Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Helps the bunny!

by Namide - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--- Description ---

"Connects" the parts of world to create a path to help the bunny.
For that you can use drag and drop with your mouse.

After the connections, you must to play it in a platform game.
Plays with the left and right arrows to run, and spacebar to jump.

You can mute the sound with the key M and the sounds with S.


--- Details ---

Language: Haxe 3
FlashPlayer: >10

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#110Innovation3.87
#307Humor2.78
#345Graphics3.45
#471Mood3.09
#565Fun3.04
#684Overall3.08
#750Audio2.31
#774Theme2.91

Comments

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

This is a really interesting concept. It's a shame there aren't more levels in this version but what could one expect with such a tight development window.

Well done =)

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17am

Ha! Interesting interpretation of the theme! Reminds me of my "big" project Duality Syndrome, I'm making atm. Good job. :)

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29am

Wow amazing art for 48 hours and a really cool design. Unfortunately, I seem to be very bad at your game haha!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

Animal brutality at its finest!
Good going...

francoisvn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Very coll concept. Would like liked to have instant restart on deaths and more levels :)

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

This is freaking good idea! I really like it! Work some more on player controls to make it feel better (jumping, movement). Nice art.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Controls were a bit fast but I liked the concept and the visuals. Good Job! Congrats on finishing!

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Awesome concept! Is there really only two levels? Collision was weird sometimes.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Challenging, unique, and fun. Nice job!

Gridlines might help (slightly). And more worlds of course. ;)

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Nice job! I like what you did with it + your idea :) Would be better with a "hop" noise and background music, though :)

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Fun entry! Wish there were more levels!

juakob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02am

Nice idea! The collisions are a little weird, but playable.

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Pretty cool how you can build your own levels. I can only win the first though by clipping out of the level?

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37pm

very nice concept, but somehow it was too fast most of the times and very glitchy

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Extremely clever! Loved the permanence. I would love to see this fleshed out more.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Cool idea :) That rabbit stood no chance with me controlling his destiny. Poor rabbit

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I really like the idea! There were a few collision bugs and the platformer movements felt a bit strange, but you should definitely make a post compo of this with more levels, that would be cool! :)

Belvar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Really great concept ! The platform part does not feel very good though, I'd love to play it again with smoother gameplay. Being able to retry without using the mouse would be cool to but that is more a detail :)
Graphics looks pretty good.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Wow, neat idea! This is so innovative. I found myself really disappointed that there weren't any more levels to play through, haha. I loved the handpainted graphics, too.

Two things you might want to tune up: first of all, the SFX riffs are a bit sour (some vibrato would really help, if I have it right and you're recording live). The other thing is that the movement is a bit difficult to plan on the platformer--almost too responsive, maybe? I found myself jumping to the top of the L-shaped pieces by accident, running off ledges, etc.

Thank you for the game!

Namide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Thank you for your comments.
For my next contest I will try to make better :
- collisions (less glitches)
- gameplay (more smooth)
- sounds
- not have to use mouse in the menus

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Hey there. The level editor is great. Cleverly design to offer some hope... Completed level 1, but, I think that the jump physics is a bit off, controls are pretty harsh and gravity seems a bit high. Good job though. Like the death noise too !

xrm0 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:44am

Really nice

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:09am

The bunny looks really fluffy.
I experienced some trouble with the pieces of world that sometimes disappear on the right, but the idea is still challenging.

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Good work really! But I don't know if using glitch is part of the gameplay :)

pusheax says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Nice graphics. Glitched first level. Second one was very easy.

grayhaze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:19am

A good concept with flawed platforming physics. I really like the idea of constructing the level from pre-defined chunks, rather than just dragging things into precise positions. The platforming physics could do with tweaking, as the rabbit moves too fast. I'm also stuck on the first level, which probably says more about my ability than the level design. ;)

ncannasse says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:49am

Interesting game, that would have been nice if there was more levels. Also, the bunny movements are not really responsive.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Pretty cool idea but I found the rabbit so hard to control!

malf says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Great idea and good game ,control of the bunny is very bad though

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]