Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mushroom connects

by fcpfoof - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You wake up in a forest. You are asked to save all worlds. To do this, find a magical leaf in Heavens.
What make this game related to theme is that a button in a "weird" world can change stuff in the normal world and vice-versa.
Very boring and quite short. I had not many ideas. But I have written it from scratch in Java, no external libraries used.
Blog post: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/24/ld48-30-entry-mushroom-connects/
Made for JRE 7.
Thanks to SFXR for audio effects and http://abundant-music.com/ for MIDIs ;].

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#160Humor3.13
#372Mood3.21
#373Audio3.02
#502Graphics3.17
#554Theme3.26
#578Fun3.02
#646Overall3.12
#962Innovation2.56

Comments

juakob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29am

Nice game! I like the graphics, specially that the main character is so skinny. The mushroom world is greate with all the animated tiles.

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32am

Graphics are pretty good for 48 hours. Level design is great, keep up the work.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10am

Haha wow, love the graphics in the mushroom world! <3
Nice game, love the old school Zelda feel!

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11am

The graphics and use of the theme were cool.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14am

I love the graphics in the "mushroom world" :)

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16am

Fun game, I too enjoyed the graphics, well done.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17am

Interesting game but got a little confused where to go :P

sapermysz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27am

It`s a good game :)

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

This reminds me dizzy :D Really neat game! (btw, is possible download OST somewhere? :D )

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01am

@Druid: just open jar file with WinRAR/Zip or your any favourite tool, there you can find midis ;p. Or you can just download the source ;)

@other: thanks a lot ;D

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44am

didn't read the title and bam. the guy looks really cool. now I know why

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45am

I really enjoyed this game!! Really I did! The music is really great :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Excellent graphics. I didn't think this was boring or short.

chadiik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Really cool mushroom world color theme! :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:52am

Good graphics. my eyes are hurting now XD. keep up the good work.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00am

Fun to play, only my eyes and ears hurt now :D

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I liked the colorful art style. Considering this only took you 48 hours, it is quite good! Nice work!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:47am

Pretty interesting. It'd be cool if the two worlds were a bit more connected, so things like islands in one world corresponding to something else in the other world.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Cool, Original, and Fun. Solid entry :)

barryrowe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Fun game, but man are you right about the graphics warning. I'm usually fine, but I feel a little nauseous after that lol. Good theme and fun game though. I definitely got lost during the mushroom worlds.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:19pm

great game - i tripped hard ;)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:58am

I felt like there was a little tooooo much path retracing, but aside from that I really like this. I love the character sprite and how he's still flat when he's sideways.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:40am

The main character is lovely, good job! :)

Hempuli says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:51pm

A solid entry, and the music is neat! I didn't really enjoy the trial-and-error nature of the mushroom world, but did beat the game.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Cool game! I got so much of an Earthbound vibe from this game, and then when I ate the mushroom.. Was that Moonside? haha, awesome either way! The music fits well with the genre, but you should consider playing a different tune in the mushroom world(something distorted, or just the main tune backwards maybe). The graphics were ok, but why was the dude so flat when seen from the side? :P
Nice work! :)

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:15am

Nice maze. The part with the multiple portals are a bit agonizing, but it wasn't too punishing thankfully.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:46pm

I have to admit that I wasn't too much into the "puzzle" section in the weird world. The flat character is cool though!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Cool game! I included it in part 27 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/DOSk1bi234E

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]