Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

System Harvest

by 03gramat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Adrift from your long gone solar system, you and a measly 1000 others are in search of salvation within another solar system.

You must command humanity to reap the benefits of the system before this sun implodes too!

Gather resources and return them to the mothership to gain the highest score before the sun dies and sucks all life from its orbit!

Be sure to keep people alive by placing them on resource rich planets but be sure to leave before it's too late and your population uses all of the resources!


---

Play in FULL SCREEN for best results!

- White trails are not populated planets
- Green trails are thriving populated planets
- Red trails are starving populated planets
- Blue trail is the planet you have selected

Use the follow button in the top right to keep track of a specific planet

In order to transfer resources between planets, the planet must have 10000 Metal and 10000 Energy to become developed. Then you can send trade ships to other planets.

Mouse over the sun to find out the game time remaining!

Be sure to check out the random planet names and surfaces, survive to the end to witness a black hole and remember to change settings at the start to suit your needs.

This game is played entirely using the mouse, Scroll Wheel to orbit the sun, click planets to select them and enter menus.

Space ships are homing and do not avoid planets. If they collide with a planet, they will drop their cargo off. If they enter the sun, they will be destroyed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#247Graphics3.63
#304Audio3.15
#331Mood3.26
#335Overall3.43
#337Innovation3.44
#403Theme3.44
#791Fun2.78
#863Humor1.83

Comments

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26am

It's a little hard to keep track of your planets, but other than that this is quite nice. You could do quite a lot with this!

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23pm

interesting game, really enjoyed the camera work. you should keep going on this one. great job!

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:13pm

A very cool and polished game!
Well done! :-)

Follett says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Really liked the camera. The game got a little hard because of how difficult it was to compare planets having to follow it with the cursor.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Very very cool! It did take a while to get a hang of things, but I've got it now. I would have been nice if some of the menus were different colors for quick identification. Also, the red and green trails look identical to me (I'm red/green colourblind). It would probably have been easier to manage if the planets hadn't been moving, but aesthetically that is awesome.

also, excellent music. Repetetive but not annoying. I did mark down one point for audio because there are no other effects though. Ok, so maybe that's realistic, but it feels weird.

Great work!

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:50pm

There's no real challenge to this except how fast you can click. You should be able to set up regular shipments of resources to the mothership rather than have to collect them in 5000 unit lumps. Maybe if the people on the mothership also ate food then there would be a need to keep them alive maybe set up farm worlds that generate more food than they consume which you can then ship off to metal rich worlds with no food. Maybe a oregon trail style journey between solar systems with the food you've collected on a solar system which you need to make last the journey (and decide how many people to risk bringing along) Hope you expand on the game post jam as the theme was interesting.

03gramat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:03pm

I'd just like to thank you all for the feedback and I am making a list of things to add (was doing so during the weekend too!) The intention is to develop the game into a cross-solar system game where you would build resources from the planets and take them to the next system (probably adding multi-player too) This being my first Ludum Dare I was trying not to bite off more than I could chew for posting but decided to build on a base (the game that is released) in the future!

Thanks again for the positive feedback! All suggestions are welcome and will be added to the list! :)

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Nice and complex game.

OFF says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Not my kind of stuff, but the work on the GUI is pretty impressive, it's nice efficient, and you are block by the game, not the GUI. I could give you a lot of game with the same mechanism than your but with a painful GUI.

Actually it lack of seeing the mothership and eventually that the "follow" command will be more clear, also a way to see all the planet in a same list.

Here's a game that is in the same spirit, but who could benefit of a nice GUI/graphics like yours : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=32815

I can't judge the game rules, but that's my simple opinion of casual gamer... for this kind of game. :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

can't wait to see a more developed version of this, multiple galaxies sounds awesome, can definitely see myself losing many hours to this, great job!

Toubib says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Good job man, very nice game. But i had no fun playing it :( maybe i missed something

Posva says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I'm quite impressed by teh models and the planets. very nice

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Nicely done, but a little bit clicky.
I think a more tactical game with less clicking would improve it even more.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:32am

There should be a way to keep track of all planets at once and warnings when things are going wrong in one of them. That said, I really enjoyed playing your game and finding the best strategy to mine the system resources. Well done!

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:30pm

A minimap would probably make this game a little clearer. Otherwise, nice game!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:58am

I enjoy this kind of game a lot ! I wish there were a top down view of the solar system :)

For a longer version you could make a sort of global table that shows what's going on on your planets, would be useful.

Well done :)

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:08am

Good job! A bit chaotic at first, but then in the end I got into it. Interesting game, sort base building without enemies but with a timer. A bit annoying to be clicking a lot to send resources.

PeerPlay says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:30am

Supercool complex game. Very well done in only 48 hours. Good job, it was hard to understand how to make a good strategy.

smizmeal says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Stylish game. The resource management is a bit tricky and confusing at first, but that's to be expected.

Also, this is probably the best looking interplanetary resource game I've seen so far this compo :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]