but I'm sure you could take this somewhere if you made it a bit more complex.

An idea: Maybe you could make it a bit less harsh, make the player lose more "progressively": instead of players losing as soon as a planet runs out of life, that planet could instead get "worse" in an irreversible way, which would make it more hungry for food. Maybe the planets would have three progressively more "damaged" states, and you lose as soon as one of them reaches the final state and dies again.

Its just an idea, I'm sure you got plenty of ideas while you were working on it, or after finishing it.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Yes indeed we have a lot of stuff that we could not implement on it in time, we started the compo late and were a bit lazy...you guys are also giving us some new ideas to implement ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]