Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Any Moment

by Jakub Koziol - Jam Entry

As usual... I wanted to make a "normal" game and I ended up with this experiment. ;)

To experience this experiment you'll need at least 8-10 minutes, so plan accordingly.

Sound is highly recommended.

The itch.io version works well on touch devices.




Questions?
This for 140 characters: @jakubkoziol (quick responses).
And this for many characters: j@kub.im ("can't guarantee when" responses).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Mood(Jam)4.04
#44Audio(Jam)3.95
#58Innovation(Jam)3.81
#215Theme(Jam)3.53
#217Overall(Jam)3.44
#240Humor(Jam)2.77
#492Graphics(Jam)3.10
#642Fun(Jam)2.52

Comments

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11pm

While this game is interesting and enjoyable, it is really lacking in game play (you just press space when it tells you to). I really wish it had microphone input, or even a just few dialog choices to select from so I could respond when asked a question. Over all it is enjoyable, and the guy in the chair makes some good points, but I just wish the game let me interact with it more.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:26pm

10/10, would hang out and drink with.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:26pm

A dialog tree would be lovely... even the illusion of reaction to a response is acceptable. Very different...cool. You're a good listener too.

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Very interesting and thought provoking. You make some really great points and the subtle interactivity of your questions allowed me to answer them for myself. Sometimes just sending a message through our work is enough to inspire others, and your message has resonated with me. Well done!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29pm

It was nice to take a break from playing and just have a conversation with you.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Actually not a game, but more like a video. But an interesting video.

drakfyre says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Wow. Powerful. Easily my favorite entry yet. I really appreciate you too!

vandriver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37pm

totally not a game, but i felt more 'connected' than in any other game so 5/5 theme, man. i love listening to people as well as writing on dead trees. thanks for the chat

shasharala says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:33am

Wow, I really liked that. A very respectable approach to the theme.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11am

It's nice when games try to give you a message, and I like the topic you have chosen. But I really miss some interactivity and interesting gameplay, it's more like receiving a lecture or personal statement in a relaxed atmosphere.

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16am

I can proudly say that I went through the whole game. I have to say, that... I am really, really impressed! I loved the game, the way the story is told - more like the idea. If you ask me every game should be able to make a point and tell something like this game does. Even games made entirely for fun should have some way to tell you something even profounder. Fascinating work as I said, keep it up! And yee, I am a good listener. :P

Yoni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19am

Best interpretation of the theme so far. Ashamed to admit I checked my email several times during the game :(

Made me want to go outside and sketch, that's something I don't usually get from playing computer games.

Geti says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20am

Fun, nice to have a departure from everything. Of course, not a "game" but we don't really have a good vocabulary for interactive media like this. Would be interesting if you had some way of recording, receiving and collating everyone's input at each wait/think step, what you would here.

Hope you can stave off depression, and that this (and the response to it) helps/ed!

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Wow, a lot of good ideas. Also, is that your voice because it is pretty good, well-spoken and clearly thought out speech. I like it :D

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Wasn't expecting this, you know ;)

Nice surprise however!

dunin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45pm

good experience and good voice.
Maybe could just write some answer make the "game" more interactive... but maybe just listen is better... I don't know...

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:46pm

we should have a beer (if you like beer)

really cool experience, gj

sputnik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48pm

My best ­"game" by far. Really mouving....

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Ok, this is great!
I love how personal it feels, and it's a great art form (not game in the sense) but "experience"
Great writing, pacing and message

Love it!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02pm

and by the way, I never wanted to leave. You're still tapping away

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:04am

Wow, this was really good. I know people will say it's not a "game" or whatever, but I appreciate you doing something experimental and honest, and the production values are excellent (the technicals of voice recording, and the narration, and the little character animations choreographed with the text). Solid.

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:11am

I just wanted to say that I'm suffering from depression too, and sometimes it's really difficult. It nearly kept me from finishing my game, but somehow I made it through anyway. I'm hoping life will be like that, even when it gets hard that I'll make it through in the end. I hope that for you, too.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55pm

@Lissar
Depression sucks hard. The sole fact that you don't have control over many aspects of yourself sucks hard.
It's different for everyone but persistence helps. And it's good to hear that you've been able to finish your game!
Things that are difficult, over time, tend to be more meaningful.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:57pm

@liquidminduk

<3

I should make a gif out of the last scene. I'll try to make it later today. :)

Jakub Koziol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:02pm

@mess110 and @Jellycakes

Both me and the character in the game (well sometimes I am this character) are up for hanging out during gamedev conferences. The next one I'm attending for sure is GDC in SF. But hey, if there's anything interesting going on anywhere and you're going to be around I'd have a solid reason to go. ;)

Jakub Koziol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:06pm

@Vytheros

Thanks!

It is indeed my voice.

Everything, including the font is made by me during the jam. I just knew that I need 3 days to achieve the final result so that's why it's a jam and not a compo. :)

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:00pm

<3

There's nothing else to say.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

That was really nice. Depression was kinda the B-theme for my entry as well I guess. Anyway, good luck with the micro houses

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:03pm

So, have you ever enjoyed a.. a game with almost no interaction? *Press space when you're ready* Hm.. I have. The game shouldn't be dynamic or something to be good, it can even be hardly a game, you know?..

DDFranky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:13pm

These were the best 10 minutes that I spent talking this week. Suggestion? Change nothing. Not a single pixel.
Oh BTW, the sound is not recommended, it is mandatory.

Beard says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I really liked the approach to the topic, and the theme. Thank you for opening yourself up, and creating something real that makes people think.

dylanigan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Very thought provoking and meaningful, I enjoyed the animations of the character while talking. Good Job.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

@43iscoding

I see what you did there. ;)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:24pm

That was... quite an experience. Maybe not quite perfect and doesn't really apply to everyone (hahahah, how many people would say it's not about them while it indeed would be?), but still very unique. Perhaps you would like to participate in ruining the video games industry, as described here? http://itch.io/jam/ruinjam2014 I think you would do a great job here (and yes, that's a good thing). ;)

I guess the lack of interaction aside from pressing Space was troublesome, but I prefer that over having a few dialogue options from which none fits would be far worse here; there I am supposed to be me, and then the game tells me I can either want to be famous musician, or game developer, or get a tiny house, or I have no idea, or something; that would kinda spoil the experience. Though once we're at that, the last remark sounded a bit like the listener is assumed to be male; I guess in some cases word "man"/"guy" etc. might be used in relation to both genders, but I feel omitting that word (leaving something like "Thanks, I really appreciate you"; can't remember the exact quite) would convey the same without causing that trouble. ^^"

Also, good luck with fighting your depression. I'm not sure I understand what it's like to have it, but considering the fact it's not red and doesn't smell of potatoes, I wouldn't wish anyone to go through that. u_u"

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

I connected to this non-game on many levels and related to most of the notions you/the character (I don't know if it's personal or just really, really accurate) describe because I sadly also suffer from depression... those parts about not wanting to fail and delaying everything to the last moment in particular hit a chord with me. Talk about connecting worlds...

It's a special testament to the medium's capabilities when that happens.

Mase says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

I usually stick to affirmative monosyllables when I’m conversing in person so I found this to be a pretty realistic game, in terms of interactivity.

I wish there were some interactive thingies… even just peripheral toys or something that I could fiddle with while listening would increase my engagement. I think I need more tabs!

Jakub Koziol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:13pm

@Sunflower

I'm all about ruining the the video games industry! (And I'm a cutie if I can say so myself.)
I'm considering taking part in this jam, we'll see how it goes. I'm quite busy over the next few weeks (finishing a game and such) but I'll try to find a few hours here and there to hack something together.

As for the usage of "Thanks again man. I really appreciate you." I spent a lot of time thinking whether or not I should go with those specific words. In the end I decided to keep the text as it is because the flow of the sentence felt right. I'm still not 100% sure it was the best possible decision and I'd love to hear more opinions on this.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:17pm

@esayitch

Thanks!
Stay strong and don't fear to ask for help when you need it.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

@Mase

It's a really interesting idea! I'll try to experiment with this in the future. :)

Snoother says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:37pm

At first I felt sceptical towards the lack of interactivity -- until I was asked 'have you ever lost interest in something you really loved?' And I was told to press space when I was ready. It made me pause, hesitate, contemplate. The game suddenly became profoundly interactive. Well done.

The tiresomeness of instant message and 24/7 social networking have really been dragging me down lately, so I was gripped from the start of the game. Then the intimate discussion of depression, the cathartic need to have some listen to you. It was really fabulous.

It's just the ending. It just didn't sit right with me either. I think it could have been omitted and the ending would still make perfect sense.

Nevertheless, this is definitely one of this LD's highlights. 5/5

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

That was one of the most meaningful conversations in video games! totally different. I love it. Thanks for this experience. 5/5

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:06am

+mood

Weird how it really felt like you were talking to me, as it were. It when the depression reared its head it was that sinking dreading feeling you get when trapped at a mingle with the drunk ;)

I was expecting an interruption at any time, or some chink of double standards, but it never came :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:17am

Spot on with the theme!!it could be perfect if it had some more gameplay besides pushing space...But it is for me the most memorable i played until now.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:51am

wow. That was truly an interesting experience. The subtle movements of the character and the subtitles that was synced with your narration worked perfectly to create a distinctive atmosphere which touched my heart. Game play wise it didn't have much but that made it a more rich full experience, it let me focus more on the story aspect.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:20am

Very interesting! There was some very good points there.

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:31am

Interesting take on the theme. It was nice listening to you for a while :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:52pm

What a strange experience XD. Listening your voice was nice, and it sure felt "intimate", I'm just not entirely convinced about the whole thing. Maybe I wasn't in the right mood? But I'll be interested in a more interactive version ^^.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Not a game, but very captivating and deep!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:03pm

It's good that you wrote how long it would take. I made coffee and listened to you man, it was a nice.

SojaBird says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Pretty sick good voice you got there :)
Nice experience and very inspiriing. Good game!!

Don't make "normal" games!!! Continue with these things :D it's super cool

Pierrec says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:35pm

I loved it. I turned out my phone as requested but forgot about Facebook in the other tab. Of course, someone tried to talk to me...
The almost no interaction thing is a good idea, But I would have loved to chat with this guy more directly.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Ahh, I do love the attention to detail, and how straight up personal this is.

The text de-synchs just a liiittle bit halfway, but the conversation (as one-sided as it was) was so engaging I'm surprised I noticed.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Pretty cool. I'm the kind of guy who thinks Gone Home and Proteus are definitely games, but this is really leaning towards "not a game" for me, just because the *only* interaction is pressing spacebar, which doesn't even have much of an effect on the experience. I liked it though, the experience was cool.

arzi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:01pm

I guess I just wanted to ask how important play is in Ludum Dare?

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:08am

Random guy talking about life the video game.

Enjoyable, especially then ending (made me feel all warm inside). Nice talking to you too.

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I think you already know that this is not a game but an experimental interactive something. It's awesome to listen though. Record sounds very natural.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Powerful and inspiring, really made me think.
Thank you for this conversation.

darklightteam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:29pm

I feel you bro'. It's inspiring listening to you but (and I don't want to sound mean) this is not really a game :(

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:27am

Enjoyed this experience. Way to try something different.

Artamus says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:41am

What a great and loveable experience! Simple but clever.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:18pm

The speech moved me. The "gameplay" involves listening and thinking the answer of questions that are important to the author. Thanks for waking up my thoughts...

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:35pm

After you said, "writing on dead trees", all I could think about were the poor trees. I had visions of you leaping out the front door and scrawling messages on fallen trees. I wonder if your neighbours think that the neighbourhood is haunted by the phantom tree scribbler. :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Not my cup of tea, but well executed! I can see you put a lot of time into making sure the timing of the animations and text lined up well.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:35pm

i love the concept here. i could see it being more interactive for sure, but the pints are pretty interesting and spot on :) i read a few books that touch on similar topics - glad to see we are all searching for similar things and discovering that we cannot act in a reactionary mode anymore if we really want to stay creative (and in some sort of control of our creativity)

Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:29pm

This was amazing!

erdnuss says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:00pm

That was really cool. I think it is important to be able to talk to people about certain things and to listen to people doing that. So what that boils down to, in my opinion, is the basic human need for belonging to a group of people, for not being alone, for knowing some people who sort of are on the same carrier frequency, so to say. And I think that your 'game', at least for me, conveyed that feeling pretty well. And I also think that it is pretty cool that now, with the internet, it has gotten easier to do that (although that is a bit contrary to what is expressed in the beginning of the game). Thank you.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Hate to be the only negative person here, but.. This isn't a game, and only very barely an interactive experience, if at all. I get the theme connection, but it feels rather weak; you could do the exact same "experience" with a monologue on any given topic. I have nothing against short films, which is what I'd say this is, but I don't think LD is about making those.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:08pm

@Steve

I don't know if you realize that but your comment didn't bring any value to the discussion.

I get that the definition of what the game is varies from person to person. I get that you may not like something I made. If you're making games because that's what you believe is important and meaningful you start with those. Not everyone will experience the same thing in the same way - it is widely known fact. I value critique, I value views that are different than mine - that's how you can get better.

But your comment boils down to "it's not a game and I don't like it". Is this the constructive criticism? I expect better from the LD community.

Think about it.

Katamori says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Couldn't play wih sound but still great! Yep, a little bit boring but maximalized the theme as possible!

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Not really a game, but I really enjoyed it. It was different (in a good way), and really innovative. It really gets you thinking about stuff...

JackDegree says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I... I have no words.

psychonull says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Great experience. Everything is greatly balanced: speech speed, sounds, interactions, narrative. That balance complements the message very well.
Good job, and I'm always excited to play more 'games' like this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]